We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location but needs a makeover!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice location but needs a makeover!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The location is nice ..on the beach...but the rooms need a bit of a makeover to get up to speed! VERY expensive for a small room and little to no breakfast! It was a place to lay our heads but we would not stay here again - they need to take some of the money they are making and invest it into the hotel rooms! Larger bars of soap and shampoo packets would be appreciated!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonn874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    168
    48
    23
    19
See reviews for
116
188
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
342 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Anyone can go to a chain hotel, but this motel will bring back pleasant memories of how road travel used to be. While an older property, its been very well maintained. No hair dryers here, only small soaps and those packets of shampoo. You'll find those strips on the toilet stating that it has been sanitized for your protection. No air conditioning either, as the breeze from the ocean is all you need. Bathroom was well designed as a small bathroom, good shower, good beds, nice size room. Just open your slider and your on the deck and beach. I had imagined drinking a glass of beer and watching the ocean from our deck, but it was cold! So do bring some sweats or something to keep warm with if your thinking in those terms. Great location for those visiting Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park. Follow W Washington Road and N Pebble Beach road to see Point St George where you'll see spectacular views and feel a strong wind! We'd be back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: You want the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanogan, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I'm sorry that I didn't. Therefore, was quite disappointed to find no blow dryer, no wifi, no frig, no privacy, no air conditioning. Yes, you get the view, but you share a deck with others who are on either side of you smoking! So much for the fresh ocean air! They can also walk right by your sliding glass door which looks out onto the ocean, soooooo, do you really want the curtains open? Definitely not worth $140!!! The walls are paper thin and could hear everything next door. Did not find this to be a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank onwardandupward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We encourage our guests to let the front desk know if there are any problems. We do not allow smoking on the porch and we would have intervened in the situation you described. We sincerely apologize.

The motel provides free wifi to all the rooms. We have found that most travelers have their own hair dryers, but we supply them at no charge during your stay if requested. The motel provides refrigerators for a small nightly fee if requested as well. There is heating in each room, but there is no air conditioning since the high temperatures are in the 60s during the hottest months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The ocean front rooms are $125.00. The non-ocean front rooms are $80.00. In my opinion, it is not worth $45.00 for ocean front. All you get is the ability to look through your window at the ocean. In any of the rooms, you can go and sit on a chair on the deck and watch the waves.

The room was not spotless, although average clean. Check in was ok, nothing special.

Room Tip: Choose a non-ocean view and save $45.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YMCA-Buns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is your place if you want to wander the beach in the morning and evening. I personally love doing this as my reflection time, so I found this place to be perfect. The bed was comfortable, the towels were nice, the place was clean. My husband and I would stay here again.

They have a little deck you can relax on outside your sliding glass door, and then it is just a short 30 step walk to the sandy beach. The sunsets were beautiful while we were there.

Recommend visiting the lighthouse in Crescent City as well. A cool little place to see.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anida r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Crescent City doesn't have any fancy hotels - this is your basic one-storey motel from the 60's. But it's clean, well-maintained, and RIGHT on the beach. And the front desk staff couldn't be more helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoingBacktoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHITEHORSE
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Look, if you're looking for something high end in Crescent Beach you are not going to find it. You don't come to Crescent Beach Motel for the rooms - you come for the beach, the morning walks at low tide picking up sand dollars and the evenings relaxing on the deck watching the pelicans dive for fish. The service is friendly and I suppose you can run into good neighbours or bad neighbours but on the couple of days that we were there the neighbours were great. to hear the sea gently rolling into the beach as you sit on the deck sipping wine as your kids relax and clean our the sand dollars - priceless really. Yes, maybe some of the other hotels in town have more comfortable beds and are of a higher general standard but there is no other place that allows you to sit and watch the world go by like Crescent Beach Motel. I gave it a 3 star because I couldn't give it 3.5. It's not worth a 4 but I'd come again for sure. The ease of access of Crescent City to State Parks and Recreation areas made this a fantastically relaxing stop on our trip up the 101.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for a walk on the beach at low tide - I have never seen so many large perfect sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fruitio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
1.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Property: Crescent Beach Motel
Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
#3 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing