We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Oceanfront Lodge(Crescent City)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Crescent City(Crescent City)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Inn(Crescent City)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Beach Inn(Crescent City)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penny Saver Inn(Crescent City)
$113
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Front Street Inn(Crescent City)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crescent Beach Motel(Crescent City)(Great Value!)
$93
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
260
194
69
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
194
69
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfog hornfront deskmodel shipscontinental breakfastyogurtroom was cleangreat place to staystay there againfirst floortwo queensking beddonutshotel staffhard boiled eggsrooms are bigcold cerealtop floor
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 542 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good location easy access to the Red Woods. Room was large and CLEAN, not real fancy, but nice. Nice comfy leather type sofa. Large lobby and breakfast area, breakfast consisted of breads and cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bananas.

When we made the reservation by phone, was told the room had a ocean view. It really is a partial view of the bay from a distance.

The one big problem is they only had one luggage cart, which was in use for some time, so we had to make several trips to the room with our luggage! The same thing happen when we got ready to check out, several people were waiting to use it, so we had to make several trips back and forth to the car with our luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was my pick based on tripadvisor reviews. I can tell you that it was the most perfect choice. The place is clean, warm and friendly staff (especially Chris), and a delightful breakfast. It is conveniently located within equal distance of the state parks in the National Redwood Park. We loved it and will make it our destination hotel when in this area. KUDOS Chris for the great hospitality, not only to us, but to the woman who wanted accommodations for her daughter's family while visiting the sick grandfather.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a wonderful bay view. You won't be able to leave the window open because of the night noises from the working fisheries on the water :-)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvsTravel273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Driving up the California coast it was time to stop for the night - so Crescent City was the place. Nothing pre planned, just a drive around to see the lie of the land. Crescent City has a number of motels of similar merit, so the Ocean View Inn stood out as one of the newer ones (according to the desk clerk it is the newest in Crescent City). Conveniently located alongside Highway 101 as you drive through Crescent City. Nothing fancy but very reasonable price for the night, internet, and a little place to eat across the highway. Ticked the boxes for the night - no issues. Some breakfast buffet in the morning and we drove on

Room Tip: a room NOT overlooking the highway may be less noisy but this was not a mjor issue
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hard not to like a new property. Large room w/2 queens and even a recliner - makes watching TV so much easier! You can open your window and hear the seals barking. They had me when I saw flavored creamers @ comp. breakfast! Chris goes out of his way to help you. He said, "This is my house - it matters to me to make it right." Can't get much better than that! Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Had room on third floor facing water - very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The good news: This is a newer hotel located on 101 and easy to find and has a very spacious lobby. Everything appeared to be very clean when we were there. The rooms are larger than most hotel rooms in this price range. The bathroom is average with a shower and toilet. The sink and counter are actually located in the "bedroom" part of the room which is a bit unusual. They have a laundry/vending machine area on the first floor across from the elevators. The breakfast area is two rooms spacious and the continental breakfast included breads, donuts, yogurt, cold cereal and toaster waffles. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24 hrs a day.

The Redwoods are within a 5 minute drive altho apparently there is nowhere to stop and walk thru them until you get at least about 45 minutes south (depending on traffic and roadwork).

The bad news: I called and spoke to the staff person at length regarding the view from this hotel and asked specifically if it was located close to the ocean as I wanted to be able to hear/smell the ocean. I was told "oh yes, we are located right on the water". Well, to put it bluntly, she lied. The Bay is located roughly 400 feet behind the hotel and the view from the room (on the 3rd floor) we were originally put in was awful with small windows overlooking a grassy area in back, with power lines, a parking lot to the right, an industrial area to the left and the bay in the distance. We immediately returned to the lobby to complain and Chris was nice enough to move us to a room more to the south (on the 3rd floor) which at least had a balcony altho the view was mostly the same. At least Chris tried to accomodate us seeing how upset/disappointed I was. I am including pictures of the view from the balcony of hotel room. If this hotel had truly been "right on the water" as I was told, It would have gotten 4 stars. I am rating the service, value,and rooms as 2 stars because I was lied to, other than that, it was 4 stars

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaca0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews