We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront View...”
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oceanfront View...”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights in June-July 2013.

Hotel Staff:
• Friendly…we checked in and were in our room in under 10 minutes
• Andrew…tall, handsome man very knowledgeable, friendly. Went above and beyond helping tourists out with questions about Jedediah State Park.
• Andrew…also recommended a local restaurant.
• Andrew…is an asset to your hotel. Keep him!!  He’s an asset to the Oceanfront Lodge
• Recommendation for even better service: Ensure there is a staff member at the desk at all times, even if it’s slow and minimal traffic in the lobby. I went down several times throughout my stay and no one was there. It just looks better to have someone there.

Hotel Room:
• It reminded me of a Holiday Inn on the ocean. It is the height of summer so I’m assuming rates may be higher and that is understandable. We had the two queen-sized beds room and it was not exceptional. I didn’t find the bed’s all that comfortable and the pillows were horrible. To be fair, I’ve a bad back, so few beds appease the vengeful Back God. 
• Room/Maid Service was really great. She was there every day with fresh towels, etc. We also learned that if anything personal is on the bed, they can’t move it, so if you want your beds made, keep your crap off of them. haha

Hotel Amenities:
• The continental/complimentary breakfast was above and beyond any ‘complimentary’ I’ve had before. They served waffles, cereal, sausage, boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee. I thought that was pretty exceptional. I believe they’re trying to put a restaurant in there, so that ‘freebie’ may go away.
• I couldn’t figure out how to work the sauna, but that could be user error.
• There was something off about the pool. It didn’t seem super clean to me and I couldn’t really smell chlorine. I don’t know if it had been updated recently. Plus there was a few times I got into a mess of hair. That was kind of gross, so I just got out. I am not a pool-cleaning expert; this was just my experience.

Room Tip: If you like to incorporate your hotel room with your vacation, i.e. spend part of the time in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    107
    99
    53
    69
See reviews for
121
180
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here during our annual summer motorcycle ride. We had stopped a few years ago in Crescent City and made it an overnight stay this year. The hotel isn't fancy but has beautiful views and comfortable rooms. We didn't find a lot to do nearby although the park seemed like a nice spot for families. The continental breakfast wasn't so great and the coffee tasted like weak Farmers Brothers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Showed up late afternoon on a Wednesday with no reservations and we were greeted kindly. Got an oceanfront room with a balcony ($169) which i felt was a good price for the location and being a touristy town & the view was awesome. Room is nice, comfy, clean and roomy. Chairs are on the balcony. There is a lighthouse you can view from your room & visit during low tide. Small town, easy to get around in. There's area several restaurants, but the hotel referred us to Charts by the harbor. It was pretty good food, kind of bland, but hey I'm from Texas and expect some spice. Best part of harbor....the seals and sealions that are laying out on the floats. Hester had a good cont' breakfast and they're remodeling to add a lounge area w bar...looks like it will be nice. Free wifi!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiandBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We love the beautiful ocean view and comfy beds. Rate is affordable, $149 for a suite with free breakfast. The breakfast is tasteful. A nice new bar. The employees at the hotel are very friendly and professional. This hotel is the best hotel in terms of services and value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful hotels on the west coast. We love the spacious room on the ocean front. The hotel employees are very friendly and helpful. The room rate is affordable-$149 for a suite with free breakfast.

Room Tip: South side has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhchen9328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We are from New York City and over the years have stayed in many upscale ocean front hotels on the east coast. This summer we decided to take our children to tour the west coast from San Diego to Seattle. After visiting San Diego and San Francisco we stopped at Crescent City to visit the Redwoods Park. Hotels in Crescent City are mostly on the roadside and very rundown. We decided to visit the famous Battery Point Lighthouse before we continued our journey to the next town to find a nice hotel to stay in for the night. To our surprise, we found a very modern hotel at the end of Front St. which leads to the Lighthouse in Crescent City. We walked into the lobby of the hotel and found the ocean in front us. We noticed that the hotel had just built a new beautiful bar. The friendly front desk clerks were told us that the hotel would open a seaside restaurant very soon. They offered us $149 rate for our family of four including free breakfast. The room was very clean and comfy. The breakfast was much better than we had expected. We usually pay over $250 for a similar ocean front hotel on the east coast. We think that this hotel has been undervalued. The hotel is on the edge of the ocean and the view of giant rocks in the ocean with rolling crashing waves is unsurpassed.

Room Tip: Southern Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tingting D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Oceanfront Lodge was okay. The room was nice; everything was clean, etc. The balcony view was amazing. The Pacific was literally at our window. The balcony itself was creaky & rickety, so my husband refused to stand on it long. The hotel was pretty quiet, which was good. The bed was soft, and the shower was clean. Breakfasts were typical free continental style and also par for the course. We did find outside doors propped open or unlocked multiple times. With the access key readers, which worked, I wasn't sure why the building was left unsecured, especially with the high number of wandering/hiker/homeless people walking around town. The free wifi did not work, and there was never any ice in the machines. My husband had to go buy it for our hiking trips, which was a bit ridiculous. Functioning ice machines and wifi are expectations these days. There was a lot of construction going on, which never bothered us. I think once renovations are done, it'll be nice. Maybe they just have too much going on with renovations, causing the quality of normal ameninities to suffer. They should add screen doors to the balconies in the renovations. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean would have been nice, but leaving the door open let bugs in, so we couldn't do that at night. Overall, again, it was just okay. It could be so much better w/ the location and Hampton bones of the building. The staff also seemed very uninterested in us. Except for the construction man, I never saw an adult working anywhere; they all looked like they were in their teens or early 20s. They didn't really greet us ever, unless we directly addressed them, or know anything helpful about the area. For what we paid, I'd try other places before returning.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RevGetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
989 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 100 A St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3621 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing