We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing drive!

This drive is really special. The redwoods are EVERYWHERE, and you are driving around them, up... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2022
Davigeta
,
Saint Louis, Missouri
Great fun, great pictures, great memories

Beautiful drive through giant coastal redwood in northern california. If you came to see the big... read more

Reviewed July 17, 2022
402danec
Read all 449 reviews
  
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
351
67
18
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
351
67
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful drive stout grove the boy scout tree trail pull over state park giant trees smith river cars redwoods pullouts route access avenue mile california
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 449 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2017

This road is not for the faint-hearted. Narrow, windy, huge potholes, and breathtakingly beautiful. Gets you into the Redwoods really quickly from Crescent City.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank orygungal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

I live around here. If you want to get close and personal to the redwoods. Holland Hill Road is the place to go. It's a little bit off the beaten path but well worth it to beauty.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

What a beautiful drive!!!! Follow the signs from Highway 199 (Crescent City to Grants Pass). The signs will direct you to Stout Grove, which is just one stop on this amazing drive. The road was muddy, but I had a Jeep so no problem. Several absolutely gorgeous places to stop and photograph. Loved the blooming wildflowers and undergrowth below the Redwoods. The trees are spectacular, but not the only highlights on the road. Loved the creeks, and old bridges, rivers (I believe the Smith River, but were unmarked), and the sounds of the woodpeckers hidden in the trees.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank jstauf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Wow!! The trees on this drive are amazing! There are also plenty of hiking trails off this road. Not hardly anyone else on the road so stopping to take pictures was easy and done every few minutes!! We started at Jedediah Campground so we drove the 50 minute 10 mile drive and at the finish there is a nice little casino, little bit further is Crescent City.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank ahamlin1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

This drive is THE DRIVE my Daddy took my family on, MANY times throughout my childhood.
I am a native Los Angelino, California and THIS is where we would come on vacation.
You can stop and park anywhere. The sound of silence is amazing.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank CalBredTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews