We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Vacation June14”
Review of Lane Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lane Guest Ranch
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Family Vacation June14”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Traveling with wife, 11 yr boy, 10 yr girl. We had a great time. The area around the ranch and the views are classic Colorado mountains. Stayed four nights (Sun-Thurs). All of us loved the horseback riding. Spent most of our time doing that activity. The horses are beautiful and very accessible. My kids loved feeding them grass from outside the corral. I had the same horse for all rides. Wrangler guides do a really good job teaching how to ride and work with the horse. Perfect for new riders. Did the Gem Lake hike. It was nice to get out and do something besides riding. Chance to stop in Estes Park if you need to pick anything up. I went fishing every morning (5:45-8:30 AM). Didn't catch many, but good time. One guys caught a 16” rainbow and I had a big one on, but the line broke. Fished two lakes by Estes Park. Great drive in the morning, lots of wildlife out (elk, mule deer). Kept one trout and had it cooked up as a dinner appetizer. Mostly the food was great, nothing was ever bad. Big breakfasts and dinners. Lunch is sandwiches by the pool. There’s so many activities, you just want to grab a sandwich and go again. Kids liked the pool and spent a day in the kids club when my wife and I did the hike. Highly recommend the dinner horseback ride with a great steak dinner cooked over coals!
The Staff is great. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask.
The rooms are so/so. You don’t spend much time in them. There’s no cable. They have a large collection of old VCR tapes/DVDs. WiFi only in the lodge. No cellular service. I checked email once a day, got cell signal in Estes Park during fishing trips, used Skype to make a call. Wife’s biggest complaint is lack of good drapes allow the sun in early in the morning. Showers are not super modern, but good enough to wash off the day’s dust. I never saw a wine list and the wine that I had all came out of a box (2 dinners and the wine/cheese horseback ride). I had a $58 bar bill for a couple glasses of boxed wine and maybe a six pack of Coors, can’t figure out how it came to that, but I just went with it. Liked the experience. Wished that we could have stayed another day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spa0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a lovely week at Lane Guest Ranch. The staff was friendly and the ranch is set up nicely for families. The pool area and lodge have nice space to gather, and there are a range of activities to keep people busy. The activities for kids were well done, as were the adult jewelry and painting classes.

The main activities are horse riding and hiking, though. You can ride daily, regardless of your level -- with options for dinner rides or half-day rides. This is great if you are interested in horses, or if you have a group with some people who want to ride and some who don't.

If you don't have people in your group who want to ride horses, you can probably do better staying elsewhere.

The food is good and varied, although they did seem to add overcooked potatoes to every dish. The wait staff staff were friendly and eager to please, and the kitchen was very eager to help with special food needs. We did find the kitchen's timing to be a bit odd -- they'll bring out all the chicken orders at once. Then 10 minutes later the fish comes out. Then the pasta dishes.... The wait staff are mostly college. They're bright and friendly, but orders do get forgotten.

The rooms are OK. Certainly not luxurious. I think hollbcfp's got it right -- the property is tired, but the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisnamedRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great time but would not return. Activities were fun. Horseback riding staff was excellent; hiking guide was very good and white water rafting guide excellent. Would try a different property next time.
The room was very disappointing...nothing like the picture in the internet. Small things could be done to give it a much needed facelift.
We were disappointed that Lloyd never introduced himself either in the dining room and/or roaming around the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollebcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was one of my most relaxing trips - the meals and most activities are included in your daily rate to stay there, and the staff is enthusiastic about service and making sure you have a good time. Each day, you simply sign up for the activities you'd like to do the next day- they handle all the details. Like most groups at the ranch during our trip, we were three generations, and every one of us had a great time. The horses are well fed and cared for by the wranglers, and the other service folk ( wait staff, concierge, hiking guides, etc) were friendly and helpful. It was a very fun and relaxing vacation. Oh, and the food was really, really good -- far better than I expected.

All that being said, this destination might not be a good fit for everyone -- the rooms are small, and the decor is dated. No-one in my group cared, but if you want to be in a modern room with granite and slate bathrooms, then you should probably look elsewhere. Also, if you don't want to hike or ride horses, you might not feel like you got your money's worth, since those activities are included in your daily rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnjgotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything about his trip was absolutely amazing! A hundred times anything I was expecting! It had a laid back idyllic feel to it, and yet it was very classy. There was horse back riding for people who were just beginning like me, but by the end of the week I was on the expierenced rides. The food was wonderful and they offered so many activities. The location was absolutely stunning, the hikes gorgeous, the wildlife, spectacular! We even slept under the stars on an overnight trip! The best part, however, was getting to meet other families there. We still are in contact with many of them and have been planning visits. I have nothing negative to say about the expierence!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureAlex187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed @ the Lane Guest Ranch Aug. 5th thru the 12th, this was our 5th or 6th visit.
Once again, Lloyd Lane and his team did an outstanding job. Maybe the best week yet. We saw all kinds of wildlife thanks to tour guide Clark, a 78 year old gentlemen who on his day off took us up Trail Ridge Road and over to Grand Lake, he bought us lunch, saw tons of elk, we got some excellent pictures. Next day Clark toook us to Brainard Lake and we saw 2 moose, again excelent pictures, then that evening we saw a bear,it pretty darn close. We had lunch @ a place called the Mill Site Inn, must be 100 years old with very good pizza, close to the town of Ward.

Everyone @ the ranch is very outgoing and seem to love their jobs and work together. Sounds corny but it is a family type operation. The food was outstanding every night, prime rib med. rare, blacken halibut, black angus steaks, grilled corn, burgers and hotdogs.
You have the same server everyday, Ashley was ours, very upbeat, a pleasure to be around, Joe also is great.

Taylor and Aaron took us fly fishing on the river, there again on their own time. Taylor took us to Lake Estes, where we caught 6 trout, Aaron cooked them up for us for dinner. We caught them about 5:00PM and by 7:30 we had fresh trout dinner. Aaron does a good job of running the lodge bar in the evening, for a cocktail, wine, beer, and a never ending line for Shirley Temples. (Not to mention he cooks up a great trout)

We had cabin # 8 which overlooks the pool area and is a short walk to the lodge. Some rooms are a little to far of a walk because of health reasons. Not to mention it is pitch black out there @ night, bring a small flashlight light for your walk home. We also had our oun hot tub which is great to sit back in with a glass of wine and se more starts than you have ever seen in your life.
We had great weather, sunshine warm days and cool evenings, perfect, just perfect.
I really do not know how we could have picked a better place to celabrate my wife's 51st Birthday. We have already booked cabin # 8 for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms #1-#8 are the closet to the main lodge, other can be a bit of a up hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John60133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Lane Guest Ranch is my favorite place for an active week's vacation. Our recent visit was our fourth over a 15 to 17 year period. We've been to at least ten guest ranches in this period, but Lane beats them all.

Activities are well organized and very capably led by experienced wranglers and hiking guides. The hikes, 'photo safaris', and rides are varied as to location, and skill and ability levels. The food is tops too. The executive chef and the program director have been at Lane Ranch for over thirty years, and their performance and stamina have not diminished since our first visit; and neither has the owner, Mr. Lloyd Lane, and he has been at it since 1953.

The cost is reasonable: It is an excellent value, and it just about covers everything. Lane is a "go-back-to" place, and it's ideal for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allende77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.0 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.0 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Guest Ranch

Property: Lane Guest Ranch
Address: 11957 State Highway 7, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lane Guest Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing