We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Barbara's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barbara's B&B
Ranked #13 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2010

What a place! So much character and Barbara is so friendly and welcoming. We were in Arlene's room down stairs. You couldn't ask for more. Free use of kitchen, robes, nibbles, toiletries, dvds and there was even an electric blanket on the bed! Her daughter was there on a visit and a couple of friends stayed over one night and had breakfast with us. The breakfasts were excellent, so much to eat. There were feeders out for the hummingbirds on the balcony and Barbara showed us photos of a bear outside the door! Wildlife on the doorstep and only 5 minutes from Estes town and the park. Quiet too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Barbara's B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 59 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2009

I had read reviews about Barbara's before going and they were all true! The house is decorated with beautiful things and it makes you feel so at home. Everything is very clean and the meals Barbara makes are 'to die for' !! She is a wonderful hostess and very accomodating to personal needs of her guests.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmac0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Barbara's was wonderful! We have traveled to numerous bed and breakfasts and know a good one when we stay there! Barbara is the quintessential hostess. She knows the local area, cooks a great breakfast, and even accommodated a late check in! Would definitely stay there next time we are in Colorado! Thanks Barbara!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pltyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We found this B&B on Tripadvisor, and though we were traveling in the off-season, we wrote ahead to make sure kids and a small dog in a crate, and a single-night stay, would be permitted. They were. We ended up staying two nights, owing to the quality of the accommodation. We stayed in the Clatworthy Cabin, which is much more than that. It is a historic home, filled with great stuff, including the "cave room" and a wonderful little sun room great for conversation and reading. It is stocked and furnished with everything you will need, and within walking distance of town. Highly recommended for families. One note: Breakfast is not served to Clatworthy guests, a detail that we either missed or is omitted from Barbara's website. Instead, try Claire's or The Egg and I, both within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Barbara's BnB includes 3 individual rooms (in the main cabin), and 3 other separate cabins for large groups. We spent one night in "Arlene's Room" which is on the lower floor of the main cabin. Upstairs is "Glennys Ann", and just across a deck area is "Thumbelina's Cottage". Arlenes consists of a simple bedroom/lounge area with large bathroom. A lockable door leads to the upper floor.

Arlene's has a very "lived-in" feel, with nick-nacks and books on the shelves, paintings on the walls, Christmas tree in the corner, plenty of towels, etc... The cabin has a rustic look, yet has modern conveniences. Heating is provided through an electric baseboard system, which is slow to warmup, but adequate. For entertainment there is a ~20" CRT-style TV set (standard cable service) with hooked-up DVD/VCR player. Barbara has hundreds of DVD & VHS movies from many genres to borrow. The entry-way closet has a refrigerator and coffee machine, holding coffee, soda, champagne, beer, etc... at no charge. The bed is a king-size model with dual electric blankets. It was a bit stiff for our tastes, but I'm sure that will vary by personal preference. It is dead silent at night - no road noise, though you could certainly hear the creaking of the floor upstairs as people walk around.

The bathroom is very open and inviting - containing a standard toilet and sink. The shower is hidden in a corner inside and behind the door. The jetted tub was the best part: candles decorate the perimeter, and a small chandelier hangs from the ceiling. Very romantic for couples! All facilities worked with no problems. Though we didn't use it because of the weather, there is a hot tub outside on the deck.

Now sure, I could nitpick a few things: most of the cable tv channels didn't get good signal and were a bit "snowy", there was an old, dime-sized stain on the comforter, the shower tile grout and floor had some dirty spots, the brass was tarnished on the hot tub handles and overflow cover, etc... But that depends on what level of pristiness you'd expect. The majority of the place was immaculately maintained.

Breakfast in the morning was held on the top floor's common room & kitchen next to Glenny's Ann. On the menu was ham, hashbrowns, egg/cheese omelets, muffins, toast, tea, yogurt w/fruit, milk, coffee, and most any type of juice you'd want. All very good, and plenty to go around. Barabara provided good company and advice about local services during the meal. Lunch and dinner can be had at any of the many restaurants in town. Estes Park isn't that big, so any of them are within easy driving distance (max 10 minutes). The private road up to the cabin (Cyteworth) starts as a gradual slope, but quickly gets very steep. If the road is iced over (as it was for us in December) you'll need a good running start or winter tires. One covered parking space is provided.

Price was $135 for one night - reasonable for what was offered (especially including breakfast). Overall, no complaints and we'd definitely come back here, versus staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TheG33kman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I attended a wedding at Estes Park in July of 2008. Every one else stayed at the Stanley Hotel. We stayed at Barbara's Bed and Breakfast. The rooms at the Stanley Hotel were $250 a night. Barbara's rooms were less money. Since my husband travels and is in a hotel room during the week, I wanted him to have a feeling of being at home instead of in a hotel for the weekend. When my husband and I got to Barbara's Bed and Breakfast, she was waiting for us and helped us get settled in and checked with us to see if there was anything that we needed. The Bed and Breakfast is nestled in a mountain within walking distance of town. Estes Park is very close. Before we headed for bed, we went out on the deck and talked. While we were talking, a little raccoon came onto the deck. We got settled in for night and had a great sleep. It was wonderful sleeping with the windows open. When we got up in the morning there were hummingbirds flying around outside my window. When I looked outside of the window, there was a large deer walking around. What a pleasant surprise. We got ready for the day and Barbara had a wonderful breakfast ready for us at a table with linens. She served us and if there was any thing extra that we wanted, she made it. There was no waiting time. The breakfast came with the charge of the room. The people that stayed at the Stanley had to pay for their breakfast. We stayed the second night and the next day was just as special. I felt like I was special when I stayed there. It was nice to have some one there to take care of my immediate needs. When I spoke with the people who stayed at the Stanley Hotel, they wished the would have stayed at Barbara's Bed and Breakfast. I would highly recommend Barbara's Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ckchisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Barbaras B and B. It was a great place to stay! The breakfast was wonderful and so was Barbara! Barbara made us feel right at home!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.6 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara's B&B

Address: 245 Cyteworth, Estes Park, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing