We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel for Crescent City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Save
You added Ocean View Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“nice hotel for Crescent City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a room on the third floor (two queens) with ocean view. Rooms are large and nice. Breakfast is much better than average and staff is really helpful. People like Christine make guests feel welcome. First night we had some noise coming from the rooms beside us, but the second and third night it was very quiet. The hotel is new, so everything is clean and working. Great location to visit the Redwoods NP. No noise coming from the street, large of parking place. Beds are comfortable,window in room can be opened for fresh air, nice bathroom, no complains here.
Crescent City is not really a beautiful small town, but we had a great time visiting nature around
Maybe the best hotel in town, would stay here again if the rate is good. Ask staff for nice restaurants.

Room Tip: rooms on the back (topfloor) have ocean view from a distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    121
    48
    5
    3
See reviews for
97
135
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We planned to stay in Crescent City after our drive from Crater Lake and had made a reservation for an ocean view room with a balcony on the second floor. The beach and ocean view, such as it was, were very disappointing, as was Crescent City in general. My advice would be to find a hotel further down the coast at a more beautiful location. However, if Crescent City it will be, this hotel looked to be the best one there. It was very clean, spacious, and the staff was helpful. The morning breakfast was better than expected.

Room Tip: We had a prime room with a balcony on the second floor. We could see the ocean across a field, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sometimes staying in Cescent City in the summer is more expensive than it should be, but this hotel gave me a good rate for the road, highway side, but increased that substantially for the ocean view. Well that was a mistake, you can only just see the ocean from the second floor. Anyway I'll stay again and be happy with the highway side. Its clean, new and the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a reduced rate on the highway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyguest1144
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Before checking in we called this place and the front desk put us on stand by for over 15 minutes.. We decided to stop by and realized that they were super busy.. So putting that aside the service was great and so it was the food in the morning.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the first floor.. Room are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyguest1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Honestly, I wish I stayed in Brookings, OR, which is a nice little quaint town only 20 miles away from the run-down, rather sketchy Crescent City.
But... the hotel is very nice: huge rooms with micro/fridge/coffee maker. Very clean rooms. As other stated, no real ocean view, just a bit of it (from first floor, anyway). I feel that $125 for 2 queens is a bit too pricy, but I did not want to stay in some dump of a hotel in this town, since I was traveling with a 3 year old.
Overall, nice property.
The area around it is far from being very inviting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

It's a brand new hotel. Therefor very clean. Service is very nice. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate is available 24h. Washers and dryers, vending machine, ice machine. Free breakfast, parking and wifi. Fridge, microwave and flat screen tv in room. Our room (2 queen) had a good size.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3dolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I think this is the newest motel in Crescent City so it is very clean and nice. The lobby is fantastic and the rooms very well-appointed (e.g. a recliner chair and beautiful glass tables) and large. It's also convenient for Ocean World, as it is just steps away. In that sense, it is easily a "very good" motel.

But there were a few odd things. As others have said, despite the motel's name, the view isn't the best as there is a very large stretch of land between the motel and the ocean (take a look at my pictures for a view from the top floor). Also surprising was the fact that our windows had no screens on them. So if you wanted some sea breeze, anything else could have came through as well. Very odd.

Also strange, was when we were checking out and asked for a more detailed receipt we were told they weren't computerized so that wasn't possible. All that and what looks like a quickly-poured cement foundation (bubbles and what appears to be two layers), makes me think this went up relatively fast.

One final annoyance was the fact that while the motel rooms are thankfully smoke-free, that apparently doesn't apply to the employee supply room on the third floor. When we exited our room we were greeted with the unmistakable stench of smoke emanating from that room. And it wasn't Marlboro either, more like wafts of Humboldt County reefer. A person could have gotten a contact high from that hallway.

Since it is relatively new, perhaps they will eventually become computerized, add window screens and have their employees wait until they are home before lighting up a joint. But they still won't have the greatest of ocean views, if that is a priority.

Room Tip: Better views from the third floor, but probably not enough to warrant paying more if saving money is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoyoteIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#11 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#12 of 19 in Crescent City
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Property: Ocean View Inn & Suites
Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing