We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Romantic, nice property in excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of StoneBrook Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
StoneBrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic, nice property in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

For the most part, we enjoyed our stay in Unit 2.

We loved the private outdoor hot tub, which was so nice at night under the stars. We also appreciated the gas fireplace and basket of hot chocolate and coffee packets.

The location is wonderful. Near town, but very private and close to the national park. We didn't see another property that we would have preferred over Stonebrook.

The sofa in front of the fire was nice. The size of the cabin was plentiful for two people.

The bed was pretty comfortable. Our only complaint was the bedding. The pillows were flat and old, and upon going into the cabin the first time, we noticed a strong odor from the blankets and comforter. Weren't sure if it was because they had been stored for a long time, or if they had been used by previous guests and needed to be washed. The hosts quickly changed the bedding the next morning when we complained and replaced the pillows, but we would have rather not had to smell it and deal with flat pillows the first night. The replacement bedding was just fine and the pillows were fluffy and appeared to be new.

We filled the indoor bathtub once. It was kind of oily and smelled like a previous guest's bath products, so we got out quickly.

All in all, I definitely would recommend the property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank templetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    68
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
390
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent New Years Eve at the Stonebrook Resort! The staff was great and the room could not be beat! Hard to beat an in room jacuzzi and fireplace! The resort is 5 minutes from the Estes business district and 10 from Rocky Mountain National Park. I have no doubt we will be returning the Stonebrook Resort!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We love this getaway, We spend our Anniversary in March each year at the resort and now we had the opportunity to spend 2 Christmas's here. Mike is a fantastic host, Thanks Mike for making our 2012 Christmas extra special this year, your the best. The rooms are fantastic, very clean, we have a kitchen, fireplace is inviting, spa in the room is so relaxing. See you in March 2013

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a terrific mountain getaway. We were greeted by Mike (our host) who was helpful and gracious. The #5 cabin was nicely secluded and had a beautiful wooded (snowy) view. We stayed 6 nights. I wanted to buy the couch... it was so comfortable in front of the fireplace. After snow shoeing all day, we were delighted to sink into the corner hot tub and the hot water seemed unlimited. The kitchen had all the tools we needed. The two-burner stovetop was perfect for cooking bacon, eggs and French toast in the morning. The cabin/bungalow was conveniently located to everything Estes Park had to offer. It was a great Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mylycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location, condo is great-- quiet. I highly recommend this place. Mike is a fabulous host. We told him we had flown for 2 hours with a screaming 2.5 year old next to us and he gave us a bottle of wine to relax with. Mike recently changed cabin 8 to only 1 bed, and when we said we needed 2 - he graciously moved us to a 2 bed condo. Thanks Mike!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I booked the reservation for our room on a Thursday and paid for 1 night as a deposit - $150. Over the weekend, the news in Denver broke a story of a fire closing in on Estes Park. When I called the owner, he said that it was indeed smokey depending on the wind. After talking with my girlfriend, we decided we didn't want to risk using up a vacation day, and spending money to be in smoke all weekend. The owner said he'd refund me back $100. When I asked if that was a mistake, he said that normally cancellations don't get any refund back. Wow!

I can see if this was any other circumstance, but living in Denver, and seeing this fire was all over the news...it really put us in a difficult situation. Instead of good customer service and some understanding, I was met with difficulty, and would have to eat $50 because of this natural disaster. Unacceptable. Of course we decided to go up and just see how things were because we didn't want to lose any part of the deposit. We felt strong armed into this decision though.

Luckily, there was no smoke, and the town of Estes was a nice winter weekend getaway. We stayed in cabin 2, which was pretty great with a King sized bed. It had everything a couple could want, including our own private hot tub. The hot tub was amazing while snow fell down and icy breezes kept the heat from being too much. I thought room 2 had the most private hot tub, even though cabin 1 was closer to the river. Cabins 1 and 2 seemd like the best.

The only complaints I would have on the room is that the walls were pretty thin because we could hear the neighbors easily. If you're stuck next to someone loud who stays up late, or you're a light sleeper, you might get cranky. That wasn't the case with us though.

All in all, I can see why these cabins are rated #1 on Trip Advisor. They are super romantic and very luxurious in a rustic kinda way. There are a lot of river front cabins up there, but I would find it hard to believe any could be better. It was just too bad the original first impression and customer service was severely lacking. I can see why some people have issues with this in some of the other reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FooserX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAYLOR, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our check in was easy and informative. Our accommodations were as described and we were completely satisfied. We stayed in suite 11b so our son had his own room and tv. I guess the only negative thing I would say is that if you had four people wanting to rest comfortably in the living room, there was only room for three on the couch

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StoneBrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneBrook Resort

Property: StoneBrook Resort
Address: 1710 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StoneBrook Resort is a quiet little spot along the Fall River offering a tranquil mountain environment at your back door. Our adult only resort offers riverside cottages with private hot tubs and river suites with in-room spa tubs. All units have fireplaces and kitchens. An ideal place to honeymoon, relax & renew and get in touch with pure Colorado Rocky Mountain Nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonebrook Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing