We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Crescent City
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't stay there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2006

Like many travelers, I didn't know anything about the Crescent City area.
After reading all the reviews, I made a reservation at Econo Lodge.
Yes, the reservation staff were very nice on the phone.

But the place is not in a good area!!
It's in a busy traffic, concrete surrounded area.
My heart sank.
If you are really, really trying to save money and don't care where you sleep, go ahead and keep your reservation there.
For the rest of us, keep on driving, and stay at the Lighthouse Inn.
They are open 24 hours, and the staff are very courteous. Great price, too!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank ProfusionOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    40
    29
    31
See reviews for
54
38
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

After reading positive reviews on line, I chose this motel over the others for my business trip to Crescent City. It was a wonderful place to stay. The managers were responsive and gracious. The rooms were very clean. The room wasn't fancy but was well kept and maintained. Modest contemporary design in furniture and fixtures not unlike more expensive motels. Single story buildings with cars parked at front door. No one overhead, below or behind and no noisy voices outside in corridors to contend with. Highway 101 is frontage and of course has traffic. I wear Earplane earplugs in any motel/hotel I visit because each has some noise whether it be voices, ice machines or vehicular traffic. I found that wearing them here provided a peaceful night's sleep. Every appliance worked well. I will make my next reservations in Crescent City at EconoLodge.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

Would definitely recommend this place to any traveler. We've been on the road for 3 weeks and by far this was the cleanest place I encountered in my travels. The wireless was great. The staff was friendly. The Laundromat had an easy chair to relax in and a large folding table. There is a grocery store and drug store across the road.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TangSooPap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2006

I agree with the other reviews here. Front desk friendly and helpful, large rooms, big TVs with HBO, and coffee-makers. Also, they have free wireless internet (which isn't advertised). We were charged $49 for a room on a Sunday night, which is very good value compared to the high prices charged by other "budget" motels in this part of California.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatzic, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2005

We stayed a couple of nights while exploring the redwoods. This place is well run by friendly and attentive staff. It is an older, darker type of decor, but we weren't planning to move in for life! We were happy with the value offered as well.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dollardaveHatzic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2004

My room was really clean and front desk people were friendly and helpeful

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Crescent City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Crescent City

Property: Econo Lodge - Crescent City
Address: 725 US Highway 101 N, Crescent City, CA 95531-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Crescent City 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge - Crescent City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crescent City
Econolodge Crescent City
Crescent City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing