We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ocean views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Great ocean views”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's the location that sets this pace apart. Right on the ocean with lovely views and a window that opens to let in the fresh sea breeze which was very welcome.

I stayed with my partner for one night in a standard room with a king-size bed which had a lesser view of the ocean than other pricier rooms.

Reception staff (Nathan) was very friendly and helpful, explained all our room options and recommended a restaurant nearby when we asked.

Room was pretty good, decent size with a good bed, big sofa, fridge, microwave etc. Free wi-fi is available and is a decent speed. Free breakfast also available but very average.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    168
    48
    23
    19
See reviews for
116
188
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with the family as part of a roadtrip along us-101. The hotel is ok; clean room and so-so beds but what set it apart for us was the location. Would recommend it to anyone visiting the redwoods.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I'll admit at first I was worried I had made a mistake by choosing to stay at the Crescent Beach Motel. Yes, the motel is dated and the rooms smelled a bit damp. However, this was a perfect example of making the most of the experience.

Our room had a sliding glass door out to a nice deck with really nice deck chairs looking out to the ocean. The motel was right on the beach - there's a short sandy path that goes to the beach.

We ended up meeting some great people around a bonfire one of them had on the beach. While our kids had a great time playing on the beach, we had some beers and enjoyed meeting the others who were staying at the motel and sharing stories of our vacations.

We had no idea our last night in the Redwoods would be so much fun and memorable. Even though we are used to staying at updated hotels, I would definitely stay here again because of the beach & ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bears06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level Contributor
252 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

well located hotel, with excellent views for a great price. I am a light sleeper and thought 101 would bother me but it did not. Yes, it is simple, no fridge, nor microwave, nor phone but it was clean, staff was pleasant and there is coffee available in the morning. I would recommend this hotel for those that like to keep costs down and don't require "luxury."

Room Tip: i bleieve all rooms have sliding glass doors to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phantom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Continuing our trip from Yahatas to Complete the Oregon Coast we stayed in Crescent City CA @ the Crescent Beach Motel.. it is right on the beach with a great view of Crescent City and the night we stayed there surfers were out in force.
As usual we had cocktails and hors d'oeuvre on the deck and watched the waves roll in and the sun set.
$126.00 got was two queen beds that were confortable in a clean room that overlooked the ocean.
Breakfast was not much..packages of cereal that you added hot water too and coffee so we passed and head off to the Chart Room Marina and Restaurant which overlooked the habor and served a so so breakfast. We had the crab and shrimp omelet that was written up in Coastal Living..you can skip this effort...

Room Tip: South West Side Ocean view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
548 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

There has to be a better motel or hotel in Crescent City. We would not stay here again. The rooms were small. the beds were uncomfortable. The rooms were smelly. The whole place is quite dated, and looks a bit beat-up. There's no frig, microwave, breakfast. We even had diificulty accessing the ice machine. The rooms were actually fairly loud also. It's located right on Hwy.#101. the manager told me about the great location they have, but the truth is they are located less than a mile from most of the hotels/motels in Crescent City. So if you want to access the beach or Redwoods National Park, you can do it easily from a hopefully better motel/hotel less than a mile away. Really, I don't get the appeal of this motel.

On the positive side, the rooms were fairly clean and the rates for rooms are fairly inexpensive.

Room Tip: Try a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photoguywisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Crescent Beach Motel was just perfect for us! The views are amazing, the rooms are simple and the staff is so nice. I strongly suggest getting a room with the sliding glass door out to the ocean. This was a great place to stay especially on a road trip as it is literally on the 101. Very very happy with Crescent Beach Motel

Room Tip: Beach Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
1.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Property: Crescent Beach Motel
Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
#3 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing