We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The softest towels”
Review of Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a suite which included a jacuzzi spa tub, electric fireplace, couch, HDTV, microwave, and mini fridge. The room was quite long so there was space to spread out our belongings and what nots. The bed was firm yet comfortable. The wife commented they have the softest towels she has experienced in a hotel. An American breakfast is included which makes starting out the day a pleasure. They are located on the main drag as you enter town which makes finding them easy. Ask for a room with a view of the harbor, it is worth having.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank acoachcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 792 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here one night with the family. Had a 3 queen bed room that was large and worked well for our family. Breakfast had decent variety. Clean hotel and beds were fairly comfortable. The only thing we wish it had was a pool, but for $126.00 incl taxes, we were quite pleased. Would definitely stay there again. It is only 15 minutes from Redwood visitor center.

If going to Redwoods (Jedediah Smith Redwood State Park), make sure you swim at Myrtle Beach which is on the Hansen River just below the bridge to the Stout Grove turnoff. It was a blast. It is about a 40 feet deep pool with a 25 foot cliff to jump off on the opposite side. It was very refreshing after hiking around in Stout Grove (amazing). Just don't let your kids get close to the river outlet - a bit rapid and one of the kids in our group had to be plucked out which was quite scary, but the pool itself has no flow. We were there the first week of August - may be different earlier in the year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Lighthouse Inn on a family vacation. We were very happy with the size of the rooms. The beds weren't the most comfortable ever but I did hear they are planning on replacing them. They weren't too bad though and don't let that stop you from choosing this hotel. The guest laundry was clean and very reasonable, only 75 cents a load! It was clean and quiet with a good breakfast. All round a good choice.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank 4PATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Freddy checked us in and was business like and courteous. He was not super personable but he knew how to work the phones and check in process versus the older woman who could not check me in so I had to wait for Freddy. The lobby is filled with too many knick nacks and themes. It would be best to throw half of it out, especially the giant Blues Brother manaquin-statue sitting in the foyer...? RANDOM! Kinda reminds me of a grandma house- can't bear to throw anything out. The room was super big and had a huge counter and single sink outside of the bathroom. The giant florescent light that lined the counter reminded me of a giant bug zapper. The bathroom was nice, clean (except for a smudge on the wall that annoyed me) and seemed recently remodeled. The floor was a little sticky like another reviewer had stated but did not bother me so bad. The linens were old and did not fit the bed properly. The sheets were so lumpy that I questioned if the beds were made. I contemplated calling down for more pillows because they were so flat. New comforters and some new pillows would do a world of good, the extra table and chairs by the window were nice- just dark and dated. My family sat on the leather couch to watch the box tv, but I could not bring myself to sit there- The room served our purpose of being out and seeing the Redwoods. The morning breakfast was nice and plentiful. I did appreciate the 24 hour tea and coffee being available. The Good Harvest restaurant within walking distance was tasty ( seemed pricey ) and Perlita's Mexican was good too...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family of six stayed in a very convenient and spacious two room suite. Beds were good, room was affordable, lobby lighthouse decor was amusing to family, and breakfast was well done. We used the guest laundry, which was convenient and in good order. Highly recommended as an affordable and pleasant place to stay for a visit to Redwood National and State Parks.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We’ve stayed here before and were very happy. That was in the off-season. On that trip we got a better room, better service and a better breakfast.

Our room had a view of the back parking lot, a tub that wouldn’t let water out and a sink that wouldn’t keep the water in. Until we figured out the source and unplugged it, the refrigerator made airport noises, like planes landing and taking off in the distance.

When the plumbing doesn’t work, you begin to notice little things. The brusque and disinterested desk clerk. An overcrowded and poorly stocked breakfast area. Strange and unsettling art. The chimes that go off whenever anyone enters or leaves the hotel become irritating.

The hotel was clean, and we had a big room. I don’t think The Lighthouse is managed well, but it’s certainly not a terrible place. The location is excellent, and if you can get a ocean-view room, go for it. Otherwise, try the Best Western next door. We’ve never stayed there, but will check it out next time.

Room Tip: get and ocean view room or go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Overall the hotel is nothing special or even that good. The room was kind of smelly. Our drywall by the window was coming down (room 101). It made the view of the harbor less than appealing. The front desk person was friendly and so was the nice older lady serving the breakfast in the morning. The beds were hard and the sheets were thin. The floral bedspreads have seen their better days. There was mold in the bathroom. We usually are not too picky, but it was worse than the ratings suggested. I can't believe their is not a better place to stay in the area. We were not around long enough to find out. It was one of the few times TripAdvisor let us down on the ratings.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the top floor to see more of the ocean. The first floor was loud from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teamhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Address: 681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $91 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lighthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Crescent City
Lighthouse Motel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing