We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly. Poorly maintained. $141 for a bad Motel 6 like room.”
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Beach Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Just don't bother until they upgrade this place. Trully, the room smelled like a locker room. The TV was so dim you could not see it. The view? ... It's a junk filled yard.

The front desk was polite.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 316 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

I was surprised by how clean the room was. It had nice carpeting, nice furniture, and what looked like a recently re-done bathroom. (It's not 5 star quality, but it is very nice.)
We had a great view of the ocean and could see and hear the waves if we opened our window.
It's conveniently right off the highway, near a few good places to eat and the bathroom had a really good shower head. The beds are not the most comfortable things in the world, but the view was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestCoastWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

On a recent trip to Redwood National Park (magnificent!), I stayed at the Anchor Beach Inn. The management was pleasant at check in and check out; the room was very clean; the ocean view was fabulous--enjoy the ocean right from your bay window or walk just a few steps to it; and I was satisfied with the value for the price. I will stay here again, and do recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

My husband made reservations for us at this place because we have a small dog, after reading the reviews I was leary! I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! It was a clean, decent size room for the price. The breakfast wasgood and fresh too it included it all! Juice coffee waffles fruit, cereal, bagels danish and doughnuts too! Overall it is a very decent motel and I am very picky when it comes to motels.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellesamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We had reservations months in advance. ( We travel to area up to 3 times per year.)Called and asked if pet friendly..."Yes, we are".... (Didn't mention it was room exclusive.) Arrived only to find the special room we booked was NOT pet friendly! We ended up having to get two separate rooms, one being a "handi-capped" stinky/smelly room with a view of the trailer park, out window on lower level. (Build a fence, plant some flowers or something!) The other room , upstairs with ocean view, but next to noisy highway. Supposed to be non-smoking, but obviously had been a smoking room! The decor was nice overall, but the carpet was gross! Had nasty stains on it throughout room. Went to make coffee, only to find the pot was full of old coffee, had not even been cleaned! What else hadn't been cleaned, we wondered? The fridge was noisy, sounded like a perculating coffee maker all night. The bathroom toilet was NOT cleaned, and there was brown stuff on walls and door. I had to personally clean and wipe down everything in motel room, including bathroom! Isn't that what maids are supposed to do and get paid for? Every day, I had to go to the office and get a print out passcode for wireless internet usage. And had to go to the office and have our room key reprogrammed? everyday after 11 am!
It ended up costing us $100.00 more, yet one less nights stay! I'm so pissed! Can't believe they wouldn't give us some kind of better deal being it was their mistake not telling us when I called about only having specific rooms where pets are allowed. No apologies for anything either! Unbelievable!
We will not recommend this place nor will they ever get our business again. No thanks!Continental breakfast? Bran muffins, Coffee, Bananas , waffle maker and cold cereal.
Unbeleivably overpriced! Was more like a Motel Six....AAA needs to check rating...
Noticed, traveling through the town, there were many other nice new Motels with cheaper/comparable rates we could have chosen, and we will shop around next time!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenok9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Large room, very clean, fridge, microwave, friendly staff, continental breakfast a plus. Ask for a room upstairs, that's where you get the ocean view and you can keep the windows open at night, no worries, be aware, you will hear the ocean waves at night and the seals barking. Did not bother us. There is a trailer park behind the hotel, no big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

This hotel is NOT worth the money. They state that every room has ocean views, but we could only see the ocean from one corner of our room. Other rooms face a trailer park, which they also don't mention on their website. Room was clean, continental breakfast a plus, but find a different hotel to stay in Crescent City.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.3 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Address: 880 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $67 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing