We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Rock Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Wapiti cottage and we had an amazing time! We stayed for 2 nights which was perfect for a little getaway. The cottage had everything you could need including staple cooking supplies like salt, pepper, oil, sugar. We learned from Terry that the cottage was built in the early 1900's for the wrokers that were building the Stanley Hotel. Great view of the Stanley Hotel from the back driveway. Beautiful views with a 2 hour horseback ride (you would have to hike a LONG way to get those views!). We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: The Wapiti Cottage was nice because it was a block or so away from the other cottages. Quiet and awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    70
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
215
114
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We returned today from an overnight stay at the Fern Lake Cottage, and had a great stay. The cottage is listed as sleeping up to six, but I would say to limit this to four adults and two kids--rather than six adults--as it would be pretty cramped. The cabin was very clean, with plenty of towels and linens, a fan in each bedroom closet (necessary given how stuffy it feels at night) and a fully equipped kitchen. They had a kettle, coffee pot, toaster, oven, and things like salt and pepper (and other spices and oils left by previous guests). The toilet even has a permanently attached (but not inconvenient for adults) child seat in the lid that can come down for little ones.

The location is incredibly convenient; Safeway is a two-minute drive, as is downtown. You could easily walk to main street as well.

The area was really quiet in the evening, making it a very peaceful atmosphere.

One of the kiddos left their toy under the bed, and the owners called us right away--something we weren't expecting, but which greatly appreciated!

I would recommend these cottages to families, friends and couples alike.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn_in_Estes, Owner at River Rock Cottages, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! Our location is really convenient. We live at the back of our property and so enjoy walking everywhere downtown. Glad we were able to catch you before you left town to pick up the toy... crisis averted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely cabin, delightful hosts, perfectly marvelous location, fantastic view,. Could not ask for a better place to stay for 3 days. We were greeted and welcoming we have a view of the Stanley Hotel, wonderful restaurants to visit Rocky Mountain National Park just a few minutes away okay. Highly recommend this lovely place enjoy.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackMBSelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn_in_Estes, Owner at River Rock Cottages, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our cottages! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and glad you appreciated our 360 degree views! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

These little places are kept very clean and very cute. My wife and I have gone there for some alone time and we have even rented one of the larger ones and had family from out of state stay with us. Although you are not by the river it's still a great and wonderful escape.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooternmoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn_in_Estes, Owner at River Rock Cottages, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for taking the time to write a review! We hope to be your 'home away from home' whenever you visit our beautiful mountain town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My first stay at River Rock Cottages and I was thoroughly impressed! The cabin was clean and spacious and had all the comforts of home! They're also close to everything! Owners were very friendly and helpful! Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann945n
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have been coming to River Rock Cottages for 6 years now and have always had a wonderful stay. The owners are lovely people who do a fantastic job of keeping the cottages clean, cozy and warm. I highly recommend them to anyone. You can walk to town as well and many restaurants too! Our last visit we traveled here with our 8 month old son and were able to secure a portable crib for his room which worked perfectly. The beds are comfy, clean sheets, plenty of towels and wonderful scenery. Love the kitchen and the ability to cook on site!

Room Tip: Pick a cottage based on the size of your party and if you want a full kitchen or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann945n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Perfect place to relax after a day playing in RMNP! Cottage was clean, welcoming and the perfect size for a weekend getaway. Easy 2min walk to downtown Estes with bars, shops and trails. Great 4mi run around Lake Estes is steps out the front door!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CHoncharik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#31 of 78 in Estes Park
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Cottages

Property: River Rock Cottages
Address: 311 Virginia Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed and comfortable accommodations; less than 3 blocks to downtown Estes Park and 3.5 miles to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park; easy walk to shopping and restaurants; 360 beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your River Rock Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing