We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, small restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nepal's Cafe

Nepal's Cafe
Ranked #11 of 127 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, small restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food here was great, although they don't have much room inside. It was pouring out, so no option there. We just wish we could have tried some different things.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMCSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    201
    39
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DES MOINES
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went for the buffet after a very long morning hike, so, we were starving. That should give this review context as we were not very discriminating even if we are very well versed with Indian food. The buffet was good, the vegetarian and noodle offerings were very well made. The 3 types of chicken were different and not all had the heavy cream that can be the norm at most indian buffets. My son was a big fan of their chicken tikka masala and I enjoyed their chilli chicken, it was spicy and flavorful. All in all very wholesome food with a good mix that appealed to a very hungry omnivore's palate. Don't go hear expecting exotic nepalese food, it's just Indian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffsView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to have Indian food as an option while staying in Estes Park. After reading such good reviews we decided it was worth any bad service/slow wait for some delicious food. We chose to sit at a nice table outside and politely asked our waitress if she could wipe the seats down, as it had just rained that afternoon and they were soaking wet. She was very annoyed by this, even though there were others sitting outside, but she helped us out. We then ordered and she literally disappeared. We saw her take off her apron and go into another store. We sat there for an hour without explanation. This was no easy feat, especially with a squirmy 4 and 6 year old. Thankfully, there is a park right next to the restaurant, so that they could play. We tried to give them the benefit of the doubt but finally started asking the other wait staff if they had any idea where our food was. They went inside to check and then would come back out and ignore us. Finally, our original waitress re-emerged and glanced at our table, only to see it empty. She ran inside with a disturbed look on her face and 10 minutes later our food was on the table. After braving that, we were expecting it to be outstanding, but it was nothing amazing. It was good food, and our kids loved it, but it lacked the strong flavored we have come to expect from good Indian food. The sauces were more creamy, and did not have much heat or spice. It was a tasty meal, but on the bland side. Unfortunately, it was not worth the bad service for mediocre food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Indian/Nepalese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stopped in with 3 friends after a morning of hiking in the park and our first choice already being closed for the day. Even though the lunch buffet was supposed to end at 3 and we arrived a bit after that they allowed me to order the buffet still. I tried my favorite Indian dishes and a few Nepalese dishes and all were excellent. Everyone else in the group enjoyed their food as well and had leftovers to take home as dinner. Service was prompt and polite. The location behind the main street is a bit hard to find, and them place is a bit cramped, but it was well worth the effort to find it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeniseMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I ate here last week and it was wonderful. Nice little restaurant, great service, and the food was spot on. We are vegan and finding a good vegan meal in the mountains is a challenge. Nepal's Cafe is family run by folks from Nepal, and the food shows it. We had curry vegetables with rice and garlic naan. Everything was fresh and the naan was maybe the best we have had in the states! The menu has many vegan possibilities and we will return for sure. Give them a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasPBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nepal's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing