We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to the ocean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room was on the small side, but the bed was firm, and there was a table with comfortable chairs. The sound of the ocean waves was quite audible and soothing. Unfortunately, so was the child crying next door. After that group departed, the new guests talked for hours on the covered walkway that faces the water. After 8:30 pm, we asked them to lower the volume and they did.

What I really liked was:
1. The front office staff (the woman who checked me in was very excited about showing me how to use the coffee maker in the room. But do not go to The Chart House for dinner. It was awful.)
2. The hot water, coffee and decaf thermos available all day and evening right next to the ice machine.
3. The breakfast of fresh fruit (so nice to see apples that are not "red delicious") and instant oatmeal. Since my husband does not breakfast, this solved a problem for me.

They have a very strict no pet policy, which troubled me enough that I was afraid to pull some of my clothes out of my suitcase. Pet hair follows me everywhere, even on vacation, and I did not carry a lint roller!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashabebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi Natashabebe!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at the motel. We hope that you and your husband can return someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 416 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

2005 was the first year we stayed at this lovely motor inn! We have, since, been back many times. The view is superb. The sound of the ocean and fog horn in the distance are music to the ears. We truly love staying here as it's like stepping back in time-to a slower pace. I hope this place never loses its charm! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hi FDweller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! You have a wonderful way with words. We appreciate you for coming time after time for the past few years. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stay here for two nights in mid-August. The Motel is a bit South of Crescent City, but is right on the highway. It is an older motel ala' the 50s or 60s. However, it does have some character. The place has a big back deck that runs the length of the Motel. Its a little strange at firs to see people walking right by your back patio door, but you get used to it pretty quickly. I really think if you want a view and you want to be in Crescent City, you want to be south of town as it is kind of an industrial place.

However we took a couple of drives to see the big Coast Red Woods and it was well worth the trip! The places were beautiful.

WiFi in rooms 8-9 was a bit spotty. however, stepping out on to the deck, reception was fine, and really with this kind of view, better to sit outside anyway! You walk quite aways on the beach either North or South. No restaurants within walking distance, but its just a short drive into to town. We really liked the place and would go back.

There was Oatmeal, fruit, coffee, hot chocolate for breakfast. That's it.

Room Tip: Although I rated Pool and Restaurant avg, this place has neither. I would like to just rate them as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hi Dan,
It was nice meeting and talking to you when you visited. Thank you for the review. We hope that you can return someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I thought this motel had a nice beach motel from the '50-60's ambiance. The way car travel used to be. The small rooms have old character and open right on to the beach and ocean. A sun bleached wooden deck runs along all the rooms with chairs. Hear the waves, smell the ocean air. He rooms were clean and comfy bed. We liked the place and the price was fair. I think it is the only lodging actually on the beach/ocean. It fills up in summer and fall.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bluecanoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hi Dan!
Thank you for visiting and for the review. Crescent Beach Motel does fill up every single day in the summer, so it is best to book early. We will save a place on the deck for you. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were very disappointed once we saw our room. Very out dated inside with poor lighting, down right depressing. No microwave or refrigerator in your room. No real breakfast available. Over priced for the services provided. Beautiful location. Wouldn't stay there again, bad choice!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaragiuffreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi Barbara,
We are a little surprised at the review since you came back to stay with us a second night and during the 45 minute plus conversation with Kade at the front desk, none of your concerns were expressed. I understand that he helped you find the local attractions and places to eat that made your stay a little better. We have a microwave available from 6:30 in the morning until 9:45pm in the coffee room next to the lobby. In room refrigerators are available. If you look at Trip Advisor, you will find no mention of breakfast. We provide hot oatmeal and fresh fruit daily to provide that little extra and help you get your day started. During the time you stayed, we were sold out and had a waiting list of people wanting to stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a road trip for our anniversary. One of those let's see where we end up kind of things. what a lucky find it was for us coming across to your hotel. The room was a little outdated but very very clean, And you couldn't find nicer staff anywhere. you truly made our anniversary trip a memorable one and we will most definitely!! be back thank you very much. C & K

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babycakessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi C&K!
We are so glad that both of you enjoyed your anniversary! You guys are such a great couple. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We did not have reservations but when we stopped in they had two rooms available but they were smoking rooms. The manager walked us down to see both of them. Since one of the rooms had windows on both the beach side an the opposite side, there was a great breeze going right through the room, so the smoke smell was not even evident. There was a back porch with adirondak chairs, so you could just sit and watch the ocean. The location was spectacular with a long beach to walk on. The rooms were dated, but they were clean and adequate. The location made up for any shortcoming in the room. We were very lucky to have stopped when we did because while I was checking in, the No Vacancy sign was lit. Would definitely stay here again. The management was super friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie49St_Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi Julie!

We are so glad that you got a room right before all the rooms were taken! The middle section where you stayed will be updated and upgraded this November when things slow down for the off season. We hope that you can return and enjoy the improvements. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
1.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S., Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
#3 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $67 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing