We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even bother”

Harbor View Grotto Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #37 of 53 Restaurants in Crescent City
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't even bother”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to eat and were told that it would be 10-15 minutes for us to get a table. We were first on the list. Hmmmm there were at that point 8 empty tables. We just let it go and waited and waited, and watched some of the "locals" come in and get moved ahead of us. I asked if they ahd reservations and the hostess snapped "no just wait your turn". We then were told we could have a table in a few more minutes but we would have to eat fast because they just got a reservation for 20 people and they needed to rearrange the tables to fit them in. We left. Snotty people working there. No smiles, no how are you, just snotty.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Fitntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    61
    43
    29
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok Restaurant”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The service is usually good here. The food is good, but a little over priced. The atmosphere is nice.

Helpful?
Thank Cindi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to leave”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stopped in here recently and asked for a table for one: Host said that there was a large party in the dining room and that it would be about a 15 minute wait--said I would go upstairs to the bar and wait. Sat down there, ordered a beer, watch several flies buzz around the bar area. Drank the beer and got the heck out of there--looked like the place was dirty to me--yuk.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The best clam chowder. My family and I have had! We travel a lot and if ever back in the area we will be stopping here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cas924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applegate, OR
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“When the cat's away...”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Freinds and family have been going here for years. This recent experience was not the first time the restaurant came under question for future patronage. That day, at lunchtime, the only staff on duty were young hostess / wait employees with no managers / owners in sight. Our party all ordered the "full-sized" respective menu items, were served the "half-sized" menu items, and we were all charged the "full-sized" menu item prices. The waitress could not re-run the order ticket, so the only way to get out of Dodge was to pay the inflated bill. We left there certainly not having a full meal, yet our wallet(s) were much lighter than they should have been. Oh yes, likely the waitress pocketed the difference (hmmmmmmmm).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor View Grotto Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Harbor View Grotto Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing