We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came to see the Redwoods. Our stay at the oceanfront was an unexpected yet pleasant bonus”
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Came to see the Redwoods. Our stay at the oceanfront was an unexpected yet pleasant bonus”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had a great time here. We live in the Black Hills of South Dakota and everthing is so commercialized. It was nice staying in a place that had a hometown feel. Our room was clean and quiet, enjoyed the great views and stunning photo ops from all sides of this lodge. One of the nights we stayed their was a birthday party in the main lobby. I figured we would not sleep due to noise but I was wrong. I never heard a thing. Staff was very courteous and helpful in giving suggestions on things to see while in the area. My 80+ year old in-laws were with us and both enjoyed this place. Mother in laws only suggestion was they should have easier access to the shore for elderly and disabled. We did get her out on the waterfront for a cookout over an open wood fire that the manager said we could have.She did like the elevator as many other places we stayed on our 3700 mile road trip did not have them. I felt rested each day we were here and would definately stay again. The free breakfast was nice and I loved that most places we went were easy to find from the lodge and only a short distance. We ate at the grotto the front desk clerk told us about and the food was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    106
    99
    52
    68
See reviews for
120
179
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our room on the third floor had a great view....no veranda, but didn't need it. Heating/Cooling system was very efficient and quiet. Complimentary breakfast bar was good. Bedding has need for improvement....the fitted sheet kept coming up off the corners and the quilt-like bedspread was very lumpy. The carpet had dirty spots and the small refrigerator had a "squeal" so bad we had to unplug it and use an ice chest. The person we talked with on the front desk was very nice and said he would report the condition of the room to the manager. We would consider staying there again, but first, check the room out before we accept it.

Room Tip: Third floor has best views and a fast elevator to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunizonaCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I got a great first impression upon entering the building. It's very clean and new. The room was also nice and clean. The complimentary breakfast was actually very good and the eating area faces the ocean. Very romantic!! The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the General Manager Jonathan. Having access to a computer and printer was a plus. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Layla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This oceanfront hotel is lovely and the room was spacious and clean. The view of the ocean and ability to open and sit on the balcony was so pleasant. I think it is a great value in a remote place. The breakfast was also good and there is another large sitting room to relax and watch the ocean. I don't understand the poor reviews. I didn't need any special service but the clerk was just fine and helpful in giving me driving directions. For a small town, I thought this Inn was first rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Where to start? Here's a list of problems: staff are rude and complacent, they charge you or "put your money on hold" for any where between 50-100 over what you were told and don't give it back for 4 days, gave someone else our room keys and they walked in on us, rundown rooms, rundown town, no screen on any windows so you can't hear the ocean while you sleep because the windows don't even open, beach access is to rocks, town had no shopping, dirty beaches, and no restaurants... I know that's not about the hotel but I thought it worth mentioning.

Good things: free cookies at counter, free bag of popcorn, ocean view... Not worth it. Would have rather pitched a tent!

I know it's tempting to get a room with am ocean view and a jacuzzi for $170, but you'll find yourself regretting it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ltcommanderdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
The guest in this case was fully taken care of as soon as I knew of the problem. A training staff did accidently send another customer to his room, which was in turn corrected by sincere apologies and a significant discount on the room. He was abusive and rude towards my staff which we had to call authorities to have him removed. The hold was standard $50.00 incedental hold over the room amount which I personally called bank and had released even after his abusive behavior. Every Window on this property opens completley to the ocean. Our beach access is not sandy but full of tide pools where guest can expierence ocean life. In all if the gentleman would have asked my staff to contact me immediatley the problems would have been resolved instantly. He came use the amenities of the hotel and then complain to get it all at no charge. I do stress my apologies for any real issue that any guest has ever had here on our beautiful property, anyone who has and dealt with me knows we are all about customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crescent City hotels

Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

When we called to book the room we were told that we would have a ocean view balcony from our room for the price. when we checked in the room did not have a balcony. When talked with the front desk they said would charge more for room. The rooms were nice and clean. The lady working the front desk was very young and not as professional. There was thai place that was recommended to us and it was very good. the food was pricey but you did get alot for your money. The beach and light house were a spectatular view! we enjoyed our walks on the beach. The pool area was nice and so was the Breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redeffects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Ended up in Crescent City on a long trip back up the Pacific Coast and found the Oceanfront Lodge, what a great hotel, great service, great value, almost touching the ocean with great views and walkways around the hotel. The hot breakfast was great (not talking gourmet here, this is a free breakfast) compared to most hotels.
This would be our hotel of choice if ever visiting this area again.
We stayed in early June and negotiated a really good rate, but compared to most hotels on this route even at $150 a night this would be a good buy since it is twice as good as anything you might get for $100 a night.

Room Tip: 4th floor, which is the top floor has best views, but all rooms face ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
985 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 100 A St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3621 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing