We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rough around the edges”
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“rough around the edges”
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We spent two nights here. The view is to die for, but otherwise, this hotel did not seem up to Hampton standards.
We are gold points HiltonHHonors members. When I mentioned that at check in the desk clerk said the upgrade was a water and snack in the room. When I told them it wasn't there, they sent it up, but I felt like I had to beg for a few cheesy crackers.
The balcony from the room needed a good cleaning.
The second day the maid service made the beds but did absolutely nothing in the bathroom--totally nothing. No cleaning, new towels or anything.
The breakfast met minimal Hampton standards, but otherwise, was not overly generous.
The computer in the business center died the first morning we were there. Their (very nice) guy repaired it, but than it broke again.
This was fun for us because we came to see the Redwoods and the ocean, but I wouldn't really recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank almostelderlycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    111
    102
    55
    75
See reviews for
126
187
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We paid $240/night for a very small room with a very small balcony that was marginally clean. Crescent City has nothing going for it other than as a stopping point through the Redwoods. This is clearly why they can charge these rates for a very average hotel. The city itself appears quite depressing. Stopover if you must, but come in late and leave early.

  • Liked — looks out over the water
  • Disliked — overpriced and average
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank detroitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, IL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Crescent City for one night on a trip up the Pacific Coast. It was in the perfect location for a stop between the Redwoods and the Oregon coast. The hotel is located at the end of a road that leads to a small rocky cove right on the ocean. There is a wonderful view from the lobby of the ocean and the lighthouse.

Check in was easy and the room was nice. There was a view of the ocean from every room, a small balcony, refrigerator, and internet access. The room was clean and standard size.

In the morning we had a nice continental breakfast which offered some hot dishes as well. We checked out some tide pools on the shore before we left and noticed a few sea lions sitting on a rock just off the coast. If you had to leave quickly in the morning, they offer a bagged breakfast of a cereal bar, bottle of water, and a piece of fruit.

  • Liked — Location, view
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KJUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I've stayed in hotels around the world as well as numerous in the U.S. and this was priced way above the amenities. It was a $80-$100 night stay, not worth the $259 charged. With that high of a price, I expected a proper breakfast, a coffee pot that worked, a mini bar with glasses, etc. and the list goes on. It was bare bones and didn't deserve the price. I chose this hotel because I wanted a special night on my drive down 101 with my husband. The pictures that were displayed on the site fooled me into thinking there was substance and in actuality it was just a shell. I'll definitely not refer this hotel for that price. There were many others to choose from in this area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crescent City hotels

tacoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I am so glad to have found this place from the reviews on trip advisor.I would not have stayed in any other place after actually having been there! This hotel is situated right on the beach! We brought chairs from home so we sat out in front of the hotel and marveled at the scenerey. The breakfast was adequate and the rooms were awesome. This is THEEEE only place to stay in crescent city.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lakebrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We had a large room with 2 queens and a fold out sofa that accomodated our family of mom, dad and 4 teenage daughters. We had a small balcony that overlooked the ocean. The beach was rocky and covered with driftwood, which made it great for fort building. It was also a good tidepool area. The staff was extremely helpful, looking up hours of museums and low tides, giving us restaurant suggestions and happily making change for their very convenient guest laundry room (with 2 washers and 2 dryers). The indoor pool was very attractively encased in a mostly glass room and the jacuzi was nice and warm, especially after tidepooling. They also have a sauna and a shower in the pool area.

  • Liked — Large family room and tidepools
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeSuisAllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2007

My husband, son and I stayed at this hotel from 7/5 through 7/9 and enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing I was disappointed with was the complmentary breakfast. The breads, cereal, muffins etc were fine but the hot food that was served was disgusting. Breakfast @ the Good Harvest Cafe was much, much better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Complimentary Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FloridaFlatlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 100 A St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3621 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing