We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bay view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
salem or
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“bay view”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The good news: This is a newer hotel located on 101 and easy to find and has a very spacious lobby. Everything appeared to be very clean when we were there. The rooms are larger than most hotel rooms in this price range. The bathroom is average with a shower and toilet. The sink and counter are actually located in the "bedroom" part of the room which is a bit unusual. They have a laundry/vending machine area on the first floor across from the elevators. The breakfast area is two rooms spacious and the continental breakfast included breads, donuts, yogurt, cold cereal and toaster waffles. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24 hrs a day.

The Redwoods are within a 5 minute drive altho apparently there is nowhere to stop and walk thru them until you get at least about 45 minutes south (depending on traffic and roadwork).

The bad news: I called and spoke to the staff person at length regarding the view from this hotel and asked specifically if it was located close to the ocean as I wanted to be able to hear/smell the ocean. I was told "oh yes, we are located right on the water". Well, to put it bluntly, she lied. The Bay is located roughly 400 feet behind the hotel and the view from the room (on the 3rd floor) we were originally put in was awful with small windows overlooking a grassy area in back, with power lines, a parking lot to the right, an industrial area to the left and the bay in the distance. We immediately returned to the lobby to complain and Chris was nice enough to move us to a room more to the south (on the 3rd floor) which at least had a balcony altho the view was mostly the same. At least Chris tried to accomodate us seeing how upset/disappointed I was. I am including pictures of the view from the balcony of hotel room. If this hotel had truly been "right on the water" as I was told, It would have gotten 4 stars. I am rating the service, value,and rooms as 2 stars because I was lied to, other than that, it was 4 stars

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaca0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    144
    54
    7
    4
See reviews for
118
172
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a great place to stay when visiting Redwood country. This hotel is convenient to everything you would want to do, has beautiful ocean views, large rooms that are spotlessly clean, a nice complimentary breakfast, reasonable rates, and truly great customer service (thank you, Chris, for all of your excellent advice and help). We will strongly recommend the Ocean View Inn to anyone traveling to this location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njblanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Newer property, clean, large rooms, good beds, good breakfast, friendly attentive staff. Our room was big, had a sofa and chair and a king bed with room to spare. Quiet area. Crescent City is well located near the best of the Redwoods and this hotel is probably one of the best. City is nothing special but there is a great beach walk very close with lots of wildlife. Far better than Eureka/arcata with not near as many homeless/crazies wandering around. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Rear of building, upper floor will get you a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24601JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week's trip down the Orgeon Coast to the Redwoods National Park in Crescent City, CA. We started in Cannon Beach, north OR. Of all the motels we stayed at, Ocean View was the best! Everything felt new and bright, clean, cheery -- and we learned it is new. The lobby is large, open, airy, and beautifully decorated with many large ship models. The rooms great. All I recall now is feeling the blanket felt new, clean, like home. The staff very friendly and helpful, and we got a chance to meet the lovely owner. The breakfast area was my favorite, white chairs, large space, excellent. The location is a walk to the most beautiful lighthouse, Battery Point, that you can view when low tides, so you must check that timing before heading there. We visited 5 lighthouses down the coast and this may have been our favorite because of the unique way to get there and the gorgeous views. The motel is also just a few minutes to a short cut to enter the Redwoods, the part that is called Jedemiah State Park. So the location super.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here mid Aug 2013. arrived late, very tired and hungry! the very helpful and Awsome front desk man,( I called him L.A" native") assured me I had stopped at the right place. and he was right. the rooms are very spacious.& clean, looks and smells new.even had enough outlets to plug in all of our electronics. And right down the street was great little pizza joint, The continental breakfast was fantastic. the décor of the hotel is unique, I fell in love with the brass Divers helmet that sits alone behind the front desk.
thank you for a wonderful nights stay on our first road trip
special thanks to the hansom L.A "native"

from Wa."native"

Room Tip: ask for room with a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrip13101_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here about 2 weeks ago on a trip up the northern coast of CA. Rooms were very large and adequately furnished as well as very clean. The desk clerk made a special effort to contact us after we left a cell phone in our room. We were able to pick it up on our return down the coast. Will always be grateful to her (wish I could remember her name! Staff was very helpful in answering any questions about restaurants, etc. Crescent City is a beautiful city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean View Inn & Suites for 1 night in August and had a very nice stay. The hotel was easy to find and is conveniently located for nearby cafes, shops and restaurants. We chose the hotel for its proximity to the beach and lighthouse and we weren't let down. The whole hotel feels modern and almost brand new. Check in was efficient, although not overly friendly. We had a lovely, large ocean view room with all mod cons; tv, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. The bathroom was modern and clean. We used the guest laundry which was great. The hotel serves complimentary tea and coffee in the reception area day and night. Breakfast was excellent; a generous selection of breads, cereals, pastries, tea, coffee, juices, yoghurts and fruits. The only downside to our stay was the lighting in the bathroom which seemed to lose power for some reason. When we mentioned it to the receptionist we were told it was a known fault and it turned out to be an easy fix. Overall a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view when you book. Or if booking online, call the hotel afterwards an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
20.4 mi away
Best Western Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Property: Ocean View Inn & Suites
Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing