We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Crags Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had a great stay, and we definitely look forward to staying at Crags Lodge again. We booked the smallest room they have - which had a murphy bed - but that worked fine for us. (with the bed up, there was room for my yoga mat...). We appreciated having the 'mini-kitchen' to have breakfasts 'in' (although we went downstairs for the great coffee they had out each morning). We found the room very comfortable, clean, and nicely appointed - all we needed was provided.

The location was great - walking distance to 'downtown' E.P. We saved eating at their restaurant, 'the View', until our last night, and it was worth waiting. Food, atmosphere and service were all great - our waiter, Brian, went out of his way to accommodate our requests. We started out at a romantic private 2-top outside but as the night got colder, we wanted to come inside, which they made happen smoothly and easily.

We came back from hiking and looked forward to catching some excellent live music downstairs (and we're from Austin, TX....so we know good live music when we hear it!)

Bottom line - we enjoyed staying there and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    29
    17
    9
See reviews for
50
131
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. Staff was excellent, from the front desk to the wait staff in the restaurant and the musician playing guitar and singing during the dinner hours. The Lodge is definitely old, so having the appropriate expectation would be key in booking this accommodation. We happened to get an end room on the northeast corner, facing the Estes Park view, looking across at the Stanley (room 201). We had windows on three of the four walls and the size of the room was perfect for the two of us. The view and the privacy of this particular room made all the difference. We wanted a rustic lodge feel and this was exactly what we were looking for. If you want something newer, updated, or fancy, don't stay here. If you want to feel like you're in a rustic cabin in a hotel layout, and be around a very supportive, friendly, but leave you alone staff, this is your place. We loved it and would stay there again. The feel in the lobby was spacious, warm, inviting, and quiet most of the time. I love the fires in the fireplace. They keep the inside of the whole place very warm, and the individual rooms are easily adjustable so that you can have the temperature of your room exactly where you want it.

Room Tip: Room 201 had the last remaining claw foot bath tub, so pick this room if you want that experience (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssenceCaptured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Well, we came upon this lovely old lodge after booking it w/ Expedia.com. After our arrival, Joe, at the front desk was very cordial and kind during our check in. The lobby and restaurant seemed charming. The books and games available for guests was a nice touch. When we got to our rm, we were exhausted and wanted to take a short nap before going out for dinner that evening. But we figured out there was no AC, and w/ the fans w/ the windows open, it was still hot. 2 hrs later we were checking out b/c w/ my allergies I couldn't have slept 4 nights w/ the windows open. Also w/out any AC, it wasn't very comfortable. The beds were hard and the pillows flat. And there was chipping paint in our living rm window sill. Thankfully, Joe was very cooperative, and helpful and gave us a full refund of our money. We would love to come back if they were willing to make some modifications to the place. 1) AC, 2) new bedding, 3) paint. Otherwise everything seemed fine. The location and the view is spectacular. They really should think about renovating. I would hate to see such an interesting and historic place out of business.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Crags Lodge overbooks like an airline.

Two rooms full of wedding guest were not able to say at the Crags Lodge - even though they were non-refundable rooms and the Crags Lodge was our wedding venue!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here to attend a family wedding. The rooms are pretty small and nothing spectacular but are clean and have a beautiful view. There is no air conditioning, not that big a deal, it doesn't get too hot. We would have used it it we had it. If for no other reason than to be able to shut the windows so we didn't have to hear the garbage man at 6 every morning. This is a condo property so no maid service, we had to ask for clean towels and were told they would bring them later, they were in the laundry. Bed was uncomfortable and pillows were worse. Water temp in the shower was very inconsistent. It would go from hot to cold and back in an instant. The pool and hottub were not open, not sure why. That was a disappointment for our kids as they were told there was a pool. The property sits on the edge of town and is within walking distance but it wouldn't be an easy walk for some, it sits on the side of a hill so it's an uphill, winding walk. Not wanting to drive for an evening out, you're stuck (the bar and restaurant close at 9) because there are bears living on or near the property so it's not really a walk you can take unless you want to encounter a bear at night. Parking is an issue, there is not enough. Also, the bar and restaurant are closed basically every Friday and Saturday for weddings. Estes Park is really touristy and crowded but beautiful at the same time.

Room Tip: All rooms are different sizes, even within the same category
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjfosler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The historic Crags Golden Eagle Resort was recently purchased by Diamond Resorts. During our visit the pool and hot tub was not in service. (No water in the pool and the hot tub didn't seem "inviting"....nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay here. We had two one bedroom units. My husband & I stayed in one room and my adult children stayed in the other. The rooms are small, but clean & comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and we had great access to the town of Estes Park. Parking here was very tight, especially on the weekends when weddings were held. Some weddings can be noisy, but most were over by midnight. A downside is there is only apartment size refrigerator, and no freezer...which I wasn't aware of, and had prepared 3 casserole dishes priot to leaving home. Nothing spoiled however, since the restaurant.allowed us use of their freezers. We were able to entertain my niece & her husband., serving one of the casseroles. The units are not air conditioned, but the cool mountain air was sufficient for us, and the resort offered a box fan too. We had a great time playing minature golf (near the resort), shopping, & visiting the National Park, riding the free shuttles, etc. Want great pizza? Try Chicago Pizza. Loved it! Would go there again knowing Diamond will do the needed repairs to the pool & hot tubs, and hopefully resolve the parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sisnsuncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Upon arriving at Crags, we went to the front desk to check in. We were told that we did not have a room, although I booked 2 nights back in March 2011. The inept man at the front desk admitted that it was the corporate policy to overbook and handed me a piece of paper with the name of another hotel in the area. I explaiined that we were there to attend a wedding and did not want to go to another hotel. Inept person called the general manager, who was off at lunch, and I spoke to him over the phone myself. He was obnoxious, arrogant and rude and no one offered even the simplest of an apology for not only inconveniencing us but for such poor customer service.

If not for the intervention of the Head of Housekeeping, we would have had to stay elsewhere both nights. Leesa should be promoted to the Head of Customer Service as she was the only person who was using her brain and understanding our plight and how poorly we were treated.

Having lived in New York all my life, I have experienced rudeness from time to time, but never to the degree that I experienced at Crags.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anny10954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,354 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
453 reviews
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,013 reviews
1.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Crags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Crags Lodge

Property: The Historic Crags Lodge
Address: 300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Crags Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Crags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing