We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep driving and spend more money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge - Crescent City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Econo Lodge - Crescent City
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Keep driving and spend more money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

Geography - The Econolodge is in the outer skirts of Crescent City. Small typical ‘Inn’ right next to the 101. Friendly guys in the lobby that for some reason gave me the impression that they couldn’t understand a word I was saying - but responded correctly.
Room - Small, typical lay-out. There was quite a bit of noise coming from the room next to ours. At some point my wife woke up because of the neighbors snoring!!
Facilities - Wireless internet working fine. Breakfast is a joke. There’s hardly any choice and the things they have need restocking. Go across the street for a nice breakfast.
Looks - Simple, cheap.
Todo's - Redwood. Get information from the visitors center. Do the Howland Hill drive. This is a 6 mile unpaved drive through the woods that give you one of the most (dusty ) beautiful pictures you have ever seen. The only food that was ok is the seafood restaurant in the dock area (the one closest to the 101).
I would never stay here again. I would never stay in Crescent City again (even though we have to stay one more night because of our planning. So we moved to a different hotel)

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Room comfort
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DJF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    40
    29
    31
See reviews for
54
38
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

This was a terrible experience!!! The room was old, the lighting bad, paneled walls, not quite clean. There was not even milk with the breakfast. No pool. I would never stay there again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the room, breakfast, lighting, bathroom!!!!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaceHorseLady
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2006

Walls are paper thin...the guy next door woke me up with his snoring!! Rooms were shabby but clean. Surpisingly, the bed was comfortable. When we visit this area again, will try another motel.

  • Liked — Close to Redwood's
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Tips/Secrets — Look for another choice
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceHorseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

This was the crappiest hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms were musty. There was NO AC!! My husband joked that he was going to turn on the AC and he slid open the window. There are so many more hotels to stay in that we saw after we arrived. My advice is to search the Crescent City Chamber of Commerce or something. This was by far the scariest place that we drove by (and stayed at!) This hotel was grossly overpriced. We paid $100 when we stayed. I DO NOT RECOMMEND that you waste your money nor time with this hotel. I am actually going to write corporate because the experience was so far below what I expect from a chain hotel. The Redwoods were amazing though. Take time to walk on the beaches too. They are awesome.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank kaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

Don't make the same mistake I did!! I went against my better judgement to stay here because of the positive reviews and lack of knowledge of what else was in the area. The room was very dark and dated, woodwork from the 70's. Questionable cleanliness. The door had two deadbolts in addition to the standard locks...Hmmm. Didn't sleep much and couldn't wait to get out of there. The continental breakfast was donuts and muffins so don't expect to save on breakfast unless that's what you had in mind. It was what I feared an Econolodge would be; I should've known. Trust me...KEEP GOING!! Further down the road there are atleast three very nice modern-looking hotels. I noted the names just so I could come home and post a review, hoping to save someone from making the same mistake. The The Lighthouse Inn, The Bayview Inn and The Comfort Inn all looked very nice.

Helpful?
3 Thank famtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2006

Like many travelers, I didn't know anything about the Crescent City area.
After reading all the reviews, I made a reservation at Econo Lodge.
Yes, the reservation staff were very nice on the phone.

But the place is not in a good area!!
It's in a busy traffic, concrete surrounded area.
My heart sank.
If you are really, really trying to save money and don't care where you sleep, go ahead and keep your reservation there.
For the rest of us, keep on driving, and stay at the Lighthouse Inn.
They are open 24 hours, and the staff are very courteous. Great price, too!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank ProfusionOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

After reading positive reviews on line, I chose this motel over the others for my business trip to Crescent City. It was a wonderful place to stay. The managers were responsive and gracious. The rooms were very clean. The room wasn't fancy but was well kept and maintained. Modest contemporary design in furniture and fixtures not unlike more expensive motels. Single story buildings with cars parked at front door. No one overhead, below or behind and no noisy voices outside in corridors to contend with. Highway 101 is frontage and of course has traffic. I wear Earplane earplugs in any motel/hotel I visit because each has some noise whether it be voices, ice machines or vehicular traffic. I found that wearing them here provided a peaceful night's sleep. Every appliance worked well. I will make my next reservations in Crescent City at EconoLodge.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Crescent City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#12 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Crescent City

Property: Econo Lodge - Crescent City
Address: 725 US Highway 101 N, Crescent City, CA 95531-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Crescent City 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge - Crescent City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crescent City
Econolodge Crescent City
Crescent City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing