We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Rock Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
ann945n
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We come to River Rock Cottages in Estes Park every year with a very large group and always love our stay. We have several children with us as well and are always warmly greeted by our hosts Terry and Carolyn, very family friendly place to stay! We stay in Fern Lake and love it. It is always spotless when we arrive, the beds are wonderfully comfortable with clean crisp white sheets and plenty of clean bath towels waiting in the bathroom for us. Fern Lake has a nice little kitchen in it where we are able to cook a little bit too to reduce the cost on our trip so we don't have to eat out all the time. Some of our other party members stayed in other cottages and had just as a lovely time as we did! We will continue to come back to River Rock Cottages every year!

Room Tip: I have found all the cottages to be equally lovely and comfrotable. Best to pick your cottage based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann945n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    70
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
210
112
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We came up for the weekend to celebrate our wedding, 2 birthdays and our new arrival to Colorado from key west, Florida. Our 5 year old loved the little house! Quiet time of year which was perfect for our family! (early to bed, early to rise) we never met the owners, however it was perfect because they were there if we needed them! It was so wonderful because our daughter actually felt "at home" as if it was "our" second home. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fate2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed for one night and enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing stay. The weekend we were in Estes Park was a free weekend at the national park, which was a wonderful perk to our visit to Estes. We also enjoyed ice skating at the pond at the YMCA and a delicious dinner at the Nepalese/Indian restaurant. It was a really windy night and the windows were rattling with all of the wind, but the gas heater/fireplace made it cozy. The cottage was lovely to come back to after a fun sunny winter day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have stayed at the river rock cottages twice and would highly recommend them. Our family is always very comfortable there,and the location is great. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed in Aspen cottage on Christmas Eve this year, and it was so great! The bed is amazingly comfortable (I napped on the couch which was equally comfortable!) I loved the "fireplace" heater, it made everthing so cozy! As always, Terry and Carolyn took great care of us, and we will definitely stay at River Rock again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseisrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My boyfriend surprised me with this trip for our Christmas. He booked the "Diamond Cottage" for the two of us which is a 2 bedroom turn of the century cottage.
I am from Germany living in southern California so i was very excited to have a white Christmas again and the trip was well worth it.
As soon as we arrived, the owners of the place welcomed us and taught us about the history of the region. He told us about the Twin Owels and Beaver Mountain which we could be seen from our Cottage.
We went skiing and took a trip to the "Stanley Hotel" which apparently is haunted and in the evening we snuggeld in front of the Fireplace watching movies (comes with DVR Rentals) . We also got to know the Owners of this place very well, just a super sweet couple who cares very much.
And the Best ! My Boyfriend proposed to me on Christmas Eve.. wasn't his plan but it was sooo romantic he just couldnt resist! ;-)
Thank you Caroline and Terry for this great experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We recently spent one night in the Diamond Cottage and had a great time. My kids enjoyed the cottage and we found it to be clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was conveniently located near shopping and restaurants in Estes Park, as well as Rocky Mountain National Park. The only down side was that we only got to enjoy it for one night and we hope to return again sometime for a few days!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Cottages

Property: River Rock Cottages
Address: 311 Virginia Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed and comfortable accommodations; less than 3 blocks to downtown Estes Park and 3.5 miles to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park; easy walk to shopping and restaurants; 360 beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River Rock Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing