We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms were not clean”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed over night, the room door, it was slightly ajar, I did not have to use my key to get in, it was already late in The evening when we arrived, their was built up sand in the bathroom floor that had not been swept or vacuumed, bathroom still had
Long hair in the shower & on the shower walls, there was spilled candy along the wall,and left behind toys that was easily seen, and yet never cleaned up, as well as one of the beds had not had the sheets changed, i didn't notice until the next morning, when. Were turning down the beds to make sure we had not forgotten something.
, That we noticed, there was still dirty paw prints on the sheets from a prior visitor, we stayed in a pet friendly room, the carpets are badly frayed, wall sockets are worn out, the good thing I will say is,,, they are on a bottom floor, with back door access to a grassy pet area, which was nice. I complained to the front desk person, ( who was very kind) about our findings and they were very apologetic and adjusted our bill, said they would talk with the cleaning person...my suggestion is walk thorough the room before you rent it.... Walls are thin, you could hear the showers, conversations, tv, remote didn't work well either.....and people going to the bathroom in the next rooms.....

Room Tip: It is close to the harbor & beach, there is good local food, the charter room restaurant serves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberlee H, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
When I read this review I was shocked. Due to what was explained as the room situation, it seems like it was a missed room. All housekeeping is restarting their training to refresh and bring to you cleaner stays in the future.
We hope that this not be the last thought you leave about us. We do incourage you to return and see us again. We would like to leave you with a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    78
    79
    41
    29
See reviews for
88
126
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Kim, who checked us in was wonderful. She gave us a great recommendation for a place for dinner. She also had a very positive attitude. Unfortunately she had been told our room was ready but it was not. The toilet had no seat. We had no refrigerator, iron or ironing board and no towels. This was quickly remedied when we notified the front desk. Breakfast was good but the dining area could have used more seating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberlee H, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We do apologize for your experience for the "unrenovated almost ready" room. I am certainly glad that we were able to quickly fix the situation. We are happy that the rest of your stay went normal and great!

We hope that the rest of your trip went great, and would love to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed evening of 10/21. Hotel was busy with construction workers settling in for evening. David at the front desk was very helpful and tried to make our stay a good experience. When we got to our room the door was open so I called David at the front desk and thanked him for getting the room ready. He said he did not open the door but that it might have been left open by housekeeping to air it out after clean/sanitizing the carpets which were still wet. Because the doors were left open after dark the room had a fair share of mosquitoes attracted to the light. Yes, the pillows were famously tucked into a square shape but comfortable. Room was spacious and comfortable with the exception of the wet carpet and bugs... Yes the TV was old school but at least it worked. Breakfast was the usual choice hotel group fair of sausage, eggs, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, juices, coffee, tea, cocoa, fruit, toast, biscuits, and assorted pastries. Did notice some small bites on my arm when we left but did not know what they were from. Since it is pet friendly on first floor, maybe fleas? Staff was courteous and friendly but day staff did not have a very good knowledge of the area.

Room Tip: Should ask for a non pet room to avoid the six legged critters that come with pets. Second floor wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberlee H, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
I do apologize for the door being left open so long to dry the carpets and bugs flying in. This wont be a thing that will happen again.
As for the bites, again we apologize. To ease your mind we carry a contract with Terminex and fleas are not a issue in the hotel. Regular maintenance is kept up and a priority. mosquitoes might very well be the answer to that especially since you already saw some. Being located next to the harbor it is definitely a possibility.
We are glad that you did enjoy your stay over all....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just stayed this past weekend. The hotel is acceptable to pets and we had 2 small dogs with us. The pet rooms are on first floor and have sliding doors to the outside to allow easy access for late night outings with the pets. The pet policy was the best part of the stay. The room was average 2 queen beds, the pillows were small and filled with foam. Room just felt icky. One of the bed comforters had a stain(pet?). The floor was vacuumed but needed to be cleaned. in bathroom an old soap bar was on top of the shower/bath surround, I think was was indicative of the overall cleanliness. The breakfast was typical, sausage eggs make your own waffles etc.TV was an old style tube small TV no HD, with prices on TV.s so low a 27 inch LCD should be the norm. If I was to travel to this area again I would not stay at this hotel. When we did check in the front counter was friendly and nice, acknowledged my diamond status with choice brands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank late1night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel amenities are average or just slightly above; however the customer service in this hotel is better than almost all others. Kim checked us in and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome when we arrived. There were a number of people waiting in line and she was attentive, professional, and courteous to all of us. All of the other staff that we encountered was great too. The owners and managers of this hotel are very focused on customer service. It was apparent that each person there valued our business.

The parking lot is in the front of the hotel and you are not going to be able to park your car below your window but it is well lit and certainly not inconvenient to room access
.
The breakfast offering was fairly typical, but all of the juices and dairy was kept cold, the eggs and sausage were hot and the area was kept clean and well stocked.

The room we were in was huge. Beds were comfortable, all electronics and appliances worked well, and the bathroom was clean. Overall, the amenities were nice, but average compared to other hotels. The customer service sets this hotel apart from most all others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberlee H, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
All the staff at Quality Inn & Suites thanks your for your stay and hopes to see you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Thanks to TA, I seldom have to write a poor review, but this place in an exception to that.

The check-in clerk was very friendly and helpful. That is one of the best things to say about our stay on 10/15/2013. Our room (# 225, non-smoking) was on the second floor on the back side of the building. The entire hallway corridor reeked of cigarette smoke. There was no elevator and no convenient place to park for unloading luggage. People were backing up and parking in the fire lane to unload their luggage. This probably wouldn't bother most people; however, my wife and I are both firefighters and hate seeing this type of thing. The stairwells were also narrowed by a secondary handrail on both sides that has been installed inside the original handrails. This makes it even more difficult to carry luggage up and down. An on-site laundry facility was available and we used it without problem.

The room was clean, but worn. There was an A/C - heater. The comforter was covered with "fuzzies" that our 2 yr. old was happy to point out to us. The pillows were small and square - like they had literally cut pillows in half and sewed them back together. I'm not sure what was going on there. They would have been comfortable if there had been more to them. Bed was comfortable, but we were awakened at 7 a.m. due to demolition work being done next door.

Breakfast was good: sausage, eggs, waffles, pastries, bagels, apples, yogurt, assorted cereals, milk, OJ and coffee. Unfortunately, there were only four tables available for an entire hotel's worth of guests.

This was a below average experience for our stay. We have stayed in our fair share of Quality Inns with positive experiences, so I am not giving up on them - I just won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberlee H, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Sorry to be the one that you write the bad review about. Our standards were slightly behind in the past and we are working hard to upgrade and improve this hotel to the fullest. I hope that you give us another chance in the future to show you the changes we have made....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't rely on any type of GPS to direct you to this motel once you get into Crescent City. I thought it was just a problem with our Garmin but the receptionist said it didn't work for any GPS device. The motel is close to the beach but you won't see it unless you are on the second floor at the back. The receptionist was very nice and switched us to a room with a view. We enjoyed watching the sun set over the ocean while sitting on the little balcony.The room was open to the outside and overlooked a central courtyard that was nicely kept. I'm not very fond of this type of motel in general because I don't usually feel as safe at them but this one was lit well and didn't bother me. The room was clean even though the furniture and carpeting were worn. The bed was comfortable. It was an OK place to stay if you were there for the Redwoods and not the beach as we were. If in the area we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
292 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#12 of 18 in Crescent City
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Address: 100 Walton St, Crescent City, CA 95531-4421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast hotel in Crescent City, California is ideally located off Highway 101, just three miles from the Redwood National and State Parks headquarters. This hotel is near many attractions, including: Elk Valley Casino, Jedediah Smith, Redwoods State Park, Ocean World, St. George Reef Lighthouse, Battery Point Lighthouse, Crescent City Harbor and Lake Earl State Park.The beach, harbor, several stores and a variety of restaurants are within walking distance of the Quality Inn & Suites hotel.Enjoy many amenities: free deluxe continental breakfast, free local calls, free coffee, free high-speed Internet access, free weekday newspaper, laundry facility, copy services, business center and valet cleaning services.All rooms include coffee makers, irons with boards, hair dryers and cable television. Many rooms and suites have balconies, refrigerators, microwaves and large whirlpool bathtubs.Pets are welcome with a stay fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Redwood Coast
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast Hotel Crescent City
Quality Inn Crescent City
Quality Inn Redwood Coast
Comfort Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing