We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach is stretching it........” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Beach Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beach is stretching it........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

The choices are few in Crescent City-we picked this motel because it was rated OK and had a cheap rate--get what you pay for. I was offered a beach view for $15 more-which I took-see the photo :-). Well we now have something to talk about in our trip down the coast. The desk clerk gave us some recommendations on food and sights in the area both were invaluable and accurate. The included breakfast was average for motels offering it. The bathroom was spotless and room was tastefully decorated. The added costs for the "view" was a rip off.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugar Grove Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    109
    77
    21
    26
See reviews for
80
129
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Just don't bother until they upgrade this place. Trully, the room smelled like a locker room. The TV was so dim you could not see it. The view? ... It's a junk filled yard.

The front desk was polite.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Infoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crescent City hotels

Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

I was surprised by how clean the room was. It had nice carpeting, nice furniture, and what looked like a recently re-done bathroom. (It's not 5 star quality, but it is very nice.)
We had a great view of the ocean and could see and hear the waves if we opened our window.
It's conveniently right off the highway, near a few good places to eat and the bathroom had a really good shower head. The beds are not the most comfortable things in the world, but the view was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

On a recent trip to Redwood National Park (magnificent!), I stayed at the Anchor Beach Inn. The management was pleasant at check in and check out; the room was very clean; the ocean view was fabulous--enjoy the ocean right from your bay window or walk just a few steps to it; and I was satisfied with the value for the price. I will stay here again, and do recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Gulch, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

My husband made reservations for us at this place because we have a small dog, after reading the reviews I was leary! I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! It was a clean, decent size room for the price. The breakfast wasgood and fresh too it included it all! Juice coffee waffles fruit, cereal, bagels danish and doughnuts too! Overall it is a very decent motel and I am very picky when it comes to motels.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellesamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We had reservations months in advance. ( We travel to area up to 3 times per year.)Called and asked if pet friendly..."Yes, we are".... (Didn't mention it was room exclusive.) Arrived only to find the special room we booked was NOT pet friendly! We ended up having to get two separate rooms, one being a "handi-capped" stinky/smelly room with a view of the trailer park, out window on lower level. (Build a fence, plant some flowers or something!) The other room , upstairs with ocean view, but next to noisy highway. Supposed to be non-smoking, but obviously had been a smoking room! The decor was nice overall, but the carpet was gross! Had nasty stains on it throughout room. Went to make coffee, only to find the pot was full of old coffee, had not even been cleaned! What else hadn't been cleaned, we wondered? The fridge was noisy, sounded like a perculating coffee maker all night. The bathroom toilet was NOT cleaned, and there was brown stuff on walls and door. I had to personally clean and wipe down everything in motel room, including bathroom! Isn't that what maids are supposed to do and get paid for? Every day, I had to go to the office and get a print out passcode for wireless internet usage. And had to go to the office and have our room key reprogrammed? everyday after 11 am!
It ended up costing us $100.00 more, yet one less nights stay! I'm so pissed! Can't believe they wouldn't give us some kind of better deal being it was their mistake not telling us when I called about only having specific rooms where pets are allowed. No apologies for anything either! Unbelievable!
We will not recommend this place nor will they ever get our business again. No thanks!Continental breakfast? Bran muffins, Coffee, Bananas , waffle maker and cold cereal.
Unbeleivably overpriced! Was more like a Motel Six....AAA needs to check rating...
Noticed, traveling through the town, there were many other nice new Motels with cheaper/comparable rates we could have chosen, and we will shop around next time!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenok9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Large room, very clean, fridge, microwave, friendly staff, continental breakfast a plus. Ask for a room upstairs, that's where you get the ocean view and you can keep the windows open at night, no worries, be aware, you will hear the ocean waves at night and the seals barking. Did not bother us. There is a trailer park behind the hotel, no big deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
1.3 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#12 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Crescent City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
20.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Property: Anchor Beach Inn
Address: 880 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing