We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed July 2, 2006

On May 13, about noon, I called the Comfort Inn & Suites of Crescent City California to make a reservation for that night. I had asked for two rooms on the ground floor since my elderly parents were with me, he informed me that they did have the rooms and could give us ground floor accommodations. He explained to me that the property had undergone extensive updating with new furniture, new beds, new etc. new etc. During the course of our conversation he excused himself several time for mis-speaking and repeated what he had said, it sounded like he was reading from a list and would lose his place and had to start over from the beginning. He did say that the cancellation period was past and there would be a cancellation fee, he did not tell me it would be the full room rate and he did not give me a number to call to cancel.

We arrived at the property at 4pm on May 13. Driving we noticed the property looked shabby and there did not seem to be very many customers for a Saturday night. Entering the lobby there was a slight unpleasant odor, several plants that were not in good shape and what appeared to be workers loitering in the breakfast room. The entire property was in very poor condition. I stated that I had reservations for two rooms and the manager/owner behind the desk verified that they had the rooms and started to check us in. I asked if we could see the rooms first and he immediately got defensive and handed me some pictures of motel rooms and said this is what they look like, they have new furniture, new beds, had just been renovated. I said we would like to see the rooms and he then said well you will have to pay anyway and wanted me to check in immediately, I again asked to see the rooms and he very reluctantly started to give me a key to a room on the second floor, I reminded him that we had very specifically requested ground floor and he gave me a key to room 105 ( I believe that was the room number). His unwillingness to let us see the room made both of us very uncomfortable and that there must be some reason he did not want us to see the room before we had checked in. We went to look at the room, upon opening the door we immediately noticed that the room did NOT appear to have been newly renovated the curtains had several holes in the lining and looked very tacky, there was a small amount of water in the bathtub, and just generally not what we are accustomed to finding in a Comfort Inn.

We returned to the lobby and my father started to check in when my husband came into the lobby and said we should not stay that my mother wanted to just go home. At about the same time a very unsavory character came into the lobby with his mangy looking pitbull dog. We told the manager/owner that we had decided we did not want to stay because the rooms were not what we had expected, he said that we would have to pay and cancellation fee and when I asked what that would be he said one nights stay, at no time before that had I been told that was what the cancellation fee would be, I was expecting $15 or $20 which is what I have been told at other motels when making reservations. He continued to check us into the motel even thought we had told him we would not be staying, he did not listen to what we were saying. We finally were able to make him understand that we would not be staying We then left.

We have never had such a terrible experience at any hotel we have stayed at, never in my life have I been treated so badly. That manager/owner was unacceptably rude, insulting, disrespectful in every way. We did not stay because this property is sub-standard and very poorly managed.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wlncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 321 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2006

Our family took a road trip up the California Coast, booking rooms as we went, since we did not have a set itinerary. We made the terrible mistake of booking a room at this facility on the day we toured the redwood forests. When it was clear that we would not be able to reach Crescent City before morning, we attempted to cancel the room or, failing that, obtain a partial refund since the room was never used. At this, the franchisee treated us literally as though we were criminals. He screamed at us over the telephone and called us names. After such horrible treatment, we made a point of stopping in when we finally reached Crescent City the next day. We repeated our request and the franchisee was even more hostile. He called my 72-year-old mother a "terrorist" when she explained to him that she would dispute the room charge on her credit card bill. The man then demanded that we leave his property, for which we had already paid the sum of over $100 for admission.

It's just as well we did not stay. The place is decrepit, in keeping with the overall appearance of the surrounding town. We had found a much nicer place to stay, for less money, right in the heart of the redwoods.

If you must stay overnight in Crescent City, stay elsewhere, even if you are a Choice Rewards member.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank dierdre58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2006

Our family booked six rooms while we were attending a funeral. The service was excellent, the staff accomodating, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. The view would have been great from the second floor (we were on the first). I would heartily recommend this motel to anyone.

Stayed: January 2006
4  Thank SusanWillits_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
414
Reviewed July 11, 2005

I stopped in and asked to see a room. I would have stayed here but someone (a friend of management over the telephone) asked to use a dirty room to take a shower and yes they gave him permission. I thought this was very unprofessional, especially in front of a customer. I ended up staying at the Lighthouse Inn. It deserves an excellent!

Stayed: July 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ashland, Oregon
110
Reviewed May 7, 2005

This motel's advertisement claims that it is a "100 percent non-smoking property." This was the reason I booked a reservation there. This claim turned out not to be true. All rooms are non-smoking, but the manager was observed to be smoking in the rear doorway of the office, and other guests smoke outside their rooms in the court yard. The only ventilation to our room was through a single window and air-conditioning unit below the window opening into the court yard. Therefore, smoke entered the room. The manager dismissed my complaint about this, stating that the prohibition against smoking only applied to inside the guest rooms, not outside. The motel could potentially be very nice, but has a neglected appearance with dirty walkways, overgrown and weedy landscaping, and litter in the parking lot. There was supposed to have been a continental breakfast in the front office at 6:30 a.m. However, we found the office locked and dark at that time, so went for breakfast elsewhere. We moved to the motel next door and were given a better non-smoking accommodation for $20 less.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn C, Front Desk Associate at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn C, Front Desk Associate at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
0.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
20.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast

Address: 100 Walton St, Crescent City, CA 95531-4421
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range: $76 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast hotel in Crescent City, California is ideally located off Highway 101, just three miles from the Redwood National and State Parks headquarters. This hotel is near many attractions, including: Elk Valley Casino, Jedediah Smith, Redwoods State Park, Ocean World, St. George Reef Lighthouse, Battery Point Lighthouse, Crescent City Harbor and Lake Earl State Park.The beach, harbor, several stores and a variety of restaurants are within walking distance of the Quality Inn & Suites hotel.Enjoy many amenities: free deluxe continental breakfast, free local calls, free coffee, free high-speed Internet access, free weekday newspaper, laundry facility, copy services, business center and valet cleaning services.All rooms include coffee makers, irons with boards, hair dryers and cable television. Many rooms and suites have balconies, refrigerators, microwaves and large whirlpool bathtubs.Pets are welcome with a stay fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Redwood Coast
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast Hotel Crescent City
Quality Inn Crescent City
Quality Inn Redwood Coast
Comfort Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing