We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt Like A Second Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RiverWood on Fall River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverWood on Fall River
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt Like A Second Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my third trip to Estes Park and also the third different property where we stayed. This was by far, the best overall experience. We stayed in Unit #3 with four adults and two young (ages 4 and 22 months) children. First of all, this property sits a mere 25 feet from the picturesque Fall river. We really enjoyed the relaxing sounds and natural beauty of sitting on the rear balcony next to the water. This unit also had a gas grill, large picnic table, and 6 outdoor chairs to relax in and enjoy the fresh rocky mountain air. This unit had two bedrooms with king size beds (master also had a gas fireplace) with very comfortable mattresses. Upstairs is a loft-style sleeping area with a queen size bed. The living area was sizable with a flat screen TV large enough to keep the modern sports enthusiast happy. The kitchen was well equipped and we were all pleasantly surprised that the tap water actually tasted good (no need to bring a Brita or several cases of bottled water). This property even had a decent sized swing set to keep our young ones entertained while we had "down time" at the condo. The manager on site was great and there was never a shortage of clean towels, wash clothes, dish towels, etc. And for those of us that need to stay "plugged in", there is free Wi-Fi available for guests at RiverWood. Location is also ideal for the typical vacationer in Estes...you're about a 5 min drive the Safeway grocery store and about 3-4 min drive from downtown Estes. Depending on which entrance you prefer for RMNP, you're only about 10-15 minutes away. We will definitely be coming back to stay at RiverWood on Fall River!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were traveling with another couple. The arrangement of the bedrooms and bathrooms was perfect. Bedrooms were very private and king beds were comfortable with your own tv. Kitchen was well furnished and loved the outdoor deck overlooking the river. There is a road that is close but didn't really bother us. We slept with our windows open all night and heard only the sound of the river. One night an elk walked right near our back deck. Great location. Only thing that could have been better would have been a recliner for the guys. Would definitley stay again. Rocky Mtn Natl Park is beautiful and is very close. Owners so nice and everything clean. Took a tour of the Stanley hotel which was fun. Everyone said The Big Horn restaurant was so good but we were disappointed with all our dinners. Maybe it is better to eat there for breakfast only. Also ordered a pizza from down the road and it was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had stayed many places in Estes Park before we found Riverwood. We love the place and Bonnie and Cheryl are great host. The units are always clean, plenty of utensils, coffee, tea, sugar etc. We love the units being so spacious that you can move around in. Having large windows and doors that you can see the river or relax on the deck. The beds and pillows are so comfy and a TV in each bedroom. After being in the park all day it's nice to come back to a place you can just relax. We stay for a week at a time and they have a mid week cleaning that most places don't have. Thanks for always allowing us the enjoy our time in the mountains and Estes Park. Thank You Bonnie & Cheryl!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in many units along the river and really enjoy them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler52012461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in Unit # 11 which is the phase 3 unit. This unit included a balcony off of the living room and a separate room for the jacuzzi. The living room had a gas fireplace and a complete kitchen. We cooked dinner and breakfast and always had the right utensils that we needed to cook. Each couple had a king size bed and private full bathroom. The rooms were spacious and each had flat screens. We loved the space in the cabin and never felt over crowded.

I wanted a cabin that was perfect for two couples and this one fit the bill. Most other properties had cabins that accommodated a family instead of two couples. Some had hot tubs and fireplaces in one room and not the other one. I loved this one because it had the jacuzzi in a separate room and the balcony was shared from the living room and so was the fireplace. Also, I was happy that each room had a king bed. I loved the view from the living room. The river was right there and it was beautiful in the snow. This location was perfect and the cabin was spotless!

Cheryl was very nice and personable. We mentioned we wanted to sled and she let us borrow both of hers. I also called to ask her about places with live music and she recommended several. She even called me back to recommend a place with open mic. She was so helpful and I loved the service!

I would never hesitate to stay here again. It was just what we were looking for :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_at_Heart_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

had another restful and fun stay. we were so glad the fern lake fire was 88% contained and rocky mountain national park was re-opened. we stayed in #6 condo, our 3rd time in this one. very clean. comfortable king size bed. well stocked kitchen. bonnie & cheryl are excellent hosts.this time of the year riverwood is decorated for christmas, inside and out. we plan to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just getting around to writing a review from our stay in August 2012. We were in Estes Park for three nights to enjoy Rocky Mountain National Park. We were travelling with our five year old son, and it was wonderful to have so much space, and for him to have his own bedroom (and a small playground right on the property, and a good selection of children's movies too!) The kitchen was well outfitted with everything we needed. Having the river right outside our door was wonderful - what a lovely place for my morning coffee! The location is great - close to town, but just far enough from the busiest roads that the noise from traffic was mostly muffled by the sound of the water. You won't necessarily want to walk to town from here, but even in August we didn't really have any problems with traffic. The owners seemed very friendly; we didn't really need anything while we were there, but they seemed like they would have been attentive to any problems. I thought this was excellent value for money and would stay there again if we return to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms are either at ground level or up on a hill a bit - both directly overlook the river, so it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susandib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have been to Estes Park on several occasions and spend every trip at RiverWood on Fall River and have always had a wonderful stay. Accomodations are excellant and homey with everything you would need to make your stay just like a home away from home. Bonnie and Cheryl are now wonderful friends of ours and we enjoy visiting with them on each and every trip. Our trips are spent with very special friends that introduced us to RiverWood several years ago and we so enjoy our visits to the most beautiful park WE THINK!!. We love our trips into the park and have over the years learned so much of the old history of the park and area. May your visit be as enjoyable and as memorable as ours. Kim M. Houston, TX

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim Eddleman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#15 of 77 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#11 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Golden Leaf Inn
The Golden Leaf Inn
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#28 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Woodlands on Fall River
The Woodlands on Fall River
#10 of 77 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverWood on Fall River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverWood on Fall River

Property: RiverWood on Fall River
Address: 525 Fall River Ln, Estes Park, CO 80517-9115
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Riverwood On Fall River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing