We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to set up base camp”

Redwood Meadows RV Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redwood Meadows RV Resort
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,659 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,321 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to set up base camp”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed eight days at this marvelous RV Resort for $209 with full hook-ups, excellent wifi, and lots of space around our site. Yes, the pull through sites are parallel and you need to known how to drive an RV to set yourself up properly, but while we were there they spaced people apart so there was no problem (Memorial weekend) However,.you do lose a little privacy when someone pulls into a parallel site across the large lawn. Again, this was not a problem while we were there.
The lawn space between the site is huge so dogs and kids love it. In addition, there are large open areas for kids to play, a BB court, all paved roads for easy biking or walking. The office is very helpful and I think it was one of our best visits and we have been "on the road" since 1/7/13. It is just a few miles from Crescent City shore drive; and 10 miles from Brookings, OR

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very friendly staff at the office. Laundry, tv room, meeting area/church service area was very clean but straight out of the 1970s. Adorable. Layout of the park was unique. The pull-throughs were like parallel parking but you actually DID pull through. This gave us privacy which we enjoyed. Concrete patios and cute street lights at each site. WIFI was useless but the woman in the office showed me where to hookup with ethernet cable so it worked out fine. Don't expect to have access in your RV however.

Location was minutes away from the best of the Redwoods! Couldn't ask for a better basecamp! Just a bit noisy since it's right off of the highway but this isn't a reason to avoid staying there. Great gas station next to RV park for anything you need.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogibear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukiah, california
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This park states that it has pull thru spaces, but they are really parallel parking. The spaces can get can tight when the sites are all full. You will have to wait or ask others to move their trailer in order to get out. The dog park has grass as tall as my knee cap, the gate does not lock closed, and the fence around the park is knocked down in locations. Other than that, the park is close to parks, Oregon, and Crescent City and the hookups are good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, CA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is a great base to explore the north end of Redwood National Park and the Smith River National Recreation Area. It is located just one mile from Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park, and its many hiking trails. The Pacific Ocean is located just seven miles away, with beautiful beaches both north and south of Crescent City, the nearest town. Whale-watching December through April, salmon and steelhead fishing, and beach-combing are a few of the activities.

The park itself has full hookups, tent areas, free Wi-Fi and wonderfully clean showers and bathroom building. There is a cute duck pond with a picnic gazebo that has both a fishing cleaning station and campfire pit. The office/clubhouse has a very nice laundry room, full kitchen, pool table, and indoor and outdoor group dining areas. The office accepts mail and, curiously interesting, has information about Bigfoot, including a cast of a supposed footprint, a stories of sightings in the area!

Each site is spacious and level, with a selection of back-in and pull-thrus that can accommodate almost any size rig. There is a picnic table in each site, and almost all of the sites adjoin or back up to lawns or greenbelt areas. There is a lot of vegetation, including both natural and ornamental flowering plants. A market/gas station that is open seven days a week is located next to the entrance of the park, and the Hiouchi Cafe across the street has a great breakfast (famous for its super large Huckleberry pancakes, made with local Huckleberries)!

The only downside of this park is that it is located on the highway, and semi-truck and motorcycle noise can be heard throughout the night.

Having stayed in many of the other RV parks in the area, this is by far the best on the very north coast of California! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladyfern31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

There is a lot of green space at Hiouchi RV Resort. Our large campsiite was on the creek and shaded (which the cats LOVED!). The park is large, but the sites are widely spaced. My only complaint was a weak WiFi signal...but they told me that when I checked in and asked if I wanted a site closer to the office where the signal was better. The park is very convenient to the Redwood sites as well as trails and vistas. The Hiouchi Cafe across the street has WONDERFUL breakfast! Their pancakes are terrific and huge!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank itchyfeetx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
6.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
432 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
303 reviews
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
7.5 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Meadows RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Meadows RV Resort

Property: Redwood Meadows RV Resort
Address: 2000 US Highway 199, Crescent City, CA 95531-9364 (Formerly Hiouchi RV Resort)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood Meadows RV Resort (formerly Hiouchi Campground) located next to the Redwood National Park and Jedediah Smith State Park, just 10 minutes east of Crescent City which means WARMER WEATHER AND LESS FOG. Just across the Smith River is the Stout Grove and the Grove of the Titans. Smith River access is less than 2 minutes. The perfect location for visiting the Giant Redwoods, enjoying the pristine Smith River, or a trip to the beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing