We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice privately run aquarium”
Review of Ocean World

Ocean World
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to an amazing variety of sea life to teach children and adults about the wonderful ocean world. We are one of the best privately owned small aquariums in the United States and are open daily! Our gift shop provides unique nautical gifts for men, women, teens, and children as well as hand crafted products that enhance any home decor. We're located six hours north of San Francisco, in beautiful Crescent City, California. Ocean World is your Pacific getaway in the heart of the Redwood Coast.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice privately run aquarium”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Pleasantly surprised at the quality and professional presentation of this small aquarium, Ashley our guide on this tour was friendly and knowledge and really seemed to like what she does. The show at the end is great and entertaining, the harbor seals and sea lions are great show stealers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CBeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    106
    32
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected. ”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Ocean View Inn next door and my son wanted to go to Ocean World because he loves anything with animals.
My husband and other son went along just for something to do. We all expected a corny tourist trap; spend money and be disappointed.
We couldn't have been more wrong. All four of us enjoyed it immensely.
We held starfish, watched the seal/sea lion show which was very entertaining and checked out the aquariums.
The shark petting tank was so cool!
My younger son was afraid to pet the sharks at first, but after seeing everyone else enjoying it he was brave enough to try it and didn't want to stop.
The sharks were very gentle and seemed to like it.
The gift shop has the usual items, but mixed in were things we didn't expect and actually liked.
The staff was friendly, knowledgable and actually seemed to care about the visitors.
Worth the trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank HDMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This aquarium is pretty small but it was pretty fun. We got to pet a leopard shark and the show with Cora the Seal was very enjoyable. They have a great gift shop too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank honestinIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Cora, Cora !!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Kids had a great time learning about the sea life and the sea lion show was awesome. They also have a very cute gift shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank happywife20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea lion/seal show worth the trip”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We totally enjoyed our time spent here. The sea lion show was wonderful and our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. We will come back again in the future.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tc719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean World also viewed

 
Crescent City, CA
 

Been to Ocean World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing