We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average but too expensive. ”
Review of Apple Peddler

Apple Peddler
Ranked #33 of 53 Restaurants in Crescent City
Price range: $5 - $15
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very average but too expensive. ”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Served promptly on weekday evening. Seemed like a locals place. Sandwich was tasty but soup was awful. Told the waitress and she said, Sorry." Nothing special. Don't have high expectations and you'll be okay. Just average food in a small town. Perhaps the pricing reflects the distance from food sources?

Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    82
    101
    65
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We ate there twice it was so good”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is good food, not over done. We had everything from breakfast to supper and enjoyed it both times we were there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancesIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Apple Peddler”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was a rainy night and we didn’t want to travel far for dinner. The restaurant was a half block from our motel, so the location of the restaurant was why we chose the Apple Peddler.
The restaurant had a nice décor and seemed clean. We were seated immediately but it did seem to take some time before our order was taken. My wife ordered a cup of clam chowder and a side order of mashed potatoes and gravy. I ordered a cup of clam chowder and the “senior” fish and chips.
Our food was served very fast. We both enjoyed the clam chowder. My wife thought the mashed potatoes and gravy was quite good. My fish and chips was a larger order than I expected. It consisted of three large fillets and a lot of fries, plus a side of coleslaw. The fish was very good but the fries had too much salt. The coleslaw was just the way I like it... nice and sweet.
If I am back in Crescent city again I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CVlasflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apple Peddler”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good pancakes, light and fluffy. Real cheese and bacon in the omelets. We liked it enough we came back for dinner another night, and found they had better clam chowder and cole slaw than the seafood place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roguelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not the Greatest”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Somewhat slow service. Husband's steak was terrible; my meatloaf was ok (pretty hard to mess up meatloaf!) Weak, weak coffee. Bread pudding was very good. They try, and it's a family-type restaurant, but we wouldn't go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mare4422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Peddler also viewed

 

Been to Apple Peddler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing