We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved The Room & Staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved The Room & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2005

Me, my husband, two kids stayed it was great staff treated us very well. Room was great felt like home. Really enjoyed my stay, will definately come back and stay at the Curly Redwood Lodge. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    181
    95
    30
    14
See reviews for
110
166
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2005

This motel is the old fashioned motor inn type that I stayed at as a kid. While the place is dated, the rooms are clean, big and you can park directly outside your room. The front desk staff is very friendly. Our room was very clean, but the furnishings are very dated....not a bad thing. It just brings you back. One small issue is no three prong electrical outlets. So, if you want to plug in a three pronged device, make certain to bring an adapter.
We'd stay here again. We got the double queen room for about $79 by calling the motel directly.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whodking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2005

After a long day of traveling, who would not be terribly disappointed with a non-working shower, only to find out that the motel office was closed, and no showers could be had until the next day?!? This was our experience at the "Curly"... So, hop in bed and then be prepared for the loud-and-clear snoring that easily carries through the ceiling, allowing us to monitor the breathing habits of our neighbor above us! The office staff simply offered a "sorry" regarding the shower the next morning (no refund, discount, or even concern), and when pressed, finally offered to let us wash in the room next door, after that guest had checked out. The problem was the bathroom had not been cleaned and we had to ask for that small detail... Oh, did I mention that the motorcycles and cars parked RIGHT outside our "suite" revved their engines bright and early??? The layout of the motel is retro, apparently in the day when man did not consider travelers primitive needs, such as sleep, etc. So much for "charm"; we left exhausted and several of us dirty and un-showered. In conclusion, I would strongly suggest folks avoid this motel which seemed so alluring and cozy on the net! Not even close!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christiof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2005

The Curly Redwood Lodge is a unique hotel, for sure - it was made from a single redwood tree! The check-in lady was very nice and gave us hot water for our noodles, since there was no microwave or coffeemaker (or a fridge) in the room. Breakfast is interesting...they give you a voucher (if you ask for it) for a very bare-bones breakfast at a local casino (10-min drive), which was pretty smoked up, even though the french toast/pancakes were fine. The rooms were clean enough and very 1970s (even the TV looked 20 years old). Bathrooms seemed renovated and there was a shower stall. Although the hotel was interesting, I wish it had more in-room amenities, as well as its own breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UK_Traveller3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2005

I booked two rooms for two nights at the Curly Redwood Lodge based on Trip Advisor ratings and only stayed for one night. Out of the 5 adults that stayed at the lodge, not one would recommend the lodge for an overnight stay. The preserved redwood was interesting, but as expected, everything was very old. There was no temperature control in the rooms and on a hot night you have to open a window that faces the parking lot to let a breeze in. You end up trying to sleep through parking lot and street noise and hope the breeze reaches you to cool you off. The towels were razor thin, the ice buckets very small, the beds were uncomfortable, and one of the rooms we rented had a horrible salty mildew odor. We opened the window but still could not get rid of the stench. The hotel was booked and we could not be moved to another room. Eventually, we ended up going to the store to get air freshener and fabreeze to make the room bearable. The Curly Redwood Lodge earns two points for the interesting concept and excellent affordability. If you are looking for comfort (more than just a large room) and amenities, you might want to look elsewhere for a place to spend the night.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2005

The redwood used in the motel was interesting. The rooms were large and clean, and we experienced no problems, and the covered parking was nice in the mist and fog.

I felt somewhat intimidated when I was questioned as to whether or not we had pets, when we had already been told they were not allowed. The signs that were posted would leave little doubt as to the rules.

Also, it felt somewhat strange to find the TV and lamp were permanently attached to the tables. My husband could not see the TV from the bed, and there was no way to adjust it.

I personally did not feel the warmth and comfort that I enjoy when traveling.

Helpful?
5 Thank granpeggy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2005

It is so nice to find a historically preserved motel from the 50s. Nothing fancy, just that good home cooked, apple pie, kind of place, No advertisements in the room to remind us that we were not at home. None of the ammenities that you pay a handful of cash for but don't use. The cleanest, most comfortable room with all that beautiful Curly Redwood paneling in the rooms and outside too.
Close to the beach and the redwoods. Good restaurants close by.
Near to the best Thai Restaurant that side of San Francisco
Will stay there anytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Property: Curly Redwood Lodge
Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
#5 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing