We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, hotel run by sleazy slum lords! DON'T STAY HERE!!!”
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, hotel run by sleazy slum lords! DON'T STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The best and the worst hotels get reviewed by me, unfortunately this is one of the latter.
I typically don't stay at privately owned hotels but this time I decided that the location was too good to pass up and went against my better judgement, I wish I hadn't.
My family and I booked at this hotel for the nights of July 3rd and 4th, we arrived at the hotel at 2:30 pm and were told our room was not ready; we went to the beach for 1 hour then returned, and were told it still wasn't ready, this time I waited while my wife took the kids to the park; at 4:30pm they gave me the keys (quite a while after their stated check in time) with no apology or recompense.
The room had 2 queens and a pullout with dated decor, peeling wall paper, and a balcony with a spectacular view. When I stepped onto the carpet it was wet, when asked the front desk girl said it was shampooed that morning, I asked for a different room and was flatly refused, the carpet in the room did not fully dry until the next day but the muggy feel and smell of wet carpet remained for our stay.
The beds were adequate and, other than sleeping, we did not spend much time in the room due to the smell of wet carpet. When it came time to check out, I went to the front desk to pay for the room with cash, I was informed by the clerk that my credit card had be charged for the full amount of our stay when I checked in. I told the young man, who turned out to be one of many relatives of the owner working at the hotel, that using my card as a guarantee is appropriate but charging my card without my consent is not appropriate or legal; he literally shrugged his shoulders and said nothing could be done about it now and turned his attention to the next unhappy patron.
The folks running this hotel will do the very minimum in service and everything they can to get your money before you know what you are getting into.
Don't get suckered into this place under this ownership; With any luck, the current ownership will run it further into the ground and Holiday Inn or Best Western will buy it and give appropriate service to such a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bouncingeyeball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    105
    96
    52
    67
See reviews for
116
177
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We checked in late and our 3-year old daughter wanted to drink milk. When we asked where we could buy milk, Andrew, the front desk clerk, went to the kitchen and bring back milk to us, which we appreciated.

Room Tip: The ocean view from the upper floor room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been traveling on both east and west coasts several times and have never seen such amazing ocean views like the one in front of Oceanfront Lodge.
The position of the guestroom facing the ocean is perfect. Breakfast at the oceanfront hotel was much better than what chain hotels had to offer for breakfast. Room clean and big but only $139.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gswiss88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights in June-July 2013.

Hotel Staff:
• Friendly…we checked in and were in our room in under 10 minutes
• Andrew…tall, handsome man very knowledgeable, friendly. Went above and beyond helping tourists out with questions about Jedediah State Park.
• Andrew…also recommended a local restaurant.
• Andrew…is an asset to your hotel. Keep him!!  He’s an asset to the Oceanfront Lodge
• Recommendation for even better service: Ensure there is a staff member at the desk at all times, even if it’s slow and minimal traffic in the lobby. I went down several times throughout my stay and no one was there. It just looks better to have someone there.

Hotel Room:
• It reminded me of a Holiday Inn on the ocean. It is the height of summer so I’m assuming rates may be higher and that is understandable. We had the two queen-sized beds room and it was not exceptional. I didn’t find the bed’s all that comfortable and the pillows were horrible. To be fair, I’ve a bad back, so few beds appease the vengeful Back God. 
• Room/Maid Service was really great. She was there every day with fresh towels, etc. We also learned that if anything personal is on the bed, they can’t move it, so if you want your beds made, keep your crap off of them. haha

Hotel Amenities:
• The continental/complimentary breakfast was above and beyond any ‘complimentary’ I’ve had before. They served waffles, cereal, sausage, boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee. I thought that was pretty exceptional. I believe they’re trying to put a restaurant in there, so that ‘freebie’ may go away.
• I couldn’t figure out how to work the sauna, but that could be user error.
• There was something off about the pool. It didn’t seem super clean to me and I couldn’t really smell chlorine. I don’t know if it had been updated recently. Plus there was a few times I got into a mess of hair. That was kind of gross, so I just got out. I am not a pool-cleaning expert; this was just my experience.

Room Tip: If you like to incorporate your hotel room with your vacation, i.e. spend part of the time in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here during our annual summer motorcycle ride. We had stopped a few years ago in Crescent City and made it an overnight stay this year. The hotel isn't fancy but has beautiful views and comfortable rooms. We didn't find a lot to do nearby although the park seemed like a nice spot for families. The continental breakfast wasn't so great and the coffee tasted like weak Farmers Brothers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Showed up late afternoon on a Wednesday with no reservations and we were greeted kindly. Got an oceanfront room with a balcony ($169) which i felt was a good price for the location and being a touristy town & the view was awesome. Room is nice, comfy, clean and roomy. Chairs are on the balcony. There is a lighthouse you can view from your room & visit during low tide. Small town, easy to get around in. There's area several restaurants, but the hotel referred us to Charts by the harbor. It was pretty good food, kind of bland, but hey I'm from Texas and expect some spice. Best part of harbor....the seals and sealions that are laying out on the floats. Hester had a good cont' breakfast and they're remodeling to add a lounge area w bar...looks like it will be nice. Free wifi!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiandBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We love the beautiful ocean view and comfy beds. Rate is affordable, $149 for a suite with free breakfast. The breakfast is tasteful. A nice new bar. The employees at the hotel are very friendly and professional. This hotel is the best hotel in terms of services and value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
20.6 mi away
Best Western Beachfront Inn
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 100 A St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3621 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing