We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON"T STAY HERE”
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DON"T STAY HERE”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

As a former local involved in planning a class reunion, we negotiated a rate of $99/nt for a standard room and had a block held for classmates coming in from out of town. We posted it on our website with a very nice description, including photos. It was a nice presentation and essentially free advertising. A month and a half later, we received a call telling us that the owner changed his mind and raised the rate to $169/nt/. You don't make a deal then change it.

Although over the years I have stayed here numerous time, I will never give this guy another penny! Furthermore, some of the other hotels in town are better.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the harbor where there is more action and things to do.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    107
    99
    52
    68
See reviews for
121
179
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My sister is getting married up in the area and we booked a block of rooms at the Ocean Front lodge for out of town guest. We got a call that the owner has decided to raise rates and not honor our initial reservation price. We were given the option of paying the higher new rate (that was about $60 more per night) or cancelling the reservation. Without hesitation I cancelled the block of rooms on hold. If a hotel owner/operator won't honor rates for reservations who knows what other shady practices are going on. Luckily another hotel (Ocean View Inn & Suites) happily accepted our block of rooms fro the wedding and even offered us a special group rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crescent City hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The view is really magnificent. Definitely go for a room with balcony. Room was good and spacious. Can’t complain on anything connected to that. 2 catches though: 1) it's quite far from any restaurant for a walk, so be prepared to drive to get your food 2) when we were there the main hall and restaurant/breakfast are were under re/construction - not a big deal, if you manage your expectations and the view is exactly what matters.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renatmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had an amazing room that was perfectly located right on the ocean. Room service did an excellent job.. just had a little trouble working out staying another night. Although everything got resolved efficiently, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSchaefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights, awesome views from room and from the breakfast area. Hotel is right on the beach with a view of working lighthouse. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Has laundry facilities if needed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

All I wanted was to stay on the ocean and be able to hear & see right from my room.... this was the place to stay. We loved our stay. Balcony off the room, overlooking the ocean and light house.
Room could use some updating, but it was ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creekside007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is older, somewhat dated. But the positives would make me come back- it's off the highway, so quiet; and the views are spectacular. They serve breakfast included in the price, but I didn't have it, so can't comment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabernt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
989 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 100 A St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3621 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing