We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a stopover on our trip through the redwoods. The place was completely full when we arrived, but we had a prepaid Hotwire reservation (so we avoided the safe fee). We had a room in the front motel-style building. We had a first-floor room, and you could hear the other guests quite clearly. From TVs to random thuds to AC and plumbing noise, the room was annoyingly loud. There were a lot of bumps and watermarks and imperfections on the ceiling and walls, but everything was clean.

The TV was a new flat-panel, but it only got 35 channels. None were HD, and they didn't have NBC. Normally, we wouldn't care, but we wanted to watch the Olympics, so it was disappointing. We used their laundry facilities, and they were pretty mediocre. The washing machines were small and they left the clothes completely soaked (virtually no spin cycle). Even though we wrung out several pairs of jeans before drying them, they came out of the dryer still dripping wet. As there was a line, we had to take them back to the room before bringing them back and drying them again.

Service was fine, but not exceptional. The breakfast in the morning was slightly better than average. Yes, most items are premade, but what BW or Fairfield or Hampton or HIE has completely fresh items? The pancakes were good and the potatoes were nice. However, the pastries were below par. The premade cinnamon buns were cut in half, and the other muffins and bagels were pretty bad. I couldn't find any danishes. We paid about $125 (total) through Hotwire, and I know this is the peak of the tourism season. Even though the rooms normally go for $175 through the BW website, I thought that we still paid too much for the quality of the stay that we had.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Johann8431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    342
    202
    82
    71
See reviews for
389
361
49
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

There were two people checking guests in when we arrived. I was next in line for JM to check in, but he immediately answered the phone. After the phone issue was resolved, he processed some paperwork, then got another call. At no time did he acknowledge my presence or even apologize for the wait. After someone who came in after me got registered by the other staff member, she asked if I was being helped. I said "No, he seems to be taking all the calls." JM said he just took customers' requests as they came in...no apology about the wait. In every further contact with this person, I got a sarcastic answer. Truly, nothing sets the tone like that first impression, and in this case, it wasn't good.
The room was adequate, but no glasses for water were provided. There is a coffee maker in the room, but the informational folder explains that whatever coffee you got in the room is all you get for free. They suggest if you want another cup, you go to the restaurant next door and buy some. Really? I've never been in a BW hotel before that didn't have coffee available all day. In fact, I don't remember the last time I was in ANY major chain hotel that didn't provide tea and coffee all day.
We stayed 2 nights and got 1 free breakfast card when we arrived. I was told I had to return to the front desk to get the second day's breakfast card and was to tell them what I thought of their breakfast. I didn't think much of it. Sure, there were hot and cold options, but the orange juice tasted artificial, the cinnamon rolls were mediocre and cut in half, and the only fresh thing I ate was the fruit...though that WAS wonderful.
I don't see where the Plus comes in. If I don't factor in the rude treatment by the front desk, all I can say is this hotel was average. And yes, I got stung by the safe fee, though truthfully, that happens quite a lot. It must be a regular BW thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raqsharqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Nice, big clean room. We had one of back room away from street noise. On lower floor so did hear noise of kids above but stopped after nine. We had kids so understand! Only complaint was cheap plastic toilet seat. Shame as rest of room very nice. Breakfast buffet included but just OK. We would stay here again...looked like one of nicer one in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I pre-planned a stop in Crescent City after a long day of traveling and loads of fun at Redwoods. In retrospect, it was a good all-around choice.
First, regarding prices, we found the property to be reasonably priced within the range of similar-quality motels across the West Coast.
Second, the location is very good. Close to the park is an advantage for those traveling through the Redwoods. Additionally, it is within a short distance to the local harbour and a short drive to many restaurants.
The breakfast buffet was served at a restaurant affiliated with the hotel just across the motel's parking lot . Notably, the price of the good breakfast served was included in the cost of the room.
Finally, our room was a good size for a couple and was very clean. We also found the staff to be cooperative and friendly.
In short, we found the property to be fine for a one-night stay (as ours) and should be sufficient for longer stays in the area. We would stay there again if necessary and have no problems recommending it to others.
Tami/Aviv

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Pay attention when signing the paperwork at registration (where they ask for your license number, verify the rate, etc.) The 'fine print' just above where they ask you to sign contains a statement that, unless you object, you're 'on the hook' for a separate $1.10 per night charge for the room safe, whether you use it or not. Petty hustle and a small amount, I know, but sure left a bad taste in my mouth and glad I was still alert after a day of strenuous driving to notice and object.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 33107Sage66_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently while visiting the Redwoods. This is probably the nicest place to stay in Crescent City. We had a huge room called the Family Suite and it was perfect for our family of 6. The beds were very comfortable. The pull out couch mattress was not great but fine for 2 kids. The breakfast was not the best - we did that one morning and then hit McDonald's on our way out of town the next day. We did eat at the Apple Pedler Inn and it was very good. We also did Pizza from The Pizza King which was expensive but good. The aquarium in town was neat- a nice break from driving and it only took an hour to go through. On our way out my husband left his wedding ring in the room- it must have fallen onto the floor from the nightstand. The hotel called us right away and we stopped back to get it. It was nice to know they have a trust worthy and courteous staff! Would stay here again if we were back in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glide, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very clean, well maintained motel. Staff courteous and helpful. Average size rooms with large screen TV, microwave, fridge.

Has a breakfast buffet included in price but it is just barely ok. Scrambled eggs were dry, sausages were .... ?

Would stay here again, mainly to get my BW points.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike19444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
432 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
0.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
302 reviews
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Address: 655 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Northwoods Inn, Crescent City's most popular home away from home! We assist with family vacations, our knowledgeable staff informed and intent on helping you make the best of your visit to our beautiful area. Come stay with us while you marvel at Del Norte County's majestic Redwood Forests; experience the thrill of real whale watching; and enjoy superb fishing in our pristine Klamath and Smith Rivers. The Redwood National Forest headquarters is just a hop and a skip away where informative Rangers can show you the best spots in Jedediah State Park, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Northwoods Hotel Crescent City
Best Western Northwoods Hotel
Best Western Crescent City
Crescent City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing