We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would highly recommend staying at this KOA for a vacation to the Redwoods”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KOA Campground Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This KOA is located about 3 miles north of Crescent City. It is so pretty!!! Some of the RV sites are in the middle with most of the cabins surrounding that area. The middle section gets any sun while the cabins are under the redwoods where it is shady but it is so neat and pretty and our kids loved hiking around in the ferns & trees right next to the sites.

We stayed in one of the two-room camping cabins at this KOA campground. Our 2 kids slept in the bund beds and my husband and I slept in the queen - the mattresses were comfortable. We flew in, so we packed sheets, a couple of blankets, and pillows and that worked out really well (we would have brought sleeping bags if we drove). Each room had a little electric heater that were effective so it was comfortable. Our cabin (K6) wasn't far from the showers/rest rooms which were always clean. The cabin had a nice, covered deck with seating. The fire pits also had a picnic table and a couple of long benches which worked great. Our kids enjoyed renting the banana bikes and those were a good way for them to meet the other kids staying at the campground.

The campground has a number of tours printed out that they recommend with a bit of info about each and directions which were extremely helpful. Jedediah Smith State Park is literally 10 - 15 minutes away and was by far our favorite area. The scenary is absolutely breath-taking - we hiked the Boy Scout and Stout Grove trails. We popped up to Brookings, OR to the Harris State Park and lunch which was fun. We also drove down to the Prairie Creek Redwoods to check out Fern Canyon which was amazing. Also, Crescent City is right by the ocean and the beaches are about 10 minutes from the campsite - we had just as much fun walking on the beaches as we did in the Redwoods.

Pizza Hut delivers to the campground - we ordered pizza on our last night after most of our groceries were gone and the kids wanted to stay at the campground around the fire rather than eat in town. It sounds a bit wierd to order pizza while camping, but it worked really well! :)

Just a heads-up that the flights in and out of Crescent City are not reliable, so we won't be flying the next time and will rent a car and drive Hwy 101 from San Francisco (which we had to do because our flight into Crescent City was cancelled).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bears06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am now a koa believer! Stayed in a kabin with one queen and bunk beds. The cabins have mattresses, desk, bench, nightstand, heater, electricity, covered deck and swing. The site is small, private, tucked into the trees and ferns. Enjoyed the pancake breakfast for $3.50 and ice cream social for $1.50. Rented the banana bikes at $5.00 per half hour. Showers were clean and no extra cost. Hosts were so nice and helpful. Our first day there it poured rain so I was so glad to have the kabin to hide in. Quiet campground.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILOVEMX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This KOA is in a lush and verdant setting. Plenty of soft grass to pitch the tents! It is extremely well organized and clean. The staff were very helpful. We really enjoyed the Sunday pancake breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great place to visit. Very friendly. I will return

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in a cabin. We don't normally camp, so the kids were quite taken back, when they saw the cabin! However we had the most wonderful time. It was very quiet. We enjoyed BBQ-ing and making smores. Plenty of walks in the area. Would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin. We requested a quiet location, away from the toilet block. Very big plot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orange-Boven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed in one of the two room kamping kabins. It was fantastic! Cozy, clean and nicely secluded. The facilities were very clean and the staff were friendly. I am so glad we chose this place for our Redwood trip. I don't regret a thing! Oh, and you can't beat the price!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWguy219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

we stayed in the kamping kabins. The location was gorgeous-we were surrounded by giant redwoods. It was very secluded & the kabins were nicely spaced. The bathrooms were up to date & spotless. They have a great rec room, 3 wheel bike rentals, and even some goats and chickens to entertain the kids. Overall a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
5.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
789 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
5.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
221 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
5.5 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Campground Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Campground Crescent City

Address: Hwy 101 N, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Koa Campground Crescent City Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing