We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful”
Review of StoneBrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
StoneBrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Blissful”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from four peaceful nights in cabin 7. Loved that all we could hear was the sound of the stream in front of our deck, as well off the road. Convenience of having Safeway a couple of miles away made for easy access to food to cook on the outdoor grill. Very relaxing. Also appreciated the fact that the unit was outfitted with excellent appliances, fittings and fixtures (Kohler, Lutron, etc.). Mike the manager was very attentive. Really cares about his guests and providing a good experience at the resort.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RittSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    73
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
430
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wow, what a disappointment. Tripadvisor, you let me down! Now that I look more closely at the reviews, I should have realized many are from individuals who have only posted 1-2 reviews on Tripadvisor -- ever. We would give it a 2.5 if we could. We are not picky and this is not a 5-star Tripadvisor experience.

Staff (and friendly dog Bella) were pleasant. We never got to meet Mike that everyone raves about. Ciara was professional and helpful, but quite young, new to the area, and not very knowledgeable. We stayed two nights, arrived and checked in and learned the internet was down. For two people traveling with laptops needing to check in with work daily, this was a huge inconvenience. That and nearly all of our plans for hikes, restaurants, etc., were online and inaccessible, as was owner Mike. Cell service spotty.

Since the internet was down, we were asked to check back with the office intermittently so that they could run our credit card to pay our balance, once the wi-fi was fixed. We checked in 5 times over the course of 2 days, including interrupting our Trail Ridge Road drive on our last day in order for our payment to be processed; wi-fi remained down until we checked out. Had we received our invoice at check in, we would have learned about all the "rules" that exist at this property. Oh, we needed to "ask" for the room to be serviced? Thank goodness I cleaned the kitchen before we headed out.

We stayed in cabin #5 on the water with a private hot tub. Room was nice, clean, with "mountain-esque" decor and a nearly full kitchen (no oven).

Pros: flat screen TV, private hot tub, deck, the sound of running water and overall quiet location outside of town, near entrance to RMNP. We were granted an hour later check out in light of the inconvenience of having to return in order to process our payment. Otherwise, it would be a $50 charge for every 30 minutes late checkout after 11:00am.

Cons: no A/C (it was pretty warm when we were there and room stayed warm with fan and windows open at night); blaring TV from adjacent room as we were falling asleep/incredibly thin walls; queen size bed crammed into an alcove that required side stepping a narrow space to climb into bed; incredibly soft, squeaky, uncomfortable mattress, poor quality linens (scratchy 50-50 cotton/percale mix); mismatched ratty towels with bleach stains, no bar soap provided, and you're expected to clean the kitchen or be charged a $100 fee.

Be careful of the plastic "steps" that help you step into the hot tub. They are unstable and we nearly had a wipe out of epic proportion.

We'll return to Estes Park, but we'll stay somewhere else. When I spend $500 for two nights, I expect more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bobeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We're just back from a wonderful 3 day stay at the Stonebrook Resort. We stayed in room 10B, with it's balcony overlooking the river and the small bridge. Just beautiful! And as most reviews tell you, the sound of the river lulls you to sleep each night. Mike and Bella are great hosts. The room was clean and spacious: a two story setup (kitchen, living room & bath up, bedroom with king bed down). Even a gas grill on the balcony. The location is great: just a couple of miles to RMNP and to downtown Estes Park. On Saturday, after coming back from RMNP, we had a wonderful suprise: right across the river from our room, a big 12 point Elk dropped in to munch on the riverside vegetation and hang out for about 20 minutes. He was perfectly content to let us and few other guests take pictures and videos. As Mike said: "Best backyard ever!" We loved sitting on the bench in (yes in) the river. What a great property- we highly recommend Stonebrook Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billwassmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just returned from our 5th year of staying at Stonebrook Resort and it just keeps getting better every year! Mike continues to make improvements to the units and the property. This resort sits right on the Fall River which lulls you to sleep at night. The rooms and cabins are beautiful and clean and the staff is great. This resort is 3 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and a little less distance to town. We normally stay in 9A and already made our reservations for next year in one of the cabins which we are already excited about! I can't say enough about this place and about Mike and his mascot Bella! We miss it so much already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Stonebrook, we stayed in cabin 15. It had everything that we needed for our stay. We really loved sitting by the river. Also, Stonebrook is so close to everything. It was just a couple of miles to town and to Rmn park. We will return and hopefully will stay in number 15. Thanks again to Mike for all the advice to making our stay so great! Ken and Pam Kovacs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smokey999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 5, had a great 3 days. Relaxing, super clean, great location between town and the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Mike was helpful and informative about the area. He and Bella were great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_M54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

we stayed in cabin #1 which is right down by the river and is probably one of the more private cabins.
sounds of nature outside along with hot tub and bbq
cant fault this place - only thing is that cabin #1 does not have wooden decking - concrete patio instead
a wooden decking would make this place even better
We also had the pleasure of Bella the dog - a friendly dog for sure!

Room Tip: cabin 1 is great for hot tub privacy
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jawsy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
780 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
463 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,031 reviews
3.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StoneBrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneBrook Resort

Property: StoneBrook Resort
Address: 1710 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StoneBrook Resort is a quiet little spot along the Fall River offering a tranquil mountain environment at your back door. Our adult only resort offers riverside cottages with private hot tubs and river suites with in-room spa tubs. All units have fireplaces and kitchens. An ideal place to honeymoon, relax & renew and get in touch with pure Colorado Rocky Mountain Nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your StoneBrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonebrook Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing