We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked two rooms for a night and were quite pleased with them. Rooms were clean, comfortable and had the look of the 80's.
They have free WIFI connection, Coffee and Soda. Just walking distance form the beach and harbor. 10 min drive to the Jedediah National Park.

Overall I would definitely suggest this if you are looking for a clean place with no frills for a stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on first floor with Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivYadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 446 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were happy with our stay here. Our room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. We had difficulty getting our cell reception here though, but the wi-fi was strong. There was heating in the room if needed and an ice machine and soda machine near reception. Tea and coffee is served in the lobby only at breakfast time. There is a restaurant across the road and a cafe a very short walk up the road that also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Lodge was easy to find on the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is designed so everyone has a view and a specific place to park. The decor is retro but awesome! Everything was clean and the room was large. The front desk was helpful and informative. Both the gentleman and the lady went our of their way to answer questions, help with food plans and get extra pillows. They even downsized our room when we explained our traveling partner had cut the trip short so we didn't need the extra bed. WITH SMILES! The wood is the centerpiece of the rooms and very beautiful. We would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Maybe one further from the road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogators52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you want frills and such that you get in a 5 star hotel this isn't the place, but if you want to stay in a cute quirky and clean hotel this is the place. From the very nice lady that checked us in to the charm of a hotel built out of one huge Curley redwood we love this place. It reminded me of places I stayed with my parents back in the 50's, no extras but a goods nights rest! The price is good also. Would be happy to stay here again if we were ever in Crescent City.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Litequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The motel is directly off the main highway through town, across from the harbor. Rooms are very basic, clean and reasonably priced. The motel has a very retro look. Like the town of Crescent City, there is nothing in particular to recommend the motel beyond its proximity to the Redwoods and beaches elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

There are alot of choices in the area, but what was most interesting about this place is how it was built: all from one single redwood log! The rooms are large and paneled in this beautiful curly redwood--very unique. Other than that, though, it doesn't have anything else going for it in particular. The check-in was friendly enough, and they offer coffee and a limited tea selection (no herbal/non-caffeinated) in the lobby in the morning--there's no refrigerator or microwave in the room. In the double room, there was just one bar of soap--no shampoo--and only two sheets left in the tissue box. The bathroom is adequate but only a small glass shelf above the sink and the toilet doesn't have a lid, so there is not much room to place toiletries. The shower kept cycling hot/warm/cold--which was annoying--and there was no way to adjust the pressure (I like to limit my water use). I was told to go around the back to park, which was unlit and didn't feel safe, so I came back to the front and parked in the middle.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the ground floor, there is a parking space right in front of your door. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Curly Redwood Lodge in like staying in a 70's hotel. Clean but no frills. No hair dryer or shampoo provided. Did get two very small soaps. We had bottom floor room with 2 queens. Large room. No mini frig or mico wave. Parking was covered right outside our door. Not bad for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angobanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4488
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $56 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing