We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big servings, friendly service, casual atmosphere, good food”

Fisherman's Restaurant & Lounge
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Orange, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Big servings, friendly service, casual atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We enjoyed dinner at this restaurant after spending the day hiking in the nearby Jedediah Smith State Park - I had the salmon and my husband had the Ling Cod. Both dinners came with choice of soup or salad, potato or rice, sauteed vegetables and optional dinner roll on request, which we did not request. My husband chose the salad bar and rice, which was a generous serving, and I had the clam chowder and baked potato, also good-sized servings. Even though we were very hungry after hiking all day, it was a lot of food but we had spotted the amazing pies on the way in and I had an impulse to try out the strawberry cream pie, which was delicious. We split the serving as, once again, it was a large slice - the prices were reasonable, the service was very friendly, prompt and attentive. The restaurant was clean and my only complaint was unrelated to the restaurant itself - a family with a small child was seated next to us and the little girl apparently gets what she wants by shrieking loudly in protest, which was quite ear-splitting and unpleasant. The server tried her best to mitigate the situation but it was really a family problem, not one she could easily control, and the restaurant was packed so there wasn't any other table we could move to. Fortunately, the food and everything else was enough to compensate for the occasional shrill outcry and we still enjoyed our meal quite a bit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    131
    88
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a very good meal here when we stayed in Crescent City. The food was delicious, and our waitress was very friendly and very good. She even handled some pretty difficult customers nearby in a very professional manner. I thought the atmosphere was cool too. I definitely recommend this place if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value with good service”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We are here three time, once for dinner and twice for breakfast. For dinner, we tried to choose things that came with vegetables were not too fried. We found this to be extremely difficult because and opted for salmon with sautéed vegetables. My partner chose mashed potatoes and was astonished when they arrived covered in gravy (with salmon). Maybe this is an American thing? We are English and had never encountered it before. For breakfast we had fresh fruit and shared an omelet with hash browns, which was good. The staff were friendly and the service was good. It was great to attentive staff fill up our coffee cups, which is something that definitely doesn't happen in England!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrixtongirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good salad bar Great service”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

After a bad experience at a nearby restaurant we tried here. What a difference! Greeted right away, nice clean booth, cheery smiles! I had the roast beef sandwich and salad bar. Sandwich was big, not a half like I expected! Hubby had the turkey noodle soup. Good noodles but the turkey was actually lunch meat?! The salad bar is a good choice. Fresh lettuce and all the fixings. Not a fancy place but good for a quick lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice people”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We got the seafood platter and neither of us could finish it. The waitress said the fish and chips and the seafood platter were their best items.
I liked the atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff, and general flavor of the restaurant. I'd probably go there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MTIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing