We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Rate, decent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked 2 rooms, both were clean. One room did not have a fridge or microwave. No bathtubs, showers only. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was large Costco muffins, hard boiled eggs, cereals, breads for toasting, orange juice and coffee. This is not a Hilton. Don't get your hopes up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americas B, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Any compliments are sincerely appreciated. Any critisisms and/or problems you may have had, are taken into account and rest assured, we work each day to make your next stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 216 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

My work often requires me to stay out of town. After a seven hour drive the last thing i wanted was to get into a bed with dry blood on the blanket. Called the front desk for anothet one lady said i could come to the front desk to grab a new one. Of course the front desk would be across the parking lot from my room. Decided to just lay down without one 15 mins later a young man brings one to my room. 10 mins later my wife gets in the shower to find mold on baseboards and bottom of the shower doors. To top it all off when we lay down to wach some t.v the remote control does not work. So we had to change it manually. Mabey its the clear tape on the back not holding it togeather properly? Over all we are not satisfied with this hotel at all. I work as a area manager for a building maintenance company. I would not recommended or ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidwongng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americas B, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Any compliments are sincerely appreciated. Any critisisms and/or problems you may have had, are taken into account and rest assured, we work each day to make your next stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Definitely an older, in need of some repairs, motel. The walkways were a little iffy, but it keeps you dry. The stairs are definitely a little scarier - we had several suck in your breath moments, wondering if the person in front was going to fall. Just watch your step carefully going up and down. The room was really spacious, beds were comfortable. The bathroom in the 2 bed room we were in was around the corner, through a private dressing type area. That was a nice feature for everyone to be able to get ready to leave without waiting on the others to be done first. Heater works REALLY well. Takes off the beach chill almost immediately. We decided to try the breakfast. We walked in, then out. Not sure if it's because we were a little later going in, but there really was nothing more than coffee and toast. We hit a fast food place on the way out of town, lots to choose from, so not a big deal. The front desk people were extremely nice and accommodating. We used a coupon from the 101 book, and ran it with no problem at all. Overall, I would probably stay there again, especially if there were another coupon to use. Just gotta be careful on those stairs!

Room Tip: Second floor, corner, less noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyogirl425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americas B, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Any compliments are sincerely appreciated. Any critisisms and/or problems you may have had, are taken into account and rest assured, we work each day to make your next stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was close to 8pm when we checked in. They still took a coupon which got us a decent rate. We checked out the room for odors because of allergies. When we mentioned the loud group of people around that room we were told they were construction workers and would go to bed early. I can't believe we bought into that. Luckily the microwave did not work. After we convinced the check-in person that we really needed it, she moved us to another room. To her credit and before we unpacked again, she called us and offered yet another room away from the noisy area. This one worked out fine. We were able to open the window in the bathroom area and front window to create a cross draft to cool down the room, as it was very stuffy and there is no air conditioning. And there were no more smokers around us either! The hotel allows smoking just outside the rooms.
The queen size bed was fine, we used our own pillows. The carpet was in good condition. We finally had a regular table, there even was a desk. The TV was older, but worked. WI-Fi was o.k. The fridge and microwave worked well. The shower and bath area were clean and looked updated. We couldn't find a hair dryer, but found a dirty washcloth under the sink. We carry our own coffee, which was a good thing. Forget the breakfast, the choices were very few, the worst thing was that big tub of margarine.
Our third room finally worked out well, but why we were put into the first room to start with did not make sense. We would not stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americas B, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Any compliments are sincerely appreciated. Any critisisms and/or problems you may have had, are taken into account and rest assured, we work each day to make your next stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I read many of the reviews and even the management's responses before deciding to stay here. Stayed in #229 downstairs, across the parking lot from reception. The room and bathroom were clean. The shower (no tub) and some of the furnishings had been updated, but the updating was not a total renovation. Old window that collect a lot of moisture in the bathroom. Large window in main room was old but had a small section that opened; that small section was new. Old, rusty metal fixtures in the bathroom. Clean linens, but the towels were so rough, they felt like dry loofah sponges. TV and cable were nice.

Sadly, no mini fridge for the food from my cooler. Continental Breakfast seriously left a LOT to be desired - basically a sugar fest. Froot loops and generic cherrios, white and wheat bread for toast with margarine and grape jelly. Poppyseed and blueberry mini cakes. Hard boiled eggs were the only nod to protein. Thankfully, Starbucks w/ drive thru, was right next door.

One of my main motivations was that they allow pets. My puppy (under 20 lbs) was only a few dollars more. Make sure you ask about walk-in rates if you stop here last minute.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americas B, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Any compliments are sincerely appreciated. Any critisisms and/or problems you may have had, are taken into account and rest assured, we work each day to make your next stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We found our room on the 2nd floor to be clean and the bathroom newly decorated. The new micro/freezer/refrigerator was perfect for us.
We reserved this hotel because of its' price and accessibility to Redwood NP and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This motel has seen better days. Efforts have been made to maintain it but it needs a complete overhaul. The beds were clean and comfortable and the bathroom large but everything else was unappealing. There was a lot of road noise and the walls are thin. I loved the front desk staff who were courteous and friendly and professional but they can't make up for the decrepit feel of the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank candida6752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#13 of 19 in Crescent City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 440 US Highway 101 N, Crescent City, CA 95531-2327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range: $70 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in Crescent City. We offer free continental Breakfast as well as free high-speed internet. A computer for guest use is located in the lobby and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing