We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value all around in a wonderful city.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel in the past ten months, and I continue to find it a great value. One seems to get a better price on a room as a walk-in rather than reserving online, so I would not go through the America's Best Value Inn website to book the room. it was $15 cheaper off the street. That aside, I found the room as advertised with everything included: microwave, refrigerator, etc. The bed was good, and our room was quiet. They are upgrading the rooms, so we had a new sink and toilet, with work still needing to be done on the shower, which was still more than good enough. The motel also has a good breakfast, which is important to my wife, and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful both times we have been there. It goes without saying, then, that we'll stop by again next year when we visit the redwoods. (Some of the rooms had their doors open throughout the afternoon hours, suggesting a humidity problem, so you might want to check out the room you get before you settle. Room 251 is perfect all around.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesH064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after having to be out of our home for the night. It is difficult to spend much money in the same town you live in, so we looked for the least expensive hotel that we knew was not "seedy." The price was very good for this hotel, next to one of our favorite Mexican restaurants. We checked-in in the early evening, and the clerk, although not rude, was not overly enthusiastic about our presence. She took her time, in silence, checking us in.

We had a room on the ground floor, opposite the office. The room had a single queen bed, free wi-fi, cable TV with premium channels, coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave. It is an older hotel, and had a little bit of a musky feel when you entered the room, but not unusual for a coastal town with high humidity. The carpets were clean, the bedspread was fairly new. The counter where the sink was was worn and had a burn stain in it. The bathroom was very small, but had a tub/shower combination and toilet that worked fine. The linens were clean, but looked worn. There were plastic cups instead of glass on the counter, along with complimentary toiletries.

There was a window that opened to the Starbuck's parking lot behind the hotel, and with the window open, there was quite a bit of noise until well after dark. Then the highway traffic died down, and so did the noise level.

This room was what I usually look for, minimally, in a single overnight hotel stay...a clean, comfortable bed in a clean room that has the services this hotel offers. In addition to the amenities in the room, the hotel also offered a spa and sauna, located in a glassed, redwood facility, which we did not use, although it looked very inviting. I would stay here again if the price were right, which it usually seems to be.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the hotel seem to get less noise. Bring a bathing suit as the spa and sauna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank ladyfern31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Location:
The motel is located a little outside the city center. It is along Hwy 101 so very convenient if you are driving along the coast and are looking for accommodation easy to find. There were plenty of parking places.

Service:
The service was good and the staff nice and efficient.

Rooms:
All rooms had their main window facing towards the parking. There was a tiny window towards the back side in the bathroom. The room was clean and okay, but it had a "locked up smell" - like it had not been aired for a while. The size of the room was not as big as we have experienced on our road trip so fare.

The motel served basic complementary breakfast and the free wifi worked well.
The location close to Hwy 101 made our stay a little noisy. We woke up rather early because of some traffic.

Surrounding areas:
The motel was close to diffenrent restaurants and fast food chains. Right next to the motel there was a restaurant and also a Starbucks. Less than five minutes walk away you can find a Burger King. It is also walking distance to grocery store Safeway and other facilities for food.

The Pebble Beach (not a sandy beach, but where the Pacific hits he coast) is about 20- 25 min walk away and the same if the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

No nonsense, I needed a good nights sleep and i got it, for a great price. Clean room, pleasant service. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

In their website, they say that they provide mini fridge and microwave. But when we booked in, there is no fridge or microwave and when we inquired it Linda told us to leave the room ASAP. Then she phoned us and tell us that there is no space in the room to keep a fridge in the room which was a big fat lie because threr is a 4ft x 6ft space available near the small closet area. No Iron board or iron available in the room. I would not recommend anybody to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: No Recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This Inn is an older property, but well kept. Friendly, English speaking staff at the front desk accommodated my request for a quiet, upstairs room. The room was clean, but showed use. I am not sure when the carpet has seen a steam cleaner last. The bathroom was refurbished/updated and satisfactory, but thin towels. A fridge and microwave were supplied, but the TV had poor reception (snow on every channel). I was wondering what the squeaky floor boards were doing to the guests in the room below. The breakfast seemed very basic and I did not partake - hey - there is a Starbucks next door! Overall, a good value and positive experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It depends on the clerk for the friendliness. They did let our dogs stay, but they charged for them, and for the quality of the motel the pets should definately be free. There was a fridge but no microwave and absolutely the worst coffee I've ever tasted in the room. Breakfast, not worth the stay. Room, the most awful shower I've ever seen. Very outdated, paneling on the wall and it was a deal for sixty five a night! LOL Oh, and I just do not believe they were queen beds. I think they were full sized.

Room Tip: you can smoke in some of the rooms here,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
478 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#13 of 19 in Crescent City
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
1 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 440 US Highway 101 N, Crescent City, CA 95531-2327
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range: $53 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in Crescent City. We offer free continental Breakfast as well as free high-speed internet. A computer for guest use is located in the lobby and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing