We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give it a 3+”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We've stayed here twice on road trips down the California coast. It's not fancy, has no frills or breakfast, but it's a funky throwback. The rooms are nice sized, clean and comfortable and affordably priced. It's right on Hwy 101, but there's a slow speed limit and we had no noise problems. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 445 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We payed $78 and it was well worth the money. The hotel is so old it's coming back into style, but everything was spotless and the rooms were quite large. We stayed for one night as part of an extended road trip and it was perfect for us.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank RCD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

As advertised, this motel is a charming throwback to the 1950's. The rich redwood paneling that covers half the walls is still here. Room is spacious, clean and well maintained. Just be aware of what you do not get: Tub shower, breakfast (coffee only), micro/fridge, hair dryer and shampoo. But you do get real glass drinking cups rather than plastic. Just like way back then.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brewsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Always stop at the visitors center when you get somewhere. They are very helpful. When we pulled in the parking lot, I said I like the vibe of tis place. The rooms a very roomie, clean, and comfortable. At check-in we asked for a room away from the highway, but only thing available was third one down from highway. Was told 101 shuts down at night. WRONG Trucks all night long. So get room way away from road. Don't eat at restaurant across the street. Mcdonalds would be better

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgmautiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Very 80s and basic but not overly expensive and front desk staff were helpful. We were staying round the back - the front rooms looked better. I wouldn't go back but it wasn't terrible, it just needs some modernising and TLC. Free wifi was quick.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogboysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked two rooms for a night and were quite pleased with them. Rooms were clean, comfortable and had the look of the 80's.
They have free WIFI connection, Coffee and Soda. Just walking distance form the beach and harbor. 10 min drive to the Jedediah National Park.

Overall I would definitely suggest this if you are looking for a clean place with no frills for a stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on first floor with Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivYadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were happy with our stay here. Our room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. We had difficulty getting our cell reception here though, but the wi-fi was strong. There was heating in the room if needed and an ice machine and soda machine near reception. Tea and coffee is served in the lobby only at breakfast time. There is a restaurant across the road and a cafe a very short walk up the road that also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Lodge was easy to find on the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#13 of 19 in Crescent City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
#5 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $56 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing