We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevators and shows its age”
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Beach Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“No elevators and shows its age”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Check in wasnt super friendly and having to carry bags up stairs a disadvantage. Lots of dogs staying here but no problem. Rooms were showing their age. Old tube TV let it down. Jacuzzi looked dirty. Place needs a renovation IMO

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    116
    79
    22
    30
See reviews for
90
138
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excellent customer service and very accommodating. Clean, clean, clean and comfortable! Stayed here 5 nights mid June on a last minute business trip. Needed to spend an additional night, motel was packed but we were accommodated!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALSD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at the Anchor Beach in late-May 2013, and I think it is the best/most reasonable option for the area. If you have to stay in Crescent City (which is a bit of a wasteland), then this is the place I would recommend. Other places are more expensive, and don't really offer much more if you are only looking to stay a night.

Yes, it is fairly basic, but I think better than other basic motels. It had a fridge, microwave and good wi-fi access. I had asked for a 1st floor room with view of the ocean, and they accommodated me - it was a large room (south-west facing I think). I found it very quite, which was surprising given that the highway is right next to the hotel, and if I went up to the window, you could see roaring trucks go by.

Travelling as a single female, I felt safe. There is no lift, just stairs to drag your luggage up, but that didn't bother me.

The room was clean, though a faint odour of Indian permeated the room. It was a bit odd having the sink in the room, rather than the bathroom.

The bed was not comfortable, but I dont think you can expect better for what the hotel is.

I didn't partake of the breakfast - fortunately I was self catering (hence wanting a fridge), as what was on offer did not look good, and didn't seem to offer healthy options. The supermarkets in the area are good for picking up what you need.

Room Tip: Ask if they can provide you with a 1st Floor room with a view of the ocean when booking - you may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank to513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

My son an I brought our dog (big one) to this motel..for a week!
an excellent choice...beach right outside our door..so convenient for us an our dog. The perfect place. Rooms clean. .management great...no problems whatsoever. We will definitely be returning to this motel at every chance we get to return to Crescent City CA....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is an adequate motel, way overpriced for what you get. It is your typical polyester bedspread motel. The lamp switches didn't work, and we had to plug and unplug them to turn them on and off. The heating/cooling system made so much noise we shut it off so we could sleep. Breakfast offered waffles but no syrup, toast but no jam. Worst of all, I had reserved an accessible room online which had a photo of a room with two queen beds (the write-up didn't mention the bed configuration). When I checked in I was given a room with one queen bed which was not acceptable. When I showed the woman at check-in the photo of the room I had reserved she adamantly refused to give it to me without my paying more even though several such rooms were available. Finally after creating quite a scene a man came out from the back and gave me the room I had reserved at the same price. There is no reason to ever go back to this motel. I did have a nice walk on the nearby beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side look out at a parking lot full of rundown campers and boats, many of which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crescent City hotels

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you're coming now as in June 14ish, they are painting the exterior, so "water view" = painter's plastic over your window. Ask ahead. But that's not for all rooms.
PROS: Close to highway, very clean!, seems to be never-used-before shower/bathtub insert, fridge, tv (old), luggage rack.
CONS: No elevator to 2nd floor (lug bags up stairs), bathroom sink is literally in the room by the door, '80s bedspreads (Noooo! - pulled them off the beds immediately), exposed boxsprings with no bedskirt, looking a bit "used", and what appears to be very old, worn and potentially dirty carpet. Bad early '80s style border decoration by the ceiling defies what appears to be a new paint job overall in the room.

It's clean, and decent I suppose. Not too bad.

Room Tip: If you have luggage/heavy bags, don't get a room on the second floor - no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdpcdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We reached the Anchor Beach Inn after a very long day of sightseeing driving from Sacramento through Redwood NP. Pleasant and helpful receptionist gave our party two adjoining rooms on the ground floor. Our wheelchair accessible room worked well enough for our needs -- nothing exceptionally brilliant but no problems either. And yes, the bay window looked straight out into the RV park! Quite decent buffet breakfast in the lobby, including waffle-maker and hard-boiled eggs that were replenished during our meal.

Best feature in our view was Anchor Beach's proximity to the Harbor View Grotto Restaurant, reached by walking along the side of Redwood Highway and turning into an unpromising looking parking lot for a redwood sculpture shop. Its lighthouse cupola shows you where to find good hearty seafood; the loooong ramp for wheelchair access is around the side. Great views towards the bay from most tables, plus a cozy bar in the back, complete with fireplace.

Room Tip: The upper floor has a sporting chance of seeing the water -- ground floor rooms on the long building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.3 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Property: Anchor Beach Inn
Address: 880 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing