We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing drive!

This drive is really special. The redwoods are EVERYWHERE, and you are driving around them, up... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2022
Davigeta
,
Saint Louis, Missouri
Great fun, great pictures, great memories

Beautiful drive through giant coastal redwood in northern california. If you came to see the big... read more

Reviewed July 17, 2022
402danec
Read all 449 reviews
  
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
351
67
18
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
351
67
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful drive stout grove the boy scout tree trail pull over state park giant trees smith river cars redwoods pullouts route access avenue mile california
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 449 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Don't let the fact that this is an unlaced road stop you from exploring in a sedan or other nonSUV. I came up this road in a Corolla and actually this was a better road than many paved roads I've traveled. Yes you have to drive slower, but the 7 miles through this park is so beautiful, if you don't slow down or even just stop to admire the stunning beauty you will miss the pin of being here.
I took this route from crescent city into Jedidiah Smith state park heading to stout grove. After spending time in the grove, I continued in this road until it hit hwy 199. There is construction on the bridge, which was the most treacherous part of the whole road. But you get rewarded with a sweet little wooden covered bridge at the end. It's one of the states most scenic roads. Take your time and just do it

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Kelly1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Howland Hill road is an unpaved old stage coach road through some of the most pristine Redwoods in the National and State Park system. It is narrow and slow travel, which is fortunate because the Wow factor is really high. Along its 7 miles are several trail heads that lead hikers through close encounters with some of the oldest and largest living things on earth. Visitor center maps will show where the trail are. Everyone has their favorite or destination trail, but for kids, look at Nikerson Ranch. 5/8 mile to a large downed hollowed Redwood. With the appearance of roomz c and windows, it looks like the Ewoks could return any minute.
On the Nirth end of the unpaved road turn off on the paved drive to Stout Grove. This half mike loop is the one place in the,Redwoods you should get out and explore if you stop nowhere else. Believe me, if you pass this area without taking in Howland Hill and Stout Grove then later see it on a tv special or magazine, you will be so disappointed, you will try and to kick yourself with both feet. That could wind up getting pretty awkward and embarrassing so make the most of your opportunity. Or make it a destination.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank RickCrescentCity_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

This is a lovely road through the ancient giants! Every time I drive through it, I am amazed at the beauty of the redwoods. Do go there to visit!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank maiah927
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We drove from the Jedediah Smith Redwoods Visitor Center to Crescent City via Howland Hill Road. We were lucky to not get caught in the construction delays and there were few cars. However when we got behind any car it just a cloud of dust making it difficult to appreciate the forest. It seems it must have been this way for a while since all the foliage is also covered with dust.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank barbaradX5085HE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Tis road is not for trailers/big RV's. It is a beautiful drive. be sure and stop at Stout Grove and hike to the Boy Scout Tree.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank harv2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews