We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend at Stonebrook!”
Review of StoneBrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
StoneBrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We recently stayed in Cottage #2 and had a great weekend. The entire property backs up to the Fall River and on the other side of the river is just a big hill, covered in trees, so there are no other resorts, cabins, or anything right behind you. For those looking for privacy, I would say that cottage #1 would have the most privacy, cottage #2 the second most, and cottage #3 the least. Cottage #2 is on the end and the hot tub on the porch overlooks the river, the hillside, and a little bit of the parking lot, but it gets very dark at night so we could still see a ton of stars. Our cabin was fantastic inside as well. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept on away from home. It was also very clean, which is a huge factor for me. The kitchen is completely stocked with pretty much every cooking utensil/dish that one would need. I brought Tupperware containers for our leftovers, which was handy because that is the only thing the kitchen does not have. My husband stated that the grill on our deck was great and that it heated up really fast. My only complaint was that the pots and pans were NOT the no-stick variety with teflon, so after making breakfast we just left the dishes in the sink to soak all day and that worked fine. The office has a decent selection of movies to rent, or you could bring your own DVDs, and there is a Blockbuster kiosk in the Safeway in town (no redbox unless you want to drive back to Loveland). The bathroom also had a hairdryer, which was great as it was snowing and cold all weekend and going outside with wet hair would have been a bummer. A couple FYIs: For those who were upset about not getting daily room service, I am pretty sure it states that on the website, but no, they do not come and clean daily. They also recently added a policy that no children under the age of 13 are allowed due to issues they have had in the past. Mike (the guy who I believe runs the place) asked for our opinion and my take (I'm 26, husband is 30 and we don't have kids yet) is that I love kids, but when we want a quiet weekend away the last thing I want to hear is a bunch of kids running all over the place. Plus, this place really is geared towards adults and not kids; there is no swing set or play area for kids, nor is there a pool. Access to the river is also completely unrestricted. Again, just an FYI.
My only other advice is if you book cottage #1, there is a short, but fairly steep hill, to drive down to get to it. This wouldn't be a problem for any car in the summer, but I definitely wouldn't have driven my small front wheel drive car down the hill this weekend as it was covered in snow. Clearly, you can park at the top of the hill and take an extra 15 steps from the car to get there, but just so you know for anyone booking cottage #1. Mike in the office was great too; he and my husband ended up in a strong Scrabble debate over words to play =) We loved our weekend there and are already talking about when we should go back.

Room Tip: For those looking for privacy, I would say that cottage #1 would have the most privacy, cottage #2 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sachmo9085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 628 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

I would recommend this resort highly!! Very, very clean and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in away from home. Beautiful scenery from deck and close to dining, shopping, and National Park. The staff were very friendly and accomadating.

Room Tip: We were very satisified with Cottage # 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARY SUE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights in a cottage for our 10 year anniversary and had a wonderful time. The place was so clean and the property is beautiful. The management and staff were wonderful. Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We followed Mike Morris, the manager, from Riverview Pines to Stonebrook. We couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. We enjoyed all the amenities as listed in other reviews and enjoyed being close to the stream. It was very nice to look across the stream at a mountainside instead of other cabins and the fishing was great. Mike has always been the warmest of hosts and helpful in every way. We couldn't imagine a better place to stay in the Estes Park area and we are already looking forward to our next three night stay.

Bud & Helen

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Estes where we stayed at the Stonebrook Resort. It was perfection. When I talked to Mike (the owner) on the phone I knew this was going to be a great stay! He and his dogs Buddy and Bella gave us fabulous service, an immaculate cabin to stay in and a great trip. He acted as a tour guide pointing out places to eat, shop, sight see etc on a map, had the fire started in our room upon arrival and guided us to the room. We stayed in a cabin with a jacuzzi tub and personal hottub outdoors right on the river. It was perfection! If you want a clean, beautiful place to stay along with great service call Mike at Stonebrook Resort you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunrChic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary in Estes Park. We were looking for a weekend getaway that was close to shopping but also close to the RMNP entrance. We weren't disappointed when we arrived at Stonebrook!! It Is located in the perfect spot. Our first morning there we greeted by bull elk in the morning. Our room was clean, cozy, and comfortable. We left the windows open at night to listen to the river. We will Definitly be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chevybabe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We absolutely recommend this resort. It is run by wonderful, kind-hearted people. The location is close enough for a quick weekend getaway, but so enjoyable you'll want to stay longer! Great trout fishing and hiking. Cabins are beautiful, rustic meets elegant, and sparkling clean! There is a full kitchen, jetted tub, gas fireplace, tv and DVD. The private deck includes a hot tub and grill. It's like having your own little home in the mountains! We will definitely be back! Check it out at www.StonebrookResort.com

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjela-Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StoneBrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneBrook Resort

Address: 1710 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $124 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StoneBrook Resort is a quiet little spot along the Fall River offering a tranquil mountain environment at your back door. Our adult only resort offers riverside cottages with private hot tubs and river suites with in-room spa tubs. All units have fireplaces and kitchens. An ideal place to honeymoon, relax & renew and get in touch with pure Colorado Rocky Mountain Nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your StoneBrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonebrook Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing