We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Rock Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    70
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
215
114
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2008

These cabins were just wonderful. Very clean since they've recently been updated. The Bighorn where we stayed was perfect for the 4 of us as we had 2 singles with us who needed their own beds. The beds were comfortable and the whole cabin was just great. We loved sitting outside in front in the rocking chairs and talking. It was so peaceful and quiet and we decided to see if we could stay an extra day. It was so nice being able to walk down to the town also. We couldn't have asked for a better find. Terry showed us in the other cabins also so we could see the great work he's done and the next time we decide to stay overnight in Estes, we will definitely be staying here!
Pass the word - this is the place to stay!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no VCR or DVD player
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DenverChocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2008

One could hardly ask for more from a place to stay in Estes Park. It has near perfect access to many of the major features of Rocky Mountain National Park--most notably, Lumpy Ridge, Long's Peak Trail Head, Bear Lake Trail Head, Glacier Basin Trail Head, Fall River Road, Trail Ridge Road--is in walking distance to downtown Estes Park, is located near both Highways 34 and 36, the cabins are comfortable and charmingly appointed and the proprietors are some of the nicest people you will ever encounter. In sum, it is difficult to conceive of more ideal accommodations.

  • Liked — Access to RMNP
  • Disliked — That we could not stay longer
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank verticaldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The Diamond Cottage at the River Rock cottages was newly renovated and very nicely decorated. We stayed with my sister and her family in the larger side of the cottage and we had a GREAT time. It was in a great location close to downtown Estes (within walking distance) and had a great view of the mountains. I would highly recommend the cottages to anyone who wanted a nice relaxing stay. The proprietors were very accomodating and nice to work with!

  • Liked — It's quaintness.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IowaMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The RRC has been completely updated and was a wonderful place to stay, very private. It's a quick walk into the town of Estes Park which saves time driving through the crowded downtown area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoosyConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed in the Aspen Cottage for several days and loved it. It has been completely remodeled. The furnishing were first rate. The beds were extremely comfortable and the linens and towels were incredibly soft. We used the kitchen for some of our meals which made it like home. Just thinking about our stay is making me wish we were still there.

The shops and river walk are all within walking distance of the cottages. The common area was very nice and relaxing surrounded by terrific views.

We would recommend River Rock Cottages (and have) to anyone visiting Estes Park. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and relaxing
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KCTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#30 of 78 in Estes Park
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Cottages

Property: River Rock Cottages
Address: 311 Virginia Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed and comfortable accommodations; less than 3 blocks to downtown Estes Park and 3.5 miles to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park; easy walk to shopping and restaurants; 360 beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your River Rock Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing