We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor Beach Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed September 10, 2007

This privately owned and family operated hotel was a wonderful place to stay. Though I didn't bring my pets, I was happy to see they allow pets for an additional $10. That is a bargain theses days!
Rooms were very spacious and clean, bathroom was extra large and also clean. All rooms have microwave, refrigerator, in room coffee, wifi, a lot of TV channels, and continental breakfast is included. They also have an indoor jacuzzi, which was very nice.
Just 20 feet away is beach access and you can hear the waves at night.
I am looking forward to going there again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sjcogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2007

Well located and reasonable. $70. per.

Real good restaurant next door. Wi-fi not working or not installed.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Happytraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

I was expecting more of a view of the beach. While our room did not overlook the adjacent trailer park, to see the ocean I had to kneel on the dinette chair and lean over to look out the bay window to see the breakers way off in the distance past the grass tufted dunes. No lulling to sleep amid the sound of breakers, but hearing pickup trucks grunt by as they left the jetty area on the road between the beach and the motel.

I guess it was clean enough, but the flickering light in the bathroom made me think of the Simpson's episode where they all had seizures in Japan from the flashing thing on TV.

Driving past the Crescent Beach Motel made me sad--wished I had known it was there...would have been worth checking out before making reservations 5 mo in advance at this place.

Continental Breakfast was danish, fruit and juice...not much different than any of the other 2 places on our trip that offered such fare.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OregonCoastFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

What cheapskates these people are. Besides charging a hefty price for a so-called Ocean View, our view was of a Maintenance receptacle and a huge trailer parl, we were provided with thin towels, one tiny bar of soap, 1 packet of in-room coffee. Continental breakfast was a laugh with very little food offered. Also, no sugar substitute was available for non-sugar users and nor decaf coffee. Skip this place if you can avoid it.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank jhmenlopark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

The only reasons to stay at the Anchor Beach Inn are that dogs are allowed and it is immediately adjacent to the beach. Otherwise, you could get better accomodations at any Motel Six for a lot less money. The "free breakfast" was a joke: a few store bought donuts and mini-muffins, coffee colored hot water and Sunny D. The towels were the thinnist I've ever seen, the beds were hard, and our non-smoking room smelled very smokey.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PasadenaTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

I called the hotel for a reservation and was quoted a rate of $116.00 a night. I was charged $168.00. When I questioned the rate charged they said there was a $50 surcharge for Saturday night. I talked to other guests and the hotel did the same thing to them. It seems it was common practice to surcharge $50 for weekends above the quoted rate. You are lucky if you can see the The beach "view" from the back of the hotel over the trailer park directly behind the hotel. The expanded continental breakfast was Frosted Flakes and an apple. There are much nicer places to stay in Crecent City look around before reserving here.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank devotedsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank RayAsturias_Espa_a_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABI_Team, Manager at Anchor Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.3 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
217 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Address: 880 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $77 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing