We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a find!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! What a find!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found this motel on Trip Advisor, and booked it after talking with the very friendly hotel clerk. We went to Crescent City for a base from which to see the Redwoods, and stayed here because it is the only motel/inn on the water. It's an older place, but the minute you open your door you have an unobstructed view of the grasses and ocean outside the sliding glass doors. It's the kind of place that draws travellers and explorers who are looking for something other than the usual predictable name brand hotel. We'd like an excuse to return to this spot and recommend it highly. Was one of the highlights of our 2 weeks on the coast.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view if that matters to you. There are several rooms that do not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi FourSkies!
We are so happy to see such a nice review! Thank you! If you are still having problems finding an excuse to return, please ask, and we will give you a few suggestions. ;-) Until then, be sure to keep warm up there in Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    168
    49
    23
    19
See reviews for
116
190
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I didn't stay here because there wasn't a vacancy but after a less than satisfactory experience at a motel down the street I would highly recommend this place. I stopped the next day on my way out of town to get some info so that I could call ahead for a reservation the next time I came through town and the woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. She gave me a number of recommendations on what sights I should see while traveling down the California coast and went out of her way to give me maps and brochures despite the fact that she was busy with phone calls.
This is the only place in town that is right on the beach, and I will definitely call ahead for a reservation and stay here next time I am in town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mace648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi,

I will let Rocio know how much you appreciated her helpfulness. Thank you for bragging about the staff here at Crescent Beach Motel. The staff is top notch and I am very thankful to have them as team members!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunshan, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Traveled with a toddler and an infant. No problems other than the alternating temperature of the showers. This is an older motel that shows a bit of aging, The service was adequate, couldn't say anything negative about that. Crescent City is a fairly small town and you are quite near anything Crescent City has to offer.
The biggest advantage of this motel is the fact that it is right on the beach, the view from the sliding glass doors on the back side of the room are great. Another asset is that you are a short walk along the beach from probably the best seafood restaurant in town (Chart Rom).
You will enjoy this motel as long as you don't expect too much from actual room itself.
If I found myself traveling through Crescent City again, I would have no problem staying at the Crescent Beach Motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Jeff,
Being right on the beach is our most valuable asset, just like you mentioned. We are in the process of making the rest of the experience better as well. We hope to see you and the family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pulled over here for the night. It was in a beautiful location, about 50 feet from the beach. The motel itself left a little to be desired but it was a cozy stay for one night. The bed was not that great, shower could have been better, place could have been a little cleaner, place was a bit dated but quaint. No phone, no fridge, poor wi-fi. At the end of the day, you should be here for the beach anyway and not sitting around the room. Patio doors opening on to a deck overlooking the beach. It was suitable for a night and of course you had the sound of the surf to help lull you to sleep.

Room Tip: Room facing the beach naturally. The remainder face the highway but it is highway 1 so the road les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Lloyd,
Thank you for the review. We do have plans to make your experience better. I think you will be happy with the outcome. We are listening and responding. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

There are no 5 star hotels in this historic coastal village town. There is however plenty of romantic charm. This motel is RIGHT on the beach, maybe only one of two that we saw. The other was more upscale (and pricey), but this motel was just right for us. Clean, friendly, helpful, most of the considerations you crave while on vacation. Nothing but pleasant memories for us.

Room Tip: Single story. There are pictures of each room on the hotel website. I'm pretty sure all of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_and_Grace_inCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi Bill and Grace! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time out of your day to post a review. Thanks for letting everyone know that we have photos of each room on the website. I just noticed a week ago that some of the photos show rooms with those old style televisions. All of the rooms have the new flat panel HD televisions now. We currently have four rooms that do not have an ocean view. After some changes this November, there will only be two non-ocean view rooms. We hope that you can visit again soon, - Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The motel is on the beach. It had a nice deck on the back to sit and watch the surf. Sand burrs were a problem. I had never seen them before, but they warned us about them when we checked in and they were right. We had tons of them stuck in our shoes just from walking to the beach.
The motel is really no frills. That wasn't a problem, but the shower would alternate scalding and freezing you. There was no way to adjust it where it didn't happen. Maybe this was because we had the 2 rooms on the end, but it made showering a nightmare.
Would probably stay somewhere else on another trip to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As soon as I read the review, I called a plumber and we were able to replicate a water temperature fluctuation. It will be fixed as soon as possible. We want our guests to have a great experience. The grass burs are in the grassy areas and if people used the sandy path to the beach, it is not an issue. We are working on trying to eradicate those pesky burs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

this motel is a throwback to the 1950"s roadside motels common in that era. As such, the room is very small and doesnt sport a refrigerator, although it has been kept up well along with the grounds. if you are after pampered accomodations that serves a hearty breakfast as part of its fare, this place is not for you. Go to another city.

what you will find in this unassuming motel are incredible views and an unforgetable location immediately along a wide sandy beach located between the Redwood National Park and the City of Crescent City. You could walk for miles along this mostly deserted sandy beach from this motel. Be sure to get a room on the beach facing side and the sounds of the waves will lull you to sleep.

after watching the sun set over the ocean, we started a fire on the beach with wood purchased earlier at a store. With waves rolling in and the stars providing a show high above, our stay at this modest motel turned into an unforgetable California experience. Quite a gem and the rate wont break the bank!!

In addition to its incredible location on a wide sandy beach, this motel is very close to the north sections of the Redwood National and State Parks and therefore a very good base for exploring these incredible parks.

If ever in the area again I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: secure a room on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USACityPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the great review! As I read the latest reviews, there seems to be a consensus that refrigerators are no longer a luxury item… they are a necessity. We will be working on that and you can bet that your next visit will be even better as far as the accommodations goes. We hope that your travels bring you this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
1.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
416 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Property: Crescent Beach Motel
Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
#3 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing