We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for a family or a couple!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Rock Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is our fourth stay at the cabins. It's become our home away from home. Thank you Carolyn, Terry and Cam for making each trip better than the last. Your hospitality mirrors the beautiful landscape. Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzavoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 455 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed in the Chickadee Cottage during a weekend trip to Estes Park. The cottage was clean and well-decorated. Despite the cold weather outside, it was very cozy and warm. The small kitchen area was perfect for cooking breakfast and a light lunch. The bed was also quite comfortable, with plenty of blankets to keep us warm. The only minor issue I had with the accommodations is that the blinds did not block out much light. So I would not recommend planning on sleeping late if you are sensitive to light. However, this was only a very minor issue. Everything else was fantastic. The location of the cottage is excellent for walking down to Big Thompson Avenue to tour the shops or go ice skating. One morning as we left our cottage, we ran into Terry, the owner. He is very pleasant and helpful, and actually cares about whether his guests are enjoying their stay. It is refreshing to find such a clean, cozy, guest-oriented establishment. We will definitely stay at River Rock again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katmat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Wapiti with its wood burning fireplace made our three-night getaway very restful. Watching the sun shine on Longs Peak in the early morning while still in bed :) and then seeing the morning sunlight on the Twin Owls from the living room windows was spectacular.

Everything in the little cottage was so very clean. My husband has a bad back and the bed was uncomfortable for him. The next day we called Terry; he came right over with clean sheets and made-up Lazy Boy hide-a-bed in the living room. Perfect solution for my hubby to have a good night's sleep.

We had stayed in the Aspen a few Decembers ago and were pleased to find out first-hand that the Wapiti is every bit as nice, in a different rustic sort-of-way.

I loved being able to walk to the Estes Valley Library, MacDonald's Bookshop and restaurants from the cottage.

Even though we live only 45 minutes away from Estes, we'll be back to stay at the River Rock Cottages.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveManyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The River Rock Cottages is a great place to stay in Estes Park. We stayed in the Evergreen Cottage and it was wonderful. It was exactly what we were looking for. We like to stay within walking distance of the main downtown area wherever we go - so that we don't need to use a car and River Rock was the perfect place! We were able to walk down the hill and get to all the shops and restaurants. I would recommend River Rock Cottages to anyone who wanted a great place to stay!

Room Tip: The Evergreen Cottage is perfect for a couple. Has microwave & coffee pot - but no real kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwasem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wonderful! Just wonderful! The cottages are very clean with a modern decor. We loved the view from our Chickadee room of the mountains. The kitchen was great for cooking small meals and a small fridge for keeping our drinks and snacks cool. they had great information of he surrounding area of things to do and see while we were in town. overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobi132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We usually don't complete survey's but we had to complete one for the Evergreen cottage at River Rock Cottages. It was perfect! It had everything we needed from coffee to a hair dryer along with being the intimate cottage we were hoping for. It was very clean and the heater and water worked great. The owner Terry, was very courteous! The views from the porch are stunning and even had a rabbit visit us in the early morning hours. We were visiting from Miami, so you can imagine our excitement ;)! It was a truly sweet cottage and will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VWh33ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My group of friends needed a place close to The Stanley for the night of The Shining Ball. It was primarily used as a staging area for getting ready. It was fine, however next time I will be sure to put a little more thought into the idea of having one bathroom in a cottage that sleeps eight. It was nice and clean and exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
174 reviews
3.3 mi away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#25 of 78 in Estes Park
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aspen Winds on Fall River
Aspen Winds on Fall River
#5 of 78 in Estes Park
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Cottages

Address: 311 Virginia Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $138 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed and comfortable accommodations; less than 3 blocks to downtown Estes Park and 3.5 miles to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park; easy walk to shopping and restaurants; 360 beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your River Rock Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing