We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room with comfortable bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Crescent City
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The room was large and clean and the bed was comfortable. All of the appliances worked and came in handy as we stayed a week. The breakfast room had been remodeled recently. We did not eat the breakfast. The coffee was good. We traveled with two dogs. The price was not bad if you don’t mind paying for your dogs. They charged for both dogs. There was plenty of room for the dogs to run behind the motel. We were able to park right in front of the room every night but one. It was quiet and we slept well. The maid service was preformed as soon as we left the room everyday so that the room was ready when we returned even if we only went to breakfast. There were a couple of minor stains on the carpet but this was a pet room. The location was good and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 471 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2009

Food crumbs in between cover and blankets, coffee maker does not work, microwave has to be hit to work, no toilet paper, never saw the continental breakfast! Donuts delivered to office after ringing bell for five minutes trying to wake the staff. We never saw them or any coffee. Never have I seen such incredibly bad service for a price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deerhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We arrived late due to fog. First time staying at a supper 8 and my wife was concerned about the cleanliness of the room. after checking in we found the room to be very clean and the king sized bed was the best bed we had slept in, in a weeks worth of high end hotels in Sacramento area and the I-5 corridor. The hotel is located across from the harbor where there is an abundance of California Sea lions and Harbor seals to watch and photograph. With our AAA the room was only 49.99 . If we travel Hwy. 101 along the coast in the future we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawgdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Two Adults and one little dog arrived late at night just wanting a place to sleep until we could get to the county courthouse when they opened at 9am. Super 8 was the only choice. They charged us $99 for a room that was filthy. So creepy that we would only set our luggage down in the bathtub. Looked the room over and at least didn't find any signs of bedbugs. The blanket on our bed had crusty places..ewwwwww. Took the blanket from the other bed...but saw the same story. Crusty stuff in addition to burn holes (this was a non-smoking room). I went to the hotel office and asked for another blanket. Was told that the blankets were clean and what I was seeing was just because they were old. I insisted on a blanket from the laundry room and was taken there. The clerk opened the door and found one clean blanket on a shelf. It was the only blanket on the shelf. Tossed and turned all night. Left very early the next morning and hung out at a breakfast joint until the courthouse opened. So gross I will never stay at any Super 8 again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treegrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

One needs to factor in the cost of a motel for a review. This seems to be one of the cheaper motels to stay in at Crescent City. I stayed here a few nights. On the plus side: low price, small microwave and small refrigerator in the room. On the negative side: the rooms do show some age in places. The pillows under the new pillow covers appeared to be pretty old. Door, shower stall door, bathroom window also showed some age. Towels were pretty thin and lower priced towels, but functional. Room did have a nice new bathroom granite counter. I did not try the internet or the continental breakfast. The breakfast looked very limited, but I had planned on eating out anyway. Another negative was the motel's policy of swiping your credit card and charging you for your room for all the nights prior to giving you the key. Most motels wait and charge your card when you checkout. They seem also to stick to the 24 hour notice to cancel for your 2nd day of stay even if you arrive late the first day. One tip to anyone staying in Crescent City at any hotel: keep in mind the city has a fog horn in the bay. It blasts for 1 second, every 8 seconds, sometimes all through the night. I bought earplugs for the second night and was able to sleep. There is no AC in the room or a room fan that could otherwise drown out the fog horn going all night long. You can open the front window to let some cool air in, but you'll hear the foghorn even more. You can look at it like this: Do you want a nicer room for about $40 at another hotel in town or do you want a room will a little less shine and take the $40 savings and eat a nice restaurant in town. In the end, I would stay again at this hotel if staying in Crescent City, if I'm wanting to save money. I'm not sure the other hotels are worth the extra $30 or $40 a night. I will say the Super 8 in Fortuna, CA is nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This motel is old and they are renovating the front section however when we arrived the workers were jackhammering cement and the desk clerk told us they would only work until 7:00 p.m. or so! Only! The first 2 nonsmoking rooms were smokey but the 3rd was OK - I always carry room spray so that helped get rid of the chemical smell. The desk clerk was not helpful at all acting like I was a complainer because I would not stay in a smokey room. The place was very noisy even after the workers left.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chardBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We won't do that one again. Many other places to stay in Crescent City, pick another one. The place is wasting away, not much reinvestment. Rotting wood, shaby outside, and inside. Room was clean but terrible choice of decor and workmanship. Red carpeting. Smelled. Internet didn't work. Skipped breakfast; old donuts, frozen bagels, had to ask for forks and knives. Lobby locked up until 7:15 am and breakfast wasn't out until 7:30. Management acted "put out" at having to accomodate your needs.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank BuckingBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
0.8 mi away
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#13 of 19 in Crescent City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Crescent City

Address: 685 Redwood Highway, Hwy 101 at Citizens Dock Road, Crescent City, CA 95531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range: $58 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Crescent City 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Crescent City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Crescent City Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Super 8
Crescent City Super Eight
Super Eight Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing