We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop Dead Gorgeous”
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed October 14, 2006

Brand new hotel with all the bells and whistles including frig/microwave. Open your windows at night and sleep to the sounds of ocean waves. Pay extra for the room with the view. Rocky coastal area like no other. Great lounge/breakfast area looking out to the ocean. The town of Crescent City is small and uneventful. Stay on the coast and enjoy the beaches, views and walks, maybe even rent a bike. This is what they do best.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SFtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Oceanfront Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 464 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2006

We stayed at The Hampton Inn for two nights and were very impressed by the front desk and the hotel itself. I called the hotel directly for info and made the reservation by phone. The reservation placed us in a smoking room. When we arrived I informed them of the error and it was quickly fixed. We were put in a beautiful room with a balcony that had a remarkable view to the Pacific and a balcony to enjoy it on. I know I was upgraded to this room because of the error. The breakfast was great, and the hotel was extremely clean. I think it to be the best place to stay in Crescent City.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed three nights at the Hampton Inn, Crescent City. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. The rooms are all ocean view and ours had a window plus a balcony overlooking the ocean and the lighthouse. with a screen door so we could leave it open at night to hear the surf. Crescent City is a great place to use as a base to see the Redwoods parks without changing hotels. There are also some very good restaurants there.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank annier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We just spent 2 nights at the Hampton Inn in Crescent City. It is absolutely the best hotel. I wouldn't bother with any other place, simply because Hampton is right on the beach, almost a stones throw to the water. As we drove around Crescent City, it appeared that all the other hotels are "in town" right off the highway. Hampton Inn was new, clean, comfortable and all the rooms face the beach. The 2nd & 3rd floor rooms all have balconies. We plan to be back again and again. Can't say enough nice things about it.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WannabeTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We are Hilton Diamond members. The only flaw I could find with this property was - despite being very lightly booked, they were NOT forthcoming with an upgrade to a suite.

However, that said, the room was lovely, with a balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and we were able to hear the waves at night. We also saw Sea Lions resting on the rocks just a few feet from our room.

The breakfast was bland, but who's complaining for the price? (Free). The staff was excellent, they all smiled and were quite helpful. The internet terminal was accessible and helpful.

Our room was cleaned promptly each day we were there, and towels were plentiful. The workout area was small, but as we were the only ones in there, it was sufficient. The indoor pool looked inviting, although we didn't partake.

For a romantic getaway, Crescent City was just the ticket, and the Hampton is definitely the only place in town to stay. (However, if we return, we would likely fly to Arcata and drive, rather than directly to Crescent City ... the airport is small, and there are only three flights a day, so if one is delayed [as ours was] there are no options).

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2006

We spent one night at the Hampton Inn and Suites. The young woman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The room was immaculately clean and the beds were very comfortable. There were the usual shampoo/conditioner amenities, but also an offer that if you happened to forget something such as a razor, shaving cream, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc., they would be happy to provide it free of charge. Although I didn't need any of these things, I thought it was a very nice gesture. They only had plastic cups in the rooms. I would have liked to have had real glass.

Breakfast was just O.K. Although there is "hot food", it is not anything that's cooked there. They use frozen scrambled egg circles that are heated up, along with similar sausage patties. Not big deal for me. They had toast and muffins and instant oatmeal. I would have very much liked to have a fruit salad that was not canned, but most of all, I would have liked to drink my coffee from a real coffee cup. For some reason, all they provide is styrofoam cups.

Crescent City is not an exciting or beautiful town, but if you are staying overnight there, this is probably the best place to go. It is right on the ocean and in most cases you can watch the sunset over the ocean from your balcony. You can also walk on the beach, though not very far - and it is rocky with a lot of driftwood. From our balcony, we could see seals basking on the rocks.

Here's an oddity: at the hotel entrance there is a sign that states that consumption of alcoholic beverages is prohibited anywhere on the premises, yet they sell wine in the little shop adjacent to the front desk. Go figure.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Portlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank robontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 100 A St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3621 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $96 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing