We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The pictures don't do it justice”
other travelers have booked this property
Smores around the campfire always a favorite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smores around the campfire always a favorite
Gentle slope to the river bank with great views from all levels Great view from all angles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Smores around the campfire always a favorite
Gentle slope to the river bank with great views from all levels
Great view from all angles
View down river from the deck.
Regulation Horseshoe pits and ping pong for your entertainment
Spacious Living Roon/Dining with Queen Futon
Views from Livingroom/Dining
Livng Room View
Views from every room
Updated counters and backsplash in this fully equipt kitchen.
Breakfast Bar
Queen Bedroom
Designated 'Wild and Scenic River' the Smith offers unlimited recreation
Kayak from the park to home.
A ride down Howland Hill Road is a must to truely experience the 'Old Growth Redwood'
Crescent Beach from the Crescent Coastal Trail and Lookout
Sunset on the Coast
Whaleshead Beach north of Brookings great place for a picnic
Best Salmon and Steelhead fishing in the Country
The big one got away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Crescent City, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenlady...
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The pictures don't do it justice”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable home with spectacular views. The house is clean and very well stocked with games and other comforts. But the real joy is the setting. Highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trishee20...
Denver City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exceptional view from patio and living room windows”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled with friends from Texas touring west coast. We stayed at various VRBO homes. Home was clean and comfortable. View unbelievable. Only downside was not easy access to the water for the elderly couples we are. Even the banana slugs were a great addition to the otters we got to see in the river. We would stay again if we ever get back to that area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and river
Liked least: no easy access to the river
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SandyB078
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful river view, fantastic stay!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was just a perfect home base. The home is on a quite street with neighbors, but in the home and backyard, you feel like it's secluded and the river is all yours. The kitchen had more than enough needed to prepare your own meals. The kitchen is between two living areas, both have TV's and that comfy feel. All rooms have a view of the river with the bedrooms and bath exceptions. We used the fire pit every night and there was plenty of firewood and fire starter provided for us. We traveled with a group of family members, they stayed at another property down the street. We all spent the evenings at our property though to enjoy that fire pit and horse shoe pit, it just seemed more homey. The home is not located directly in Crescent City, it's about 8 miles north so noise is not a problem at all, it's a very short drive for groceries. The home had a book the owners made, it has very useful information on local attractions, nearest grocery stores and must sees. We definitely took advantage of it. The garage was really large, it fit our car and all our travel stuff, luggage, coolers etc. The washer/dryer is also in the garage so you don't have to listen to it while enjoying your stay, soap and softener provided. The location couldn't be better, whether driving north to the Oregon coast, about 15 miles, or south through Crescent City and all the Redwood parks. One thing, if you want to book a fishing excursion on the ocean, book before you come, there is only one in Crescent City and they were booked, but we did find an opening in Brookings, just 25 minutes north. We really enjoyed our stay and if back in the area again, will definitely return to our little private river home on the beautiful Smith River!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view, kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMinnie...
Beaumont, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

If beautiful views, amazing natural beauty, and relaxation is what you're looking for, this is the place to visit. We, (me, my husband and 3 kids) stayed at the "River House" for a week and we are hooked! It was all that we hoped it would be and more. The house was completely stocked with anything you may need, from the linen to the kitchen, nothing was lacking. Every kitchen utensil was provided, there was fire wood, charcoal, books and movies. We enjoyed bbq'ing in the back yard, s'mores around the fire pit, playing board games, ping pong and horse shoes. The drives to town and to the State Parks are just a few minutes away. The beaches are amazing! We saw star fish, seals and sea lions, fished the Klamath and Smith Rivers, as well as the ocean off the pier, and of course the Redwoods, words can't describe the beauty of these trees, pictures don't capture the feeling of standing under these awesome wonders! The rental process was seamless and Sue was more than helpful with any questions that came up. My family loved every minute of it and can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed June 22, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing